We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit was outstanding.”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family returned for New Years again this year....we had 2 units this time both had been refurbished since last year with lovely marble tiles and new lounge room furniture...the staff at reception were very friendly and very accommodating...we had a couple of housekeeping issues that were addressed immediately and fixed. The view is spectacular. There was also a new air conditioning system installed which worked great. We loved it and would go back in a heart beat. It was a great family holiday thanks to everyone at Mantra Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Level 4 is about the best level....we were on 3 and would opt for 4 next time
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Kathleen T,

Thank you for staying with us here at Mantra Zanzibar once again, and for taking the time to share your thoughs on your stay. It was great to read that you enjoyed this stay more than the last, and I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar again.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 490 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We often holiday in Mooloolaba and have stayed at a number of the mantra resorts on the main esplanade (in fact all of them). We had the luck of getting a high position and newly renovated apartment (2bd). They had done a really nice job on it and it now rivals that of "oceans" in its detail and finish from my perspective. This I understand is a push Zanzibar management to get them all upgraded, and if they end up like 803 or even near it then this will be the place to stay on the esplanade.

Other wins, sits over the shops and across from the beach. Car park is decent and access is easy. Staff were both friendly and helpful. Room was very clean including crockery etc. Pool is smaller than sirocco and is on the western side on L2, but gets sun in the afternoon that way.

Room Tip: all have ocean views, some are upgraded nicely so might pay to ask.....either way the views are terr...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Peter C,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and your tip about the pool making the most of the afternoon sun (and being protected from strong onshore winds) is spot on.

We can't wait to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar next time you visit Mooloolaba.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Last minute stay so got a bargain $180 night through a local real estate office. On 8th floor, ocean views to die for. Very large 2br,2 bath appt, full kitchen and washer and dryer. Cafes and shops just below. Beach over road. Minimal traffic as a roundabout slows and main traffic diverted up the road. Suspect quieter than the other Mantra that would get that traffic. Didnt use pool or spas this time.
Cant beat the balcony view, even at nomal price of $295 a night. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi AdelaideShell,

Thanks for your review of your stay at Zanzibar, although it was in an apartment rented through a local real estate agent.

Glad to hear you had a great time, next time you are in the area contact us directly here at Mantra Zanzibar - we have best prices guaranteed and will match any other quote and I'm sure a stay with us would result in a 5 out of 5!

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I booked and paid for accommodation 6 mths prior for the new year period of 2013/14 so my family would have a nice apartment with a spa on the verandah to enjoy New Years fire works. I have 2 x 6 year old children, and the spa is a big highlight for them. I am a repeat customer having book this expensive apartment now for the 3rd year in a row. They have informed me today - with 21 days notice, that I am not able to have this apartment, and are attempting to place me in an inferior apartment - which they lied to me about, suggesting it was an upgrade!!! ( having stayed before I know for a fact that it is a down grade - small verandah with no spa!!)

They firstly claimed that it was a maintenance issue, this turned out to be a lie, which they acknowledged. They now tell me the owner wants to use it which i strongly suspect is also a lie.

VERY VERY POOR FORM. What on earth do I do now with everything else in sight booked out???

People booking beware - your booking means nothing even if it is fully paid for in advance and you are a good repeat customer!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
6  Thank HutchinsY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear HutchinsY,

Thank you for your post regarding your reservation for Mantra Zanzibar. Please accept our apologies for any confusion relating to your booking with us, and I'm glad that through your correspondence with our team we were able to come to a resolution to allow you to fully enjoy your stay with us over New Years Eve.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar for many years to come.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved our room at Mantra Zanzibar. The African influence with modern touches was outstanding. It was awesome facing the beach with easy access to shops and ATM's just below. Very local and very easy. Our only dislike was that the pool was not heated like it should have been. It was significantly cool. I'd suggest more chairs and tables to be available. The pool overlooking a car park is also not appealing. Mantra should consider some type of design wall with a water feature to block out that view. Very cosmopolitan. Very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Don't stay too low on the levels as you feel like you're peering down below at the apartment...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to read that your time with us was "magic" and that you enjoyed the apartment and central location.

Unfortunately we are limited as to the amount of furniture we can place around the pool due to it's elevated position, however your comments will be passed on to the Body Corporate for the building for consideration when planning on upgrading the pool area.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We have an acceptable apartment at this resort but it could do with some updating as it's looking very dated with old heavy style 1980's furniture and this detracts from its appearance although we cant complain about the standard of general presentation. Its in a very convenient position in the town.
A modern update would be a great improvement.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Aussiebd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community, as we always like hearing from TripAdvisors Top Contributors. The team and I were glad to read that you enjoyed the central loaction and the presentation of the apartment.

When the building opened in 1999 it featured a distinctly African theme, which can still be seen throughout the buildings architecture today. When updating apartments some owners have chosen to refurbish and retain the timber furniture to continue the style of the building.

Thank you again for posting a review, and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Fabulous beyond our expectations! Room newly renovated, friendly staff, glorious views. The perfect location, with everything within walking distance. Can't wait to come back again. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodiennehenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear jodiennehenn,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to hear that your visit exceeded all expectations!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#10 of 16 in Mooloolaba
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 16 in Mooloolaba
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $176 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation choices including 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and penthouses. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing