We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago and enjoyed it very much. This time had an apartment overlooking the pool. Would have appreciated the 'bubbllng' turned off at night, however by night 3 were getting used to it and it was not a problem.

Clean apartment, huge bathroom and laundry, bed comfortable and enjoyed being able to watch the French Open on tv.

Lovely area, weather in particular was spectacular and walking around the Marina every morning was just beautiful with the reflections of the boats in the calm water.

Very pleasant staff, happy to help and the free Sunshine Coast Daily newspaper every morning is a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the weekend, would recommend an inside room because of noisy revellers. Monda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooballGympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 290 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Nautilus was average! Location was great, as it was close to everything. However, If you don't want to sleep this is the hotel for you. Due to being in the centre of Mooloolaba it was very loud at night, and all you would hear is screaming people at 1, 2, 3, 4 in the morning walking 'home'. The pool was nice, however the waterfall would only come on for an hour in the morning which wasn't fun because we never got to see it going. The mini golf was a good addition and we were able to use it during our stay. When we did use the pool we found rubbish in it which wasn't pleasant. The room was average and not the cleanest. We received house keepings once, and all they did was pull the doonas up on our beds, they didn't change the sheets, they didn't vacuum, nothing, which was a little disappointing. Every time we had a shower, the bathroom would flood which was quite annoying. The carpark was very tight, and the driveway was quite steep, meaning that it was difficult to get a car in without scraping the bottom of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajhandfjlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey321, Owner at Nautilus Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Hi Felicity

Thank you for your review which we have since investigated. We note your stay coincided with Australia Day weekend in January and unfortunately this tends to be Mooloolaba's noisiest weekend of the year. We apologise that your room was not serviced to your liking and advise that the housekeeper responsible is no longer employed with us. We also have just employed new management who will make it their priority to monitor cleaning standards.

Kind regards

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed earlier this month in a one bedroom apartment on the 4th floor overlooking the pool.
The apartment building is in a fantastic location - close to both the wharf area and the beach. We much prefer the surf club end so this was a great spot.
The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly and our apartment had everything we needed for a weeks stay. We tend to eat out most nights but had breakfast every morning in the room. Bed was comfortable and shower excellent. Plenty of extra blankets if needed. Weather was really 'comfortable' so didn't use the aircon. Warm enough to swim most days (for us Kiwis anyway) so put the pool to good use. The pool is lovely but only gets the sun for a couple of hours in the morning so we would head to the beach after that.
Useful little 'book exchange' in the reception area which was a great idea. Had free wifi and more than enough to check emails etc.
I guess the one negative was that even though we are non smokers, there were other people out on their balconys smoking. Many times we had to move inside and close the doors because smoke was wafting in to our room. Mostly you couldn't actually see where it was coming from - guessing either directly above or below our balcony. I appreciate this may be beyond the control of management as I'm sure several apartments are individually owned and not rented out through Nautilis but it was a little annoying to say the least.

Overall a nice place to stay and we would probably stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoesandhandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. Overall we had a good time and stay.
Upon arrival at our apartment, I was disappointed with the size of the kitchen/lounge area, for a 2 bed apartment I was expecting something a bit more spacious. The bedrooms and bathroom were of a good size but did smell damp. The kitchen was well equipt with crockery, saucepans etc, but didn't allow much storage space for our own food that we had brought with us.
There were 2 tv's - one in the main bedroom & 1 in lounge, but 1 remote! which worked for both, but often found you turned both tv's on when turning one on! The sensor must be very sensitive! :)
Our balcony looked out on to the road and this proved noisy in evening and first thing in the morning with traffic and people walking past the building. We were on 4th floor. So I would recommend requesting a pool view balcony.
On our penultimate day we noticed there were ants in the bathroom, so spoke with reception and they responded quickly by getting someone in to spray the apartment. Unfortunately on our departure I noticed a few ants were found in the bathroom and in my child's luggage, so was reported again to reception.
Julie on reception was very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
We did use the pool and spa which was a nice feature of the hotel/apartment. Being close to the beach and shops, cafés etc was great too.
We had a takeaway from the Thai restaurant which is located in the hotel and it was very tasty and ready on time. My hubby had green curry and said it was one of the best he has had in ages!

So to sum up,the resort is a nice place to stay with not many frills but the location makes up for it. I will recommend to others.



Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Hayles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom apartment which had a rooftop spa & bbq which needed a good clean. The apartment (#58) needed new furnishings as the sofa bed/couch was rather uncomfortable & the crockery & glassware was all mismatched & the floor needed a good clean, this was rather disappointing. It was a great location & within walking distance of all local amenities which was great we didn't need to use the car. The staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Nautilus Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you mentioned to reception during your stay about the BBQ on the rooftop Lyndel B, as this gave us the opportunity to rectify it. Please accept our apology once again for not getting it right first time.

I have spoken to the person who was responsible for the cleaning of the BBQ after the guests departed on Easter Monday (the day of your arrival), to ensure that this does not occur again. You did not mention the floor to us at the time so I cannot comment on that other than to say that the normally high standard of cleaning possibly slipped on this occasion.

We were rather surprised to hear that you considered the apartment to be tired and needing refurbishing. The owners take great pride in their unit which is one of our most popular and we have never had this sort of feedback on it before. I will pass on your comment about the couch to the owners as I am sure they would not like to think that a guest found it uncomfortable. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient and staff friendly and helpful Lyndel B and we hope we can welcome you back to stay at Nautilus again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great central location.
We have stayed here quite a few times and always come back.
Friendly staff and nice clean rooms and facilities.
I love the Hot Tub roof top area.
Can't wait to go again next holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Nautilus Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thanks Ross C for your review. We always appreciate feedback from guests and to receive such great comments makes our efforts worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you again for your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Queen one bedroom apartment, for my partner’s birthday. We loved the atmosphere of the lobby, the pool and Restaurant, along with the friendly staff and relaxed beach-side atmosphere.

The unit (51) was clean, compact and fairly comfortable, albeit - not seriously out-dated - it felt early nineties… like it was slowly slipping into a time warp. Although modern the energy was ‘tired,’ and a little stale. A lick of paint and some modernisation; new appliances, perhaps some new furniture to freshen it up to a more contemporary state is in order to make it fully 4 star. The bed was almost uncomfortable with only one ‘hard’ pillow and one thin blanket to share, with little attention to details throughout, including a very sparse budget-supply of shampoo and soap, which did not last the two days we were there. There was no housekeeping for the two-night stay and only one set of two towels. Luckily there is a little laundry which is well equipped with a dryer and the room was pleasant with opening windows, air-con and fans.

The kitchen and fridge are ample. For the two of us, it was a most pleasant stay and for the mid-week price special, we would stay here again without any hesitation. The location is fantastic and within easy walking distance to everything Mooloolaba. The view of the Marina is a bonus in this unit, especially in the evening as the lights begin to twinkle and you head out for your evening meal and stroll.

Very nice, recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 51 has a lovely view of the Mooloolaba River and Marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at Nautilus Mooloolaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for your comprehensive review Lilla C, it is wonderful to hear that you would stay at Nautilus again without any hesitation. Repeat guests are very important to us and we look forward to you returning.

Our apartments are constantly being updated and Unit 51 had a brand new lounge suite delivered 10 days prior to your arrival also the coffee table, refrigerator, lounge and bedroom televisions are all reasonably new. We are pleased that you enjoyed the lovely marina view and found the apartment to be clean.

For the benefit of future guests I would like to clarify that Nautilus Resort is classified as 3½ star, self catering apartments. As such, we provide an initial starter pack of shampoo, soap, toilet paper, tea, coffee etc and any further requirements may be purchased from reception or the local supermarket. We provide one bath towel per person (extras can be hired) and the apartments are serviced once a week for stays of 7 nights or more. The one bedroom apartments (all of which have one queen bed) have 2 pillows per person and 2 blankets.

Thanks again for your review and recommendation Lilla C, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#14 of 16 in Mooloolaba
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 16 in Mooloolaba
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Mooloolaba

Address: 30-32 River Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $97 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nautilus Mooloolaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautilus is located in the heart of Mooloolaba, on Queensland's beautiful Sunshine Coast. This modern property offers 1 and 2 bedroom self contained apartments that are perfectly located within a short stroll to Mooloolaba Beach. The central location plus modern guest facilities make Nautilus Mooloolaba a perfect choice for both families and couples. Take a swim in the heated pool or simply relax in a sun lounge whilst enjoying the lush, tropical surroundings and the relaxing sound of the waterfall. Discover why the blend of modern guest facilities and quality holiday apartments makes Nautilus Mooloolaba one of the most popular accommodation choices anywhere on the Sunshine Coast. When you're not enjoying the patrolled beach, visiting the local attractions such as Underwater World or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities to get the most from your Mooloolaba holiday experience. Mooloolaba is a popular family holiday destination on Queensland's Sunshine Coast, situated between Caloundra and Noosa Heads. Nautilus Mooloolaba is perfectly located adjacent to The Wharf and Mooloolah River, just a relaxed stroll to The Esplanade and Mooloolaba Beach. Alfresco cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and Underwater World are all in close proximity when you stay at Nautilus Mooloolaba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nautilus Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Mooloolaba Hotel Mooloolaba
Nautilus Hotel Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing