We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Woeful. Will never come again or recommend.”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are currently staying in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Zanzibar being the 23rd Nov 2012.
The only positive is the view.
Upon entering our room the smell was horrific, the tiles were sticky, the carpets were disgustingly dirty, there are cockroaches runing around. Our sliding door to our bathroom is completely broken, there is mould everywhere, the walls are disgusting with cracks everywhere and paint peeling. The balcony is covered in sand and the windows and door trackd are dirty as can be. This place should be closed down. Once we are done at Underwater World today we are gone like last weeks pay, we dont care if we losing money. The only thing that had stopped us from leaving is because Oceans is booked out. In fact i half expect to have to fight to get our deposit back.
When i get home i will calling someone about this deplorable excuse for a motel.
In short avoid the Zanzibar and stay at Oceans.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonLewis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear JasonLewis34,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mantra Zanzibar, and please accept my apologies that clearly your stay was not up to expectations. I was quite surprised by your comments as none of these issues were mentioned to our staff when we called you after your arrival to check that everything was OK, nor were they mentioned as the reason for your early departure.

We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests and ensuring that each and every visitor has an enjoyable stay with us, and on the occasions where something is not right or missing from the room we appreciate knowing so we can immediately rectify any shortcomings.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this further, or if you are looking at returning to Mooloolaba so we may make this up to you in some way.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 548 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We took my 79 year old Mum away for the weekend and stayed in a 2 bedroom Penthouse. We have previously stayed at this property on a lower floor and that apartment was very spacious. The Penthouse provides a rooftop spa and barbecue, but because you have that, the size of the internal living area is quite a lot smaller than other 2 bedroom apartments, which is not great on a rainy weekend. It was lucky we had our own spa, because the spa in the pool area was not working (which was not advised to us on arrival). The barbecue was relatively clean, but there were no barbecue utensils, so I had to go and buy them. There were bulbs out in the rooftop area, so it was difficult to barbecue after dark. There was not enough cutlery for 4 people to have a meal, so we had to cut up the kids meals for them. We had to go and buy knives for cutting up our cooking as the knives were of poor quality. The dishwasher was absolutely filthy and made the dishes dirtier, after they were washed, than when they were put in. We had to clean this before using again. Given that we stayed in a Penthouse, and paid a lot of money for 3 nights, we were quite disappointed with the standard. The shower screen in the ensuite did not even close.

There is a certain stigma attached to staying in a Penthouse and that standard was just not provided. I think that the Mantra name will be tainted if this property is not maintained. It is a real shame that this happened because the property is in a great location with great bars, restaurants, shops etc and breath-taking views.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Penthouse if you have more than 2 people as the living area is small and not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear roseander,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and please accept my apologies that some aspects of your stay were not up to expectations. It is disappointing that these items were not advised to us durig your stay as we would have loved to have been able to rectify them for you so you may have had a more enjoyable experience.

Also just to clarify for other TripAdvisor members, the 2 Bedroom Penthouse Apartments have the same internal floorspace as the standard 2 Bedroom Apartments, and are not smaller internally due to the rooftop (and many people believe they feel larger due to the elevated ceilings).

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a 3BR apartment to celebrate Mother's Day earlier this year, it was a girl's weekend for three generations. The location was perfect with gorgeous ocean views with some lovely shops and restaurants within a short stroll of the hotel. The decor was a little dated but the apartment was nice and spacious, which perfectly suited our needs. The parrots were very noisy and kept some of us awake but not much you can do about that! Underwater World was within walking distance.
All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing long weekend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzVikingGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear OzVikingGC,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read that you had a relaxing long weekend with us to celebrate Mothers Day.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar for more special occasions in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a terrible experience.
When we booked we made a special request for 2x double beds in a 2 bedroom unit nobody was curtious enough to let us know this colud not be done until we came to check in.The unit was extremely dirty as were the cooking utensils and cutlery.The advertising and compedium states Fox Sports 3 is available but we were told upon enquiring this was not the case.Basically this unit should not be available to quests until it receives a complete makeover it is outdated dirty and in much need of some sreious attention.A very disappointing end to what until then had been a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Wes D,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's dissapointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately all our 2 Bedroom Apartments only have a queen ad 2 single beds, and this is outlined in the room description when making a reservation. It was concerning to read your comments regarding the cleanliness in your apartment, and it's regrettable that this was not brought to our attention when speaking with our staff so we could have rectified this for you.

Unfortunately Fox Sports 3 is currently unavailable, however we have Fox Sports 1 and 2 showing and are working on getting 3 back as soon as possible. Thank you again for your feedback, and if I can assist further in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Family of four stayed 3 nights, staff could not have been better, hotel is clean and very well maintained. Variety of great cafes and restaurants at ground floor. Pool and Spa clean and right temperature. Beach towels provided. We had level 5 and this offered both privacy and great people watching and beach/ocean gazing. Would stay again without hesitation. Kitchen and furnishings were 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrizVegasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear BrisVegasDad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Mantra Zanzibar with the TripAdvisor community. It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and your feedback will certainly be shared with the team here.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Beautiful modern room, beach views, heated outdoor spa... What more could we ask for. Despite the horrible cold weather in our recent winter stay, we still enjoyed ourselves and had a go in the outdoor spa. I would visit again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are great! Only cost us ~$10-20 more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Leigh H,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was excellent to hear that you had a fantastic stay. As you've mentioned the courtyard apartments offer a large private outdoor spa in the courtyard and it was great to hear you braved the cold weather to enjoy it!

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our family, with a 3 and 7 yr old, stayed for nine nights recently - got a great deal particularly over the Qld school holidays. As previous reviews have indicated, the location is excellent with ocean views and right on the strip at Mooloolaba; and no night noise either. The room was large and comfortable although not as clean as I had expected from a well regarded property - oven and extractor fan smelt of grease (couldn't get grill tray clean as hard as we tried), quite dusty etc. Kitchen was well laid out but didn't have the utensils/cooking equipment I expected - small set of saucepans, cutting board, couple of microwave contains, salad bowl and glass bowl. No oven trays etc which when staying for more than a few nights (and with kids) would have been handy. Reception very helpful and responsive - had a maintenance request that was handled immediately. Beds were very comfortable. Pool was very cold. Overall a pleasant stay although restaurant strip not as child friendly as we had expected, seemed to be aiming more for the couple market.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear TinaBen,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. I've asked our Housekeeping team to have a look through apartments matching your dates of stay to check that all utensils are there, and we've ramped up the heat in the pool!

Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#14 of 16 in Mooloolaba
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $162 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation choices including 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and penthouses. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing