We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitress Acted Like She Was Doimg Us A Favor”

Chiantti's Pizzeria
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Esplanade of Trinity Beach & boasting awe inspiring tropical views, Café Chianttis is an impressive lunch, dinner, coffee and cocktail destination. Enjoy exceptional Italian cuisine, fabulous wine and a view to "dine for!" of the Coral Sea at our waterfront restaurant. Chiantti's prides itself in traditional, home style Italian food and provides a warm family atmosphere. Chiantti's caters for everyone including the kids and larger groups. Vegetarian and gluten free options are also available.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waitress Acted Like She Was Doimg Us A Favor”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were tired after a long days travel, so we gave the watress the benefit of.the doubt. She wasn't busy but she was rude and inpatient,like she was in a hurry. At that point we just wanted to order, eat and get some rest. She continued to seem completely bothered by us. When it got busier she had the same poor attitude toward the new guests and we witnessed people leave in disgust. The food was okay but not worth the horrible service. We know where we won't be returning while we are in Trinity Beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrayceeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    105
    51
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melborne
2 reviews
“Concrete pizza”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A beautifully situated restaurant which looks so inviting . Corkage $9 for two people but we accepted that as had purchased a tasty wine . Ordered a $24 seafood pizza but we had to yank to pull the pieces apart . Kept eating as we were starving . In the end asked for a chainsaw ( they gave us a stark knife) to cut the pieces. Once you complain you're treated like dirt . Stay away .... !!!!!! Recommend Lunicos

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manitou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Experience spoilt by the attitude of one member of staff”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Walked past this restaurant yesterday at 6.15pm and was asked by a very friendly waiter if we wanted to book a table. We chose a particular table and said that we would be back at 7.30pm and the waiter placed a 'reserved' sign on it. We returned at 7.25pm to find that someone was occupying the table we'd reserved and they had not yet started their meal. We were approached by a waitress, whose name I do not know but she had dreadlock hair, and I pointed out that we'd reserved that particular table. She told me, in an offhand manner, that they wanted to sit outside she gave them our table.
There was no apology and she said that there would be a table free outside soon. A few minutes later I asked her what was happening and she said 'I've just told you, there'll be one free soon'. A terrible attitude and a person who has no people skills and should not be in this type of job. Fortunately the waitress who ended up serving us was very good and the waiter seemed embarrassed by what had happened and was helpful.
Unless this waitress is the owner or a relative of the owner, she should be dismissed as she will only harm the business and it's reputation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We chose to get takeaway here on our first night in Trinity Beach. We read the takeaway menu out the front then made our way in to place our order with the man who appeared to be drinking alcohol at the bar. We ordered our pizzas then waited across the road for them to be ready. After waiting about 10 minutes we heard yelling coming from the restaurant. The same man who took our order (we assumed he was the owner) was at a table with two older customers, yelling and slamming his hands down on the table. At first we thought it was a joke but then it seemed to get louder. We could clearly hear him from across the street shouting 'I heard you the first time, just f****** leave it, pay your f****** bill and get out'. The older lady went to pay while the man sat at the table, then they got up and left. We then heard the owner apologising to other customers for what they'd witnessed, turns out he was yelling at the man who complained about a 45 minute wait for his meal....I would of complained too, the restaurant wasn't busy! What was even worse was that the waitress and kitchen staff didn't appear surprised, and the barman even poured the owner a beer when he walked back inside.
We were absolutely disgusted at the way this man behaved, that couple were probably enjoying a beach holiday which would of been ruined by that disgraceful man.
I've since read other reviews that mention similar events, and I hope word starts to get out about this restaurant.
Oh, and our pizza? For the price we paid it was pretty bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachykeen545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gippsland, Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Chiantti's is situated in a beautiful spot right on the beachfront, and we thought that we were lucky to be given a front table. However, the wind was causing the corner of a plastic screen to continually hit my friend in the back. We asked two different (unsmiling) waitresses for something with which to tie the screen back, (actually asked one of them twice!) and were told that a man would come to fix it. He didn't.
My chicken pasta had very little chicken in it.
There are much better places to eat in Trinity Beach than this. They might cost a bit more, but you will leave feeling much happier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiantti's Pizzeria also viewed

Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Chiantti's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing