We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a sad excuse of a hotel”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a sad excuse of a hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed in a three bedroom apartment for two nights at the beginning of December. We checked into our room which clearly either hadn't been used for a long time or hadn't been cleaned for a long time. It was run down and the air conditioning didn't work. As we paid $960 for two nights accommodation (!!!!) we asked to be moved and were moved to a much higher level and yes, the view was amazing, the apartment was better but again the air conditioning didn't work, nor the dishwasher. We didn't raise these issues with the staff as we felt really uncomfortable complaining about the second room as we felt there was lots of eye rolling the first time around. The pool area was a bit ridiculous with only two sun loungers, not really handy when there are 4 of you!
Yes the location was great but for the price we paid we expected a lot more. I would never stay at this hotel again and definitely wouldn't recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainraingoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear rainraingoaway,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here with us at Mantra Zanzibar, and clearly from your review there were a number of areas where we failed to meet your expectations for your stay.

Unfortunately I'm currently unable to find a booking in our system matching your experience, and I'd certainly appreciate it if you could contact me via the resort or TripAdvisor with some further details so we can fully investigate the circumstances and make things right for you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    183
    62
    34
    14
See reviews for
273
92
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I admit we were on the 10th floor of a ten floor building, so the on the beach view was extraordinary. I sat on the balcony each morning with my coffee and read the paper and watched the surfers come and go. To my left was Alexandra Headland and to my right the lighthouse. Smack on the beach nearly. I could see the children playing with their buckets and spades.

After coffee I put my bathers on and went up the spiral staircase to the rooftop. Yes our own rooftop A BBQ and a table next to our spa and our own sun loungers. Sometimes when I got too hot I read a book at the other table which was shaded and overlooked the ocean. I cooked on that BBQ every second night courtesy of Coles ( a 5 min walk) next to the bottle shop! The ground floor of this hotel is straight onto the shops; most of them have internet with your coffee or a glass wine, depending on what time you need to check that damm internet.

For those who do not have the luxury of the roof bbq, there is a shared pool area with two bbqs, a spa and an eating area. The pool is a bit tired however the water is clean and lovely and there were plenty of people having fun and talking to strangers. The staff are lovely, so accommodating. I guess you realise that I loved it !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear fiona1102,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar - we always love hearing from TripAdvisor's Senior Reviewers and I have to say I think your review sums up a stay in one of our Penthouse Apartments perfectly!

It was fantastic to read what a great time you had here with us, and I hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We travel to Mooloolaba every couple of months. We could not get our usual hotel this time, so we stayed at Zanzibar. We got a 2 bedroom and it was absolutely perfect. We loved the central location to the Esplanade and the patrolled beach. Our room must have been newly renovated as it still had the "new" smell. We used the pool and it was a perfect temperature. I really could not fault a single thing. We checked in after hours and it was very easy to access the safe and our room key was waiting for us.
I have to say that we liked this hotel so much that we are looking at investing in one of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear seeworld69,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar - we always appreciate feedback from our international guests and it was wonderful to read that you had an excellent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future, and if I can assist further in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just got back from staying in a 2 bedroom Penthouse room. Breathtaking views from our balcony and with such fine weather the light sea breeze meant we could just leave our door open and enjoy the air. Spa and BBQ area on roof was private and made a great space.. Spa stays cool unless you fire it up (and only takes about 30mins to get a good heat going) which was perfect for taking my 2yr old to splash about when she decides 6am is a great time for her first swim of the day.Main pool was great temperature and generally fairly empty, not a big family pool but you've got the beach 10secs away for that.
Location is exceptional, all the cafes and stores are at hand right out the door, Coles supermarket barely 5min walk away

Room was in good condition, a few marks and bumps of course but seeing as these penthouses are fairly regularly booked that's expected. I'd say the rooms may need some freshening up in another year but for now its an excellent place to stay unless you want to dump ludicrous sums to stay at Oceans. Nice decor and well fitted out kitchen, maybe some extra plates & cutlery would be useful as sets of 4 is probably a bit limiting for families with a couple of kids.

Only glitch we had was the dishwasher getting stuck on us but they had a friendly maintenance guy pop his head in within 30mins of our call and had it sorted. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, as far as Im concerned I've found the new holiday place to take my family for the next couple of years.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MorganH,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay here at Mantra Zanzibar with the TripAdvisor community, and it was wonderful to read about your great stay here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future, and if I can be of assistance at any time please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are currently staying in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Zanzibar being the 23rd Nov 2012.
The only positive is the view.
Upon entering our room the smell was horrific, the tiles were sticky, the carpets were disgustingly dirty, there are cockroaches runing around. Our sliding door to our bathroom is completely broken, there is mould everywhere, the walls are disgusting with cracks everywhere and paint peeling. The balcony is covered in sand and the windows and door trackd are dirty as can be. This place should be closed down. Once we are done at Underwater World today we are gone like last weeks pay, we dont care if we losing money. The only thing that had stopped us from leaving is because Oceans is booked out. In fact i half expect to have to fight to get our deposit back.
When i get home i will calling someone about this deplorable excuse for a motel.
In short avoid the Zanzibar and stay at Oceans.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonLewis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear JasonLewis34,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mantra Zanzibar, and please accept my apologies that clearly your stay was not up to expectations. I was quite surprised by your comments as none of these issues were mentioned to our staff when we called you after your arrival to check that everything was OK, nor were they mentioned as the reason for your early departure.

We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests and ensuring that each and every visitor has an enjoyable stay with us, and on the occasions where something is not right or missing from the room we appreciate knowing so we can immediately rectify any shortcomings.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this further, or if you are looking at returning to Mooloolaba so we may make this up to you in some way.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We took my 79 year old Mum away for the weekend and stayed in a 2 bedroom Penthouse. We have previously stayed at this property on a lower floor and that apartment was very spacious. The Penthouse provides a rooftop spa and barbecue, but because you have that, the size of the internal living area is quite a lot smaller than other 2 bedroom apartments, which is not great on a rainy weekend. It was lucky we had our own spa, because the spa in the pool area was not working (which was not advised to us on arrival). The barbecue was relatively clean, but there were no barbecue utensils, so I had to go and buy them. There were bulbs out in the rooftop area, so it was difficult to barbecue after dark. There was not enough cutlery for 4 people to have a meal, so we had to cut up the kids meals for them. We had to go and buy knives for cutting up our cooking as the knives were of poor quality. The dishwasher was absolutely filthy and made the dishes dirtier, after they were washed, than when they were put in. We had to clean this before using again. Given that we stayed in a Penthouse, and paid a lot of money for 3 nights, we were quite disappointed with the standard. The shower screen in the ensuite did not even close.

There is a certain stigma attached to staying in a Penthouse and that standard was just not provided. I think that the Mantra name will be tainted if this property is not maintained. It is a real shame that this happened because the property is in a great location with great bars, restaurants, shops etc and breath-taking views.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Penthouse if you have more than 2 people as the living area is small and not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear roseander,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and please accept my apologies that some aspects of your stay were not up to expectations. It is disappointing that these items were not advised to us durig your stay as we would have loved to have been able to rectify them for you so you may have had a more enjoyable experience.

Also just to clarify for other TripAdvisor members, the 2 Bedroom Penthouse Apartments have the same internal floorspace as the standard 2 Bedroom Apartments, and are not smaller internally due to the rooftop (and many people believe they feel larger due to the elevated ceilings).

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a 3BR apartment to celebrate Mother's Day earlier this year, it was a girl's weekend for three generations. The location was perfect with gorgeous ocean views with some lovely shops and restaurants within a short stroll of the hotel. The decor was a little dated but the apartment was nice and spacious, which perfectly suited our needs. The parrots were very noisy and kept some of us awake but not much you can do about that! Underwater World was within walking distance.
All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing long weekend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzVikingGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear OzVikingGC,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read that you had a relaxing long weekend with us to celebrate Mothers Day.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar for more special occasions in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Property: Mantra Zanzibar
Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation with a strong East African influence in the heart of cosmopolitan Mooloolaba. Offering style on the beach, the property is close to everything your heart desires including shopping, restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Indulge in the latest fashions and giftware from around the world in the surrounding boutiques. Accommodation choices include 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all with quality furnishings and African inspired decor, air-conditioning, private balcony with panoramic ocean views and an indulgent spa bath. Other standard features include a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, cable TV, DVD player, internet access and hairdryer. If you're after more space, upgrade to our courtyard apartments which feature all of the above plus a private courtyard area with barbeque and outdoor spa or for the ultimate in luxury book our two or three bedroom penthouse. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing