We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay in Cairns!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay in Cairns!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the coral sands as our first family holiday in more than ten years.

The hotel was fantastic and catered for everyone (my parents in their 40s, my partner, brother and I in our 20s and my 11 year old sister). Our whole group loved the resort!

We were impressed with price as normally if you want a 3 bedroom apartment accommodating for 6 people you have to pay through the nose. Our accommodation was cheap for what we received - beautifully renovated room overlooking both the beach and the pool.

Trinity beach itself is beautiful, quiet at night. Only 20 minutes or so from Cairns itself and close to tourist attractions!

Would definitely stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reannonmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Coral Sands Resort we were very pleased to hear how much every one enjoyed their time while at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Sands when taking your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    137
    15
    9
    10
See reviews for
281
137
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We initially booked this hotel online though a deal that included a 2bd apartment and included a car. We paid 1/4 of the price as a deposit that was required and waited to get our confirmation. The hotel staff were rude with assisting us with our enquiries when we were trying to ask about the car which they then denied that we had it included in our booking. As the electronic confirmation didn't state we had a car it was difficult to push the argument when the stuff were unhelpful. Never going to try and book Accomodation here again. We will take our business else where.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldofwonders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
The guest made an initial booking for accommodation at the resort and at that time only discussed options for car rental. The booking was confirmed by our staff by email for accommodation only and as is our policy a deposit for the first night’s accommodation was taken from his credit card. Our staff confirm every booking individually and confirmations are not the result of an electronic response.
More than one month later the guest rang and told us he had booked a package deal which included a car. The guest was told that the booking was confirmed for accommodation only but we would be happy to change it to a package deal which would include a hire car but for an added cost.
The guest refused to accept the added cost and demanded the car hire for the same price as the accommodation only price. This we clearly could not do and so we told him we would refund his deposit and cancel his booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in these apartments for 10 nights over Easter 2013.Apartment 9 was excellent+spotless.Even though I was told it was on the ground floor,there was still 9 steps up+from the carpark,there was a total of 15 steps.Our unit was supposed to overlook the pool+we were certainly very close, but couldn't see the vg pool+therefore couldn't supervise children.The building is across the road from the beautiful beach,but we had to walk 2 blocks to where the Lifesavers were+the stinger nets.Our apartment was very expensive+we were disappointed that we still had to pay for hire of pool towels.Trinity Beach is quaint+tropical+had sufficient shops+cafes,but does really help to have a car(Apex in Cairns was VG).The Tavern was vg,particularly with children.I'd stay at this Resort again,but only if the tarrif wasn't $225 per night for 2 bedroom unit-needs to be a better deal.

Room Tip: If you have children,closer to pool would be better,but enquire whether pool noise COULD be a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your holiday while staying at Coral Sands.
It is unfortunate the guest did not make us aware of their need for a pool outlook and we could not find any reference on their booking that this was a requirement. Certainly, we would have been more than happy to change apartment location if the guest had made us aware on arrival.
However, we must stress that there is a requirement for children under the age of 12 to be accompanied and supervised AT ALL TIMES by an adult while in the pool area. This requirement is on all the signage in the pool area and noted in the compendium which is located in all the apartments.
The apartments have only 5 steps leading to the external decks of the ground floor apartments and the beach is 5 metres from the Esplanade gate. I think the description of the lifeguards being 2 blocks away is perhaps a little misleading for anyone who didn’t know the area as they are in fact located only 150 metres from the entrance gate of the resort which leads to the beach,
As the booking was over the Easter period we did explain to the guest that we were unable to offer a better deal. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and calibre of the property.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again but perhaps you need to book outside the premium booked periods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here as a family of four for five nights. The location is great - just opposite a great value car rental firm, shops and within walking distance of restaurants, supermarket, park and beach. The swimming pool was well used and open from early in the morning until late at night. The front desk were really helpful - giving advice on local tours and arranging bookings at no extra cost. The apartment that we had was clean, comfortable and included a full kitchen and washing machine and dryer. There was also a balcony to sit out on. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit - we hope to see you again should you visit Australia,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Probably the best thing about the resort is the location. Roughly 20 minutes from the airport and about 30 minutes from Cairns CBD. You are literally a 1 minute walk from the beach and if you are a tourist about a 10 minute drive from Skyrail - a must do activity for those visiting the area for the first time. We found the reception staff to be helpful and they gave us some good tips on places to eat in the area. Our apartment was ready for us on arrival and was spotlessly clean. It was well equipped with the things we needed for our stay, and the use of the barbecues onsite was useful. The grounds are really well maintained and the pool area is great, although those with small children be aware the pool gets deep quickly once you are in the water.We were probably very lucky with the weather for the time of year we were in the Cairns area, but we all agree the week we spent here was one of the highlights of our trip to Australia.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have a lot of luggage try and get something on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanCThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always delighted to read when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Your feedback and the time you have taken to review your stay is very much appreciated.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again and please let us know you are a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Coral Sands many times over the past 10 years. This past November we had 6 wonderful days. The grounds are superb and the pool is one of the best in the area. Location by the beach is excellent. The rooms are spacious, extremely well equipped and usually very well- maintained. However, despite having stayed so many times there was not even a "welcome back" let alone a warm greeting. And watch out for the unjustifiable extra charges. First, the wifi charge is atrocious - $16.50 per day or $60 per week. We were in AUS for over 3 weeks this trip and this was the only place where there was a charge for wifi. Second, all the units are 2 bedrooms and we usually book a one-bedroom and use the extra room to store luggage and clothes. This year they have put locks on the second bedroom if you book a single. And they charge an extra $40 per day to unlock it. Third, we asked for a late checkout on our final day (never having had a problem before). But this time they wanted an extra $10 per hour (even though it would cost them nothing to clean the room 4 hours later, the hotel was far from full). This was the only hotel during our trip that charged for a late check out. Finally, don't ask the desk to call a cab for you. Do it yourself. Otherwise you'll be charged a large markup, especially for transport to the airport. Would we stay again? Probably, but we are going to look around very carefully first.

Room Tip: You may be put in one of the few poorly maintained units since units are individually owned. If so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BC_Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
This review does come as a surprise as it was five months ago that the guest stayed and at no stage either during his stay or when checking out did he mention any dissatisfaction. In fact when leaving the guest said he had a wonderful time and would be back again.
We do value repeat guests and we try to make ourselves available to welcome their return. In this case we recall the guest arrived during the night when we had closed and staff the following day did not alert us that they were at the counter.
Our charges for internet usage have not changed in five years but we often have specials available when we do offer free internet. The guest was already on a heavily discounted web booking that was 40% off the rack rate and therefore in this situation we were unable to offer any further deals.
It is true the second bedroom and bathroom are locked off when a booking is for a one bedroom unit and this has been the policy for the past five years. It is unreasonable to expect the second bedroom and bathroom to be made available when the guest has only paid for a one bedroom booking and especially when this one bedroom was 40% off the one bedroom tariff.
The $10.00 an hour late checkout charge is industry standard as all the facilities in the apartment are being used and time based contract cleaners are being delayed from cleaning apartments.
Not quite sure what the complaint is about a cab surcharge as the payment is direct to the cab company and the cheaper option is to use the shuttle service that we organise for guests.
The statement that some apartments are poorly maintained is erroneous as all apartments in the holiday letting pool are well maintained and refurbished.
Besides all this we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First impressions count and on arrival we were not disappointed. Very clean and welcomed on arrival by Graeme who explained everything that he needed to about Coral Sands. The apt was very spacious with everything you needed for your stay, including a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar and milk, very much appreciated. Air con and fans were very welcome. The complex is very tropical looking and the pool is an added bonus on the hot days where you needed to cool off. Complimentary bar b q's for you to use, another added bonus. Reception will book you trips should you wish and we did use that facility. I had a medical emergency whilst staying here and being so far away from home Marilyn talked us through who we needed to contact and the ambulance arrived within 10 mins of us calling it, and taken to Cairns Base Hospital where staff were brilliant and got me out in time for my nieces wedding that afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and review. We are delighted that your visit lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your holiday while staying at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
1.3 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#7 of 21 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#1 of 21 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Beachfront Resort

Property: Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Address: Cnr Trinity Beach Road & Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Sands Beachfront Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort enjoy the best of everything. There's the resorts fantastic location opposite the beach and beside the beachfront restaurants and local bus stop - as well as the very large, child friendly, lagoon-style swimming pool and the extra spacious guest rooms with their private balconies and ensuites. Here, you have a choice of 1,2 or 3 bedroom stylishly furnished, fully equipped apartments - all with lovely aspects of the beautiful resort gardens, the Esplanade right outside, and the lovely swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Beachfront Hotel Trinity Beach
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing