We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but watch for extra charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Coral Sands many times over the past 10 years. This past November we had 6 wonderful days. The grounds are superb and the pool is one of the best in the area. Location by the beach is excellent. The rooms are spacious, extremely well equipped and usually very well- maintained. However, despite having stayed so many times there was not even a "welcome back" let alone a warm greeting. And watch out for the unjustifiable extra charges. First, the wifi charge is atrocious - $16.50 per day or $60 per week. We were in AUS for over 3 weeks this trip and this was the only place where there was a charge for wifi. Second, all the units are 2 bedrooms and we usually book a one-bedroom and use the extra room to store luggage and clothes. This year they have put locks on the second bedroom if you book a single. And they charge an extra $40 per day to unlock it. Third, we asked for a late checkout on our final day (never having had a problem before). But this time they wanted an extra $10 per hour (even though it would cost them nothing to clean the room 4 hours later, the hotel was far from full). This was the only hotel during our trip that charged for a late check out. Finally, don't ask the desk to call a cab for you. Do it yourself. Otherwise you'll be charged a large markup, especially for transport to the airport. Would we stay again? Probably, but we are going to look around very carefully first.

Room Tip: You may be put in one of the few poorly maintained units since units are individually owned. If so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BC_Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

This review does come as a surprise as it was five months ago that the guest stayed and at no stage either during his stay or when checking out did he mention any dissatisfaction. In fact when leaving the guest said he had a wonderful time and would be back again.
We do value repeat guests and we try to make ourselves available to welcome their return. In this case we recall the guest arrived during the night when we had closed and staff the following day did not alert us that they were at the counter.
Our charges for internet usage have not changed in five years but we often have specials available when we do offer free internet. The guest was already on a heavily discounted web booking that was 40% off the rack rate and therefore in this situation we were unable to offer any further deals.
It is true the second bedroom and bathroom are locked off when a booking is for a one bedroom unit and this has been the policy for the past five years. It is unreasonable to expect the second bedroom and bathroom to be made available when the guest has only paid for a one bedroom booking and especially when this one bedroom was 40% off the one bedroom tariff.
The $10.00 an hour late checkout charge is industry standard as all the facilities in the apartment are being used and time based contract cleaners are being delayed from cleaning apartments.
Not quite sure what the complaint is about a cab surcharge as the payment is direct to the cab company and the cheaper option is to use the shuttle service that we organise for guests.
The statement that some apartments are poorly maintained is erroneous as all apartments in the holiday letting pool are well maintained and refurbished.
Besides all this we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 514 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

First impressions count and on arrival we were not disappointed. Very clean and welcomed on arrival by Graeme who explained everything that he needed to about Coral Sands. The apt was very spacious with everything you needed for your stay, including a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar and milk, very much appreciated. Air con and fans were very welcome. The complex is very tropical looking and the pool is an added bonus on the hot days where you needed to cool off. Complimentary bar b q's for you to use, another added bonus. Reception will book you trips should you wish and we did use that facility. I had a medical emergency whilst staying here and being so far away from home Marilyn talked us through who we needed to contact and the ambulance arrived within 10 mins of us calling it, and taken to Cairns Base Hospital where staff were brilliant and got me out in time for my nieces wedding that afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words and review. We are delighted that your visit lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your holiday while staying at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Place is generally nice and position on Trinity beach great, However not much in the way of extras on site, not even a vending machine for a snack or drink. Hotel front desk was virtually non existent and little help given. In fact we were virtually lectured by managers on arrival like school children to; 1. Not leave air conditioning on if we leave room(never heard this being said before to a paying customer) 2. Ensure that we put rubbish in outside bins and not let it build up in apartment( as though we are not guests but rather their maids), 3. Ensure we return the beach towels we hired from them because they end up all over ( despite them having my credit card details).

Found management arrogant and non helpful and in terms of place being a resort, this is somewhat a misnomer, they are basic apartments with one big lagoon pool.

Um!!!!!!!!!! Could be better

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding the resort. We are disappointed that your stay was not at all that it could have been while holidaying in December.
We do not have a snack or drink vending machine on the premises as within 20 metres of our entrance is the local convenience store providing an excellent choice of drinks and snacks. Guests find this very convenient and eliminates the need for vending machines within the grounds.
As there are two offices within the building sometimes it is not always possible to have a reception person standing at the front desk. We do have ctv cameras monitoring the reception area and a buzzer on the front counter so there is always someone available for guests requiring assistance. As the guest did not mention how staff were not helpful we are unable to address this issue.
As the self-contained apartments are individually owned there is a requirement to notify guests of a few housekeeping items. We do request guests not to leave air conditioners running all day when they are out on tours as this is wasteful of power – and yes it does happen regularly. For hygiene reasons we do ask guests to remove their rubbish on the day of departure as it is the tropics and we do ask that beach towels be returned after use as this is only a courtesy.
We take all feedback very seriously and after reading your reviews of other local businesses we regret that no one was able to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just spent a fabulous family christmas at Coral Sands. Our apartment was spacious well equipped and spotlessly clean. The gardens and pool area were lovely and the beach was just across the road. The staff were extremely helpful and we would definitely recommend Coral Sands. Thank you for helping to make our first trip to Australia a memorable one, we hope to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for the great review of Coral Sands Resort, Both Graeme and I work very hard at maintaining the high standard of the resort and it is reviews like yours that make it so worthwhile.

Your feedback and the time you have taken to review your stay at Coral Sands is very much appreciated.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again to Coral Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Coral Sands. Everything surpassed our expectations. The location accross from the beach was perfect and the resort itself was beautiful. The management were extremely helpful and friendly, even when I locked the keys in our unit. Thoroughly reccomend and we will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your very kind words and review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please remind us that you are repeat guests should you book again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was given a fabulous 2 bedroom apartment, even though I was on my own. Very spacious and spotlessly clean. There was a welcome essentials pack, even a dozen dvd's to view if you got bored with the television programmes.
The only downfall fall is reception is only open 7am - 7pm. The managers Graeme amd Maeilyn were very helpful, especially in helping with tours, booking them etc.

Room Tip: 3rd floor apartments are the best although there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

I have just logged onto my computer and saw your very nice review. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it made our day and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After a long, tiring 23 hr plane journey we were greeted to a very warm welcome by Graeme on arrival. Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious clean and modern with lovey views over the pool and lush gardens to the beach, perfect!!!! From the first email with Merilyn to checkout everything was faultless. The resort was quiet even though it was school holidays and we would recommend the resort to all ages, you wont be disappointed. Thank you to Graeme & Merilyn for making our holiday very special and the weather was just perfect, we will be back. from O'Connell family.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Beachfront Resort

Address: Cnr Trinity Beach Road & Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: $100 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Sands Beachfront Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort is perfectly located right on the Esplanade facing the beach and only 15 minutes north of Cairnsl Airport. Set on 2 acres of tropical gardens, the resort features a large lagoon style swimming pool, BBQ areas, tour desk and a beachfront licensed restaurant, which is open for lunch & dinner. Stylishly decorated fully air conditioned 1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully air-conditioned, self-contained beach front apartments featuring modern kitchens with microwave, dishwasher, ceiling fans, full size fridge, oven, stove, ensuite bathrooms, full laundry, flat screen TV’s in lounge and master bedroom, Cable TV, Ipod, DVD, in room safe. With spacious open plan living areas, floor to ceiling glass sliding doors opening onto a private balcony all boasting views of the extensive tropical gardens, lagoon style swimming pool and many with stunning ocean vistas. Free WIFI is available through-out the Resort, conditions do apply. “500 megabytes per day for two devices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Beachfront Hotel Trinity Beach
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing