We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verrrry grumpy”

Chiantti's Pizzeria
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Esplanade of Trinity Beach & boasting awe inspiring tropical views, Café Chianttis is an impressive lunch, dinner, coffee and cocktail destination. Enjoy exceptional Italian cuisine, fabulous wine and a view to "dine for!" of the Coral Sea at our waterfront restaurant. Chiantti's prides itself in traditional, home style Italian food and provides a warm family atmosphere. Chiantti's caters for everyone including the kids and larger groups. Vegetarian and gluten free options are also available.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Verrrry grumpy”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The cook was arguing with the manager. The waitress ignored my wife. My query whether there was a problem with me paying by credit card (!) was met with a terse reply. I won't bother going again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    105
    51
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stingy”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I don't normally write bad reviews or ever had to go back in to a place to complain about the portion size. I sat in the car umming and arrhing as to say something but I was so shocked by the measly portion size I felt I had too. I have to say we got more from a tapas menu right on the marina in Port Douglas then we did from these guys and way friendlier service. I am sure they counted the chips as they served them to make sure you they didn't give you too many! I mean chips - the saying goes cheap as chips but they certainly weren't here!


I was told by one staff member it was more then I would get at Macdonalds! I don't eat at Macdonalds but I am wondering if I would have been better off going there. I was also told they weren't a fish and chip shop - in which case I think they should not offer takeaway fish and chips with measly portions and stick to what they obviously prefer to do. We should have realised when our order was taken in an abrupt manner and over charged we should have cut or losses and cancelled the order! Live and learn the next night we decided to be less stingy on ourselves ate out, had cocktails and couldn't have had a better experience at the amazing restaurant down the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chontybonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great meal here, book a table if you can as it gets busy. Great choice of pasta and pizzas. Overlooks beach

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Great tasting food, large portions and sensational views. One of the waitress' was quite abrupt and unfriendly but the other staff were thankfully ok. Would recommend, just need to ignore manner of waitress.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude owner, rude waitress, Devon meat served on the Chiantti Supreme pizza”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I wish I had actually taken the time to read the other views before going here, it was awful, we waited 40 mins for takeaway pizza with our children, we were not offered drinks whilst waiting at the tiny waiting area, we ordered garlic bread, pasta and a pizza - not difficult but they forgot our pizza and we heard them talking about it but no one came to apologise or explain - the pizza was absolutely disgusting - the chiantti supreme had Devon meat on it, it was cheap and nasty and hardly cooked and we definitely could not eat it! the pasta was greasy and the garlic bread was bread soaked in butter and burnt! i could cook a better dish at home myself. The owner was downright rude to us and the waitress looked unkempt and was sour faced. Also while we were waiting for 40 mins some tables were not even served - something is very wrong with the way the restaurant is set up!! i I will never ever recommend this place to anyone and i will be making sure i tell everyone of our experience there as it has been in my entire lifetime one of the rudest places i have been. not authentic, not friendly and food is cheap and nasty. Go somewhere where you get treated with respect and a decent healthy meal worth your money. The rest of the other places in trinity beach were fantastic and the lady in the corner shop just down the road really knows how to treat a customer - go there instead for a great little chat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummy0fTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiantti's Pizzeria also viewed

Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Chiantti's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing