We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Esplanade Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very good value considering the location. We were wanting something basic and this room suited us well. It had been renovated before we stayed and although it was a bit tiny in the bathroom, it was nothing to complain about. (Singapore hotels are much smaller!)
It was so great being able to walk down to the main strip. We also had a hire car and the motel had car spots allocated for each room. We also made use of the the communal kitchen which was great, there was no one in there and everything was clean. The big flat screen TV in the room was a plus!
This place is good for people who aren't fussy about all the little things and just need a place to sleep and explore the sunny coast!

Room Tip: I think every room would be ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
40
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very very small bathroom. Toilet is hardly big enough to sit on.... should be a kiddy toilet., horrible pillows average mattress, room was clean but the staff unhelpful. I wanted to check out at noon but he said no.... odd since they were only half full (if that!) Location is fine

Room Tip: Check Last Minute dot com for a better deal elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank empireboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in this small hotel for one night. The economy room was small, but nicely furnished and well finished. The disappointment we had was lack of furnished soap/shampoo/conditioner/shower gel. There was no hair dryer or free wi-fi (cost was quoted @ $7.50/hr). The location is near the Mooloolah River, convenient to restaurants and beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every year we save some money for christmas shopping, we like to leave our home town and shop away. Last time we went to mooloolaba to shop at sunshine plaza, we stayed overnight at the River Esplanade this is in a great spot over looking the water and all the coming and goings of the boats. Underwater world is a short walk away, lots to see and do, breakfast over looking the beach at Alexandra Headland. Would stay again.

Room Tip: rooms and shower are small, but quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I and my wife went into reception, looking to stay for one night, the 'boss' said we don't do on night on a weekend which was fine, I replied and said well we might stay two could we see the room, he replied and said no, said there's no problem just we can't look at it as we were 'apparently' buggering around, I said we are serious and would like to stay could we please see the room first.he said he's not interested we are not having the room yet he offered it to us before the conversation, we are very easy ppl with a good attitude we could not believe his attitude to us! Absolutely disgusted!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lach44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice outlook over the marina and very quiet. One level motel and good parking outside room.
Very clean and tidy, linen and towels great and the bed comfortable. Not a big room but ample for what I wanted. Had air con and a table and chair. An easy walk to the shops and surf club.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was a great unit for the money . For eighty dollars we got a room with all the essentials we needed.
The room had brand new air con, flat screen tv, tea coffee making facilities and a neat and tidy ensuite. Off road parking was also a bonus . Very close to centre of moolooaba(two min walk).
Only great things to say about this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twochilledoutkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Esplanade Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Esplanade Motel

Property: River Esplanade Motel
Address: 98 River Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mooloolaba
#5 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Esplanade Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Esplanade Motel is a family-owned motel run by the Thompson family for almost 20 years. We specialize in quality accommodation at an affordable price. We are located in beautiful Mooloolaba which is only 1 hour north of Brisbane and are only 400m to the world famous Mooloolaba Beach making us a perfect destination for families, tourists and business travellers. We have 20 motel rooms and a 3 Bedroom Apartment, Outdoor swimming pool, shared kitchen facilities all set in amongst beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Esplanade Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Esplanade Motel Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing