We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We just checked in and are not impressed. Buildings and rooms are old and in a state of disrepair. The pool is closed for renovation - which we were not told when we called to make reservation. The ONLY positive thing is location and view. Very poor value for money. I am wishing we booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeccamc0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear Rebecca,
We are sorry to hear of your dissapointment in your stay with us.
Our rooms and facilities are constantly being updated to ensure we offer our guests a comfortable and memorable experience and also that we maintain our 4 star rating. As advised with all check-ins, we would have appreciated that you contacted us immediately to rectify your concerns.
Our swimming pool and spa areas have had a major facelift and is now looking great. Unfortunately this area should have been completed prior to your overnight stay; however due to the weather, completion was delayed by 2 days. Whilst our sauna, games room, tennis court and BBQ areas remained available to guests, we must apologise for the inconvenience caused to you, however as advertised, our guests did have access to a swimming pool in the 5 star Resort next door.
Once again please accept our appologies and we look forward to seeing you at Pacific Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 138 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We first stayed with our two son`s who were 10 and 7yrs of age and returned for a week or two each following year, as years passed it became one son and his friend and then became none as they have grown , now 24 and 21 years of age and have their own families. However my husband and I still continue to do this 12hr drive each year for the location, relaxation, comfort, affordability ! Where else can you have a million dollar view for minimal dollars. Norm and Deyarn are always so welcoming "we feel like we have come home" each year. Over these years we have stayed in many units we have NEVER had any problems with housekeeping or maintinence, if there is any 'small' problem we may identify or something we may need it is corrected/supplied ASAP all facilities are so well maintained. We recommend this resort to all our family and friends which a few have stayed and have all stated that they will return for a longer period in the furture.
LOVE IT.......TRY IT...........

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rusky32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Rusky32,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you feel at home at Pacific Beach Resort and look forward to seeing you and your husband again in the future.
Norm Vitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Fantastic stay, perfect position, service was excellent. I've stayed at others along the esplande and Pacific Beach Resort has been the best value, best views & best service.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meandmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Meandmcq,
Thank you for your response, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Pacific Beach Resort and that you believe us to have the ‘best value, best views & best service.’ Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Norm Vitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The location of the accommodation was great but the unit we stayed in was very disapponting. It was outdated and very basic and in desperate need for a make-over and upgrade. The air-con was useless and inefficient. The staff were nice enough but not helpful and useless when our belongings were misplaced when the room was serviced. They are reasonably priced but I would not recommend it as a family friendly accomodation as the Getaway piece may lead you to beleive. It is simple, basic and cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esp912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Esp912,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Pacific Beach Resort. We regret that we were unable to fully meet your expectations on this visit. However we have definitely highlighted this matter to our housekeeping staff on your valued comment and your preferences have been taken note. We will endeavour to ensure that this does not happen again. I wish many blissful stays wherever you may wish to visit.
Kind Regards
Norm Vitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Right on the beachfront with views to die for. Our unit on the eigth floor was a real treat - tastefully furnished, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The very friendly and helpful management and house staff are a delightful change to the more regimented approach often experienced today.........ENJOY.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTMAC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Actmac3,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Pacific Beach Resort. We are very happy that you liked our resort facilities, rooms and especially our service delivery, it makes our job worthwhile. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Norm Vitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was 4 or 5th time had stayed there and always a very pleasant experience. Is right on the beach front and have full acess to all shops and restaurants etc right outside your door.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank Margo043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Margo043,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Pacific Beach Resort. We are very happy to read that once again you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards
Norm Vitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Pacific Beach is really good value compared to other hotels/resorts on The Esplanade and superbly located. Norm and Deyarn are experienced and knowledgeable managers, the apartments are spacious and no noise can be heard from adjoining apartments.

The apartments are spotlessly clean and minor maintenance is quickly fixed.

It always amazes me to read what some people say in reviews. You really can't blame Pacific Beach Resort for the noise from a nearby nightclub emptying itself of patrons at 3:00am. In any case it only lasts for about 30 mins mostly on a Friday or Saturday night as they are quickly ferried into taxis. No big deal.

Great for families and couples wishing to enjoy Mooloolaba and a magnificent view from their balconies. Self-contained kitchen also good if you don't want to eat out every night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1954_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
receptionmooloolaba, Manager at Pacific Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Neil1954_09,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feed back on your stay at pacific beach resort. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found both Deyarn and myself helpful. Thankfully the nearby night club has moved so there is truly nothing but the sea at night. Once again we are glad you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Norm Vitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 16 in Mooloolaba
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#6 of 16 in Mooloolaba
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Beach Resort

Address: Pacific Beach Resort 95 Mooloolaba Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $113 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Beach Hotel Mooloolaba
Pacific Beach Resort Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing