We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointi Mantra experience”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointi Mantra experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My adult children recently booked and paid for a two night stay at Zanzibar as a birthday treat for me. We walked into the allocated two bedroom apartment shortly after 6pm, tired and hungry after a long drive, to find hair and grit on the beds, food stains on the breakfast bar seating (and on the ceiling over the kitchen counter), dirty carpets/floors and a stale smelling en suite bathroom. We picked up the phone to call the night management and discovered the phone was as grubby as the rest of the unit. While waiting for clean bedding to arrive as promised we looked around the reminder of the unit and discovered what appeared to be a spider egg sac in the hinge of the oven door, cobwebs hanging off the roof of the master bedroom and a significant layer of dust on all Venetian blinds and window ledges. After showing the issues to the night staff we were provided with a key to a 3 bedroom unit we were assured had been checked for cleanliness prior to giving us the keys. Unfortunately the second unit replicated the first in terms of cleanliness with the unwelcome addition of cockroaches beside the fridge and a selection of dubious stains on the throw on the master bed. We ultimately booked elsewhere and relocated rather than continue changing apartments at Zanzibar in the hopes of getting one we were willing to stay in. The delays and change resulted in us finally getting to local restaurant for dinner after 8.30 that night and because we ended up having to book elsewhere at such short notice, and in such unfavorable circumstances, my children ended up paying higher rates for a lesser rated and located resort.
It is appreciated that the manager at Zanzibar called my son the next morning to discuss and apologize for the experience and I am relieved that they were provided with a full refund. However it is immensely disappointing so much of my birthday evening was spent on securing accommodation, when this was expected to have been pre arranged. For this to then be followed by a hurried meal in a restaurant where the kitchen was closing due to the late arrival was far from being the treat my children had wanted me to have. Definitely not the Mantra standard I expected of this brand!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidsterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear lidsterd,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience with Mantra Zanzibar, and please accept our apologies once again that the apartments did not meet your expectations upon your arrival.

As you have mentioned we have provided a full refund through the agent you booked with, and I certainly hope this experience does not deter you from staying with the Mantra Group in the future. If I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    161
    57
    32
    13
See reviews for
245
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked a 2night weekend getaway at Zanzibar to celebrate a special birthday and loved everything about the experience. We stayed in a 2 bedroom courtyard unit on the 2nd floor. The views at this level are not as expansive as higher floors but the private spa overlooking the beach is stunning. The apartments are classy and well-appointed with everything you need for a wonderful holiday in any weather. Zanzibar is set right in the middle of the dining and shopping precinct of Moolololaba Esplanade. The staff are friendly and helpful and parking access is easy and secure. Although we live nearby in Buderim we had great fun staying in our local area and enjoyed waking up to the glorious sunrise at the beach and gazing at the ocean views all day long. Fantastic weekend thanks Zanzibar!

Room Tip: Garden courtyard rooms on 2nd floor have a spacious terrace with private outdoor spa and barbecue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wencal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear wencal_11,

Thank you for review of your stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read that as locals you enjoyed a fantastic long weekend with us and enjoyed the additional features the courtyard apartment have to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back next time you need a mini-holiday.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for an apartment in a great location Mantra Zanzibar at Mooloolaba has everything you need. Close to clubs, cafes, restaurants and a large variety of shops. Easy access to the beach across the road. The boardwalk is fantastic for couples with small children. Plenty of playgrounds and heaps of sand on the beach for building sandcastles. The kitchen is very well appointed with appliances to cook meals etc.

Room Tip: The second bedroom in the 2 bedroom apartment is small and only suitable for children or short peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Fifi03_12,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to hear from another satisfied guest!

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mooloolaba and Mantra Zanzibar for another fantastic family holiday.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is the winner here. We had sea views and spa in the main bedroom.
We laughed at the decor the kitchen is lion giraffe look which is not good after a big night but no fault of the hotel the apartment has all the extra,s you could want.
I would stay again but it is more family than luxury.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has outdoor spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear mb02,

Thanks for your review of your stay here at Mantra Zanzibar - glad you loved the location and spa and that the apartment had all the extras you were looking for.

Hopefully the animals didn't scare you too badly after your night out, and I hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar next time you are visiting Mooloolaba.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Situated on the Esplanade in the heart of Mooloolaba, this apartment resort has unlimited ocean views, is 50 metres from the flagged area at the beach, has 30 restaurants within 200 metres and heaps of clothing and special interest stores to browse nearby.
The parking is easy, there is a second floor pool at the back of the building, but a rather dingy gym buried under the building. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Apartments are spacious and well appointed, although some need an update. Ask for a recently renovated apartment.
Second floor apartments have a large deck which is great for children, but not as good a view as those on higher levels.
Generally a perfect place to stay for a Sunshine Coast vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Kyzyk,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and I'm sure others will be appreciative of the detail of your review.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar for another great stay the next time you are visiting the Sunshine Coast.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundall, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked a two bedroom apartment with private spa on the balcony here for the weekend. Looking at the photos online it looked very nice. Got to our room and was disappointed with it...Space was a plus having two young children but that's as good as it got!
The whole apartment was so dirty it wouldn't stack up to anyone's standards!
The place was filled with dirt/dust everywhere you looked! Pulled a glass out of the cupboard and it was disgusting to then pull out all the glasses/cups etc and everything needed re washing! where is the quality control when the cleaners are checking off these rooms?
All the furniture and décor was very out-dated, Carpets/rugs filthy and in need of a very good shampoo!
Only booked and paid the extra $250 or so for three nights to get the room with a BBQ and so called private spa (which every room above you looked down on) not so private, which we were unable to use the spa which was set way to hot (easily over 40degrees)
Definitely wont be staying here again....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkins8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear jenkins8,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and I apologise that your stay in one of our 2 Bedroom Courtyard Apartments did not live up to expectations.

I have reviewed all our courtesy call details for the month of May and can't see any feedback that matches what you have described. It's certainly unfortunate that these issues were not brought to our attention as an item such as reducing the temperature of the outdoor spa is something we can easily remedy for you so you may enjoy all the facilities the apartments have to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts, and if I can be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Mantra Zanzibar. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left the team was just very helpful and friendly. The apartment was extremely clean and tidy, kitchen was very well stocked with enough glass and crockery for a large group of people. The facilities around the resort are great, common areas are nice and clean. Just a great weekend with a great resort. Well done to the team for making our stay an enjoyable from check in check out. We will be back at Mantra Zanzibar hopefully again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ji7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear ji7683,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, and it's fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartments, common areas and our staff members exceeded your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#14 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Property: Mantra Zanzibar
Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation with a strong East African influence in the heart of cosmopolitan Mooloolaba. Offering style on the beach, the property is close to everything your heart desires including shopping, restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Indulge in the latest fashions and giftware from around the world in the surrounding boutiques. Accommodation choices include 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all with quality furnishings and African inspired decor, air-conditioning, private balcony with panoramic ocean views and an indulgent spa bath. Other standard features include a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, cable TV, DVD player, internet access and hairdryer. If you're after more space, upgrade to our courtyard apartments which feature all of the above plus a private courtyard area with barbeque and outdoor spa or for the ultimate in luxury book our two or three bedroom penthouse. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing