We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but nothing special here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights with our two children. We thought this was a reasonable apartment complex for the money. The pool area looked nice but was a little cold for swimming. Our downstairs apartment was large a spacious kitchen and two bathrooms. Furniture was modern and appealing. Cleaning is sub-standard with lots of grit and dust inthe bathrooms, mostly behind the doors and around the edges of the floor. It's not something I usually worry about but it was noticeable and detracted from the general appearance. We didn't appreciate the gardners working outside our room at 7am, we wanted to breakfast alfresco but it was just too loud and intrusive. Surely they can wait a couple of hours before firing up the blower vac znd mulcher. Location is ok, need a car
if you want to travel outside of Trinity Beach. Would we stay here again? Probably not, lots of other options to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpfree1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Hi there,

My apologies that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us.
I have passed your comments on to the gardening and housekeeping departments and can ensure this is definitely something we will look at in regards to our resort operations.
Is convenient, would you be able to contact me direct on reservations@marlincove.com.au and let me know which unit you stayed in and your dates of travel so we can track the issues that occurred during your stay?

Cheers :-)

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    42
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the hague, netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at this resort which had in some ways good intentions but where it is really impportant addressing the issue of cockroaches left that in the bag. I met up with our guest roach in the middle of the night. I reported it to front desk. She informed me that we were in a tropical forrest and that was the facts of life there. She then became very flippant and said it was propbably gone by then. After my insistance that something be done then said they would spray around fridge and undersink. No one ever came by. It was apparent that they must have had other issues of pests, bedbugs, because there was a sticker with no date of issue, on door of apartment stating we were to feel at ease because the mattresses were professionally sanitzed by a company. It is a shame because during our stay I noticed garden keepers were constantly visible working and upgrading the resort, The pool was beautiful and you felt safe in area, but would of liked more of a lock then a flimsy door handle lock. No in suite safe was also a minus and we had to lug valubles everywhere with us eg. passports, extra cash. Also except initial 4 rolls of toiet paper for family of 5 staying 8 nights and 2 packets of cleaning supplies we were to purchase suppliments from front desk. The front desk clerk was only too happy to book any reservations needed, and as you do not pay anymore then on flyers no problem,but they recievied fees for each booking I noticed, and had not one suggestion that did not cost money, in fact steered us away from attractions that had no monetary benifit to them. Not once did she mention the fantastic public beach down the road or money saving mall, a little ways on the highway to get food. I notice a lot of much better, cleaner accomodations closer to beach, all had stand by rates. She also wanted to put the Canadian amount of room charge on our card. That is a scam the hotels and bussinesses will do to aquire some extra money. They generally will charge more for on exchange rate then credit cards do. It is not a favor to you just an added tab on you bil for the convience of knowing what you will be charged at that moment. So unfortunately I have to say that the outside was beautiful but felt our room was filthy and service was self serving to the resort only. There were lots of vancancies in area in the high season of July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acanadiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrylyn, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Hi there,

We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope it did not affect your view of Trinity Beach or the Cairns area.

To put your mind at ease, maintenance did pop into your unit the day the cockroach was reported and sprayed under the fridge, in the bathroom and cockroach baits were left under the fridge as well. We sincerely hope you did not experience another case of this during your stay.
In regards to the bed bug sticker, that is there to hopefully put your mind at ease that we sanitise each and every bed in the resort yearly in accordance with government regulation.
Due to the resort being a self catered apartment, we do only stock initial supplies of toilet paper, detergent etc. Our apologies that you felt this was insufficient, and I will definitely pass that issue along to management.

We are very proud of our full tour desk that we offer at reception, and I apologise, but we do not charge fees for any booking. The rate that is offered by the tour company is the rate that we charge, and where specials are available, we do offer those as well.

My apologies that you did not feel we mentioned enough free of charge activities, and that may have been an oversight on my part, however when discussing Cairns tours we generally look at the most popular tours of the area e.g. Great Barrier Reef, Kuranda, Daintree and Wildlife Spotting etc. to ensure you get to see the most of the region and enjoy your time here with us as much as possible.

In regards to offering to put the charge through in Canadian dollars, that is simply a service that is offered through our EFTPOS terminal, as many guests feel more comfortable knowing they are paying in their home currency, and that they won't be charged a fee when they get home. This is no way a scam and we acquire no extra money from doing this service for you.

Again, our apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope this did not affect your view of the area.

Regards,
Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

If your heading to Cairns to seek out the Great Barrier Reef then go 15 minutes out of Cairns and stay at Marlin Cove Resort just 10 mins from the fabulous Trinity Beach and be in the safe hands of manager Stephanie and just chill and enjoy excellent service and exceptional amenities.

My daughter and I did not have a car but still wanted to be close enough to Cairns to visit for excursions but not to stay as personally Cairns is really for a night only whilst doing the reef.

Marlin Cove is an easy 15 minutes taxi/pick up from the airport but has a great location. The apartments are extremley well kitted out, superbly clean and has everything you want.

The one downside if you don't have a car is shopping for provisions as although there is a small set of shops for immediate needs including pharmacy, butcher, baker and supermarket (with a very small 's') it is sparse and overpriced. However my daughter did an online shop and hey presto it was delivered to us from the bigger multi Aussie Coles supermarket without any problem.

The resort has a large lagoon pool, tennis courts, a gym (although bet small) and all set amongst rain forest and beautifully manicured gardens.

Stephanie can arrange airport transfers although for us this was a disaster but not the fault of Strphanie but Sun Palm transfers whom Stef had organised our service through who have the monopoly at the airport and who are rude and totally unhelpful. Luckily a phone call to Stef sorted us by her arranging a taxi for us at her expense. She did not let us down but beware of Palm transfers!

The resort has wifi although this is a purchase separately for a few dollars per few hours depending on your needs.

Tours and excursions can be booked through Stef and picked up from your door.

Ther is a regular very reliable local bus service into Cairns for an 8 dollar return fare. Takes about an hour but easy and pleasant journey and you get off the main roads to see the local area.

We did a trip to Grren Island which was simply paradise. The weather overall during our stay was not kind but it was still warm and was unusual for the region.

I would no hesitate in recommending Stephanie and her lovely resort and the beautiful Trinity Beach which is huge and delicious and the whole place suited for young and old alike with or without car but if you do get a car then this area to explore is your oyster.

A round of applause for Stephanie and her marlin Cove Resort!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosietj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Hi there,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you back here one day

Cheers :-)

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

3 blocks from the beach
great pool and tennis courts
roomy apartment with all amenities
1 block to great breakfast venue - blue moon cafe
SO quiet and private

Room Tip: ask to be placed around the resort pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Hi there,

Thank-you for your positive review of the resort on Trip Advisor.
We Do pride ourselves on peace and quiet guests can enjoy while at the resort, and are very happy you noticed this during your stay.

Thank-you again,

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

When we arrived, we were very pleasantly surprised to find these accommodations so welcoming. We had a two bedroom apartment overlooking the lagoon pool. The apartment itself was well appointed and also had a kitchen, DR and LR and two bathrooms. Washer and dryer were also included. It was a short walk to the beach or the small shopping center. The beach (Trinity Beach) was very nice with a secure area to go swimming, if you wanted, and many restaurants available. The small "shopping center" contained all the stores you would ever need for provisions and other wants.
I might suggest that you have a car if you want to wander outside these areas. There is so much to see, other than the available "excursions", that the cost of a rental car is worth it. We took a couple road trips and had fantastic adventures that we probably would not have had on an excursion. It cost gas only. I am not suggesting that the excursions are not also great, but they are rather pricey if you have a family with you.
Remember: drive on the left; look right when turning.
I digress, back to this resort. In the office are books to borrow or take, brochures by the millions, and a super friendly and helpful staff who will give you the best advice and recommendations. I would like to specifically mention Stephanie. She pointed us in the right direction always and recommended based on her own experiences.
I could go on, but I know there are other reviews to read.
I would recommend this facility to anyone who would like a great value for their money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the resort, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here as much as we enjoyed having you here!

Cheers :-)

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

After numerous trips to cairns and surronds, we're glad to announce we would stay here again. The staff very friendly and helpfull, even returned to resort from a family gathering late on a sunday when our darling son locked us out. Pool great for whole family, resturant had colouring books pencils for kids at the table on arrival, food was awesome and we were given a generous voucher for the resturant as well, would of happily paid for that meal. Apartment well appointed, modern, cool and dry. Quite enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youngfamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Hi there,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and decided to share your happy experiences with fellow travelers. We pride ourselves on our service here at Marlin Cove and are thrilled to hear your positive review of the resort.

Thank-you again

Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Marlin Cove Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

My family and I stayed at this resort over Christmas recently for two weeks and had a fantastic holiday. Our appartment was in a perfect spot within the resort with direct access to the pool and BBQ facilities. The pool was just beautiful, which had lots of shade due to large shadesails which was great for the kids. One end had a "beach" which was also fantastic for the kids both to play in the sand as well as being shallower for them to wade in the water. The appartments themselves were very roomy which was great for the four of us, which had everything you would need, including full kitchen and laundry. The only negative I would say is there was only the one airconditioner (there were fans in each room tho) and so it took a bit of getting used to with the heat. In saying that tho, I believe the appartment we stayed in was one of the few which hadn't yet been renovated, with many of the others having aircon in each of the rooms as well as other more modern fittings. Regardless, I thought the look and comfort of our appartment was great.
Staff were fantastic, and were able to help with anything we needed.
The location of the resort being at Trinity Beach was nice and quiet, only a short walks to the shops, and was close to public transport which could take you into Cairns, the larger shopping centres and Port Douglass.
I would defiantely recommend Marlin Cove Resort, particular for those with young families.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank family_fFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlincovehr, Front Office Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Hi there,

Thank you for your positive review of the resort, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We have listened to guests needs regarding air conditioners and have now rolled out our new deluxe apartments - these include air conditioners in both bedrooms as well as the lounge rooms, brand new furniture and fittings, fans throughout, king size bedding and 32" flat screen TV's.
If you are back up this way, we'd love fo ryou to experience the new deluxe resort standard.

Cheers :-)
Stephanie Angel
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
1.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 22 in Trinity Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#1 of 22 in Trinity Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Cove Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Cove Holiday Resort

Property: Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Address: 2 Keem St, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Cove Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Cove Resort at Trinity Beach is nestled on the far north coast of Queensland. This unique Trinity Beach resort is located on the Northern Beaches of Cairns and only a few minutes' walk to the beautiful Trinity Beach, restaurants and shops. The resort offers a huge saltwater lagoon pool with sandy beach, lap pool, spa, sauna, four bbqs, full size tennis court, games room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marlin Cove Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Cove Holiday Hotel Trinity Beach
Marlin Cove Quest Hotel
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing