We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break - relaxing spot - no complaints!”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We booked direct with Mantra and other then a couple of check in issues (being locked out the next morning as we forgot to go down and "check in" (our fault) and then being called to leave the next day as they had overlooked our deal had late checkout (their fault) we have no complaints. It was schoolies - no issues. Great views from the sixth floor - pool isn't flash but quiet and the kids enjoyed it. Pool is not beach side but fine for the kids. Great location - great deal through Mantra direct would definitely come again!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor 6+
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Dear CherylCBrisbane,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar. It was great to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and that the kids enjoyed their time in the pool.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review of your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar the next time you are in Mooloolaba.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 544 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

The start of our stay was great. We requested a refurbished apartment as we'd heard that from another reviewer. The request was granted. We were in 505. We arrived a little early and got into our room early. We were staying during schoolies week and were worried about the potential noise but were very pleased to hear the Mantra had a strict policy that they policed but we didn't have any problems with schoolies. The noisiest problem we had was with the airconditioner! The apartment was well appointed and had a fantastic view. My only gripe would be that the kitchen equipment was a bit lacking for doing more than heating something up in the microwave. A couple reasonable size saucepans, proper size dinner plates and a coffee plunger would be an improvement. But all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear Kris T,

Thanks for sharing the details of your great stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar with the TripAdvisor community. It was excellent to hear that you enjoyed the refurbished apartments, the central location and beautiful ocean views from the balcony.

Thank you also for your feedback on the kitchen items, we are currently conducting an audit of all apartments to ensure the items you mentioned are available.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar the next time your travel plans return you to Mooloolaba.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Zanzibar, is the best place to stay in Mooloolaba amoungst everything. Great views. The rooms are very big and spotless. I have stayed here about 4 times and would highly recommend staying here. Fantastic location. Great reception staff very friendly, especially a lady called Jan, She couldnt do enough for us, helped us with directions extra towels places to eat nothing was a trouble.
I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Have stayed in different rooms and all are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Libby P,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stays with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and for choosing us as your preferred accommodation when your travel plans bring you to Mooloolaba. It's great to hear that you enjoy the spacious apartments and fantastic location, and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar once again the next time you are in Mooloolaba.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Booked unit 706 through GQ Property Group who were so helpful and informative about all the units in various resorts that they had on offer. Booking process was efficient, easy and followed through with confirmation letters.
Unit was fairly clean and had the bonus of 3 balconies so you could always find a sunny spot to read. View fantastic.
Pool very disappointing as there is limited area for kids to play ( we dont have kids) and only 4 sun loungers available.
As a GQ customer, you collect keys etc from their office, and all enquiries go through them. They are really friendly and helpful. NOT so the Zanzibar reception staff who not only didn't want to know about issues with entry cards not working (which every guest appeared to have a problem with) but were very abrupt and rude when dealing with any enquiry we had. We really loved our stay here despite the service issues but will probably return to where we normally stay at Peninsular where we receive great service every time. Will definitely book through GQ again though.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stellarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Stellarine,

Thank you for review of your stay in an apartment managed by G1 Holidays at Zanzibar Mooloolaba. As you mention, as a G1 Holidays customer all check in and reception services are handled through their office located on The Esplanade rather than through the Reception located in the building which is for guests booking through Mantra Group. I apologise that you felt our staff were rude or abrupt when dealing with your requests, however please understand that we are unable to assist guests who book apartments through offsite agents such as G1 Holidays as we do not manage these apartments, nor can we be responsible for any issues that arise. With regard to the programming of the key cards, we are required to have G1 Holidays confirm via email before we can issue new cards to their guests and it is regrettable if this caused you inconvenience.

Stellarine, should you be looking to return to Mooloolaba please do not hesitate to contact Mantra Zanzibar directly so the next time you stay you can take advantage of the benefits that booking directly with us offers such as on-site check in and check out, full reception services and assistance with local attractions and tours.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

positive: good location, nice size (room 305) 2 bedroom
negatives: needed a clean, better vacuum when we got in, terribly dirty interior in skylight wells in the middle, constrution in room 205 below us at ridiculous hours on the night, complained to reception at 11.30pm one night, then 6am next morning, then 10.30 pm another nights and 11.15pm another night. paint peeling off walls, looks very worn down and unpleasant all around.can get better value elsewhere, at $1350 for 5 nights for a 2 bed on the 3rd floor...this is an absolute rip off to stay. upholstery on couches needs serious attention - just have a look at the photos

Room Tip: can get better value elsewhere, at $1350 for 5 nights for a 2 bed on the 3rd floor...this is an abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear T L,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and firstly please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately the noise taking place in the apartment below yours was out of our control, however I can see from our logs that on the occasions you contacted Reception our security staff were able to respond almost immediately and request that the noise cease.

With regards to your comments about the dirty interior of the atrium, you would have also noticed that during your stay we were in the process of having brand new gardens installed in all the atrium garden beds from level 3 - 10. As we had staff working continuously above during this time there was some debris in the area, and I hope this did not greatly detract from the enjoyment of your stay.

T L, thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts and if I can assist further in any way in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Overall our weekend at the Zanzibar was lovely. We stayed in apartment 903, which was renovated to a high standard and very clean on arrival, however, it wasnt cleaned or towels changed throughout our stay. A few more towels would have been appreciated. The view was excellent and enough chairs on the balcony for everyone - refreshing compared to other hotels I've stayed in before, who think 2 chairs is enough for a 2 bed apartment. Looking over the balcony at other apartments balcony furniture, some looked very dated, so there doesn't seem to be a consistent standard between units. The view and location is unbeatable and we didn't have any noise issues.
The young lady on reception on our arrival was very pleasant and happy to answer all our questions, however the older lady present on Saturday and Sunday was miserable, defensive, rude, self important and laughed in my face when I complained about a security problem with the room keys!! We then complained to her on check out about the same problem and we were asked to stand aside as she had a queue of people to deal with!! Basically we were dismissed, she couldn't have cared less, and we were just getting in the way of her job. Very poor customer service and downright rude. This really spoiled our overall experience. I think some customer service training is in order and a review of the complaints procedure.

Room Tip: high up floor for good views. not sure if the courtyard apartments are worth while as all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alishaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear alishaun,

Thank you for review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and found the view and apartment excellent. With regard to the servicing of the apartment, as they are self contained Housekeeping service is only provided on stays of 8 nights or more, however we are always able to provide items such as some additional towels via Reception if required.

It was certainly disappointing to read your comments regarding the experience you had with one of our staff members on Reception, and I sincerely apologise for this. Your comments will be discussed with them so the necessary training can take place to ensure this situation is not repeated, and should you wish to discuss the security problem with the room keys further you are welcome to contact me via the resort or TripAdvisor.

alishaun, thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I spent 2 nights in room 506 with 4 Mum-friends, escaping for a fun-filled weekend. The room needed an update and a really good clean. The floor was sandy on entry with tiles throughout the whole unit, even the bedrooms. When you got into bed you could feel it on your feet, yuk. The beds weren't great and I wouldn't say the layout was very spacious either. The only saving grace for this motel was the view (which was somewhat obscured by the trees at front) and the great choice of restaurants on the esplanade below. On arrival at about 10 minutes to 6 I was greeted by the receptionist who didn't seem to appreciate my timing as she'd already put our key in the night safe. She asked for my credit card as security -- standard practice, fine -- but then told me that $100 was going to be charged to the card straight away and then returned onto it a few days after departure, geez, what next! Lovely to be charged in anticipation of the damage you might do. Have stayed happily in many Mantra's before, won't be back to this one, and won't break my golden rule again, always check Tripadvisor before booking!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TouringWithShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear TouringWithShirley,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and firstly please accept my apologies that you found your stay disappointing. The majority of our guests find the apartments very spacious and I'm sorry to hear you did not feel this was the case. I have asked our Housekeeping Supervisor to look into the issue of the sandy floor, and to check the bedding in this apartment as we have not received negative feedback on the beds in the past.

I apologise for the situation upon arrival with the Reception staff, and if you felt that your arrival was an inconvenience to them. We take a pre-authorisation on a credit card upon arrival for all guests, this is not a charge and is released automatically by your bank after approximately 5 working days. Notice of this is provided to all guests in advance via our confirmation or that from a travel agent/website, and I apologise if you felt offended by this process.

TouringWithShirley, thanks again for your review and I hope this experience does not deter you from staying with the Mantra Group in the future. Should your plans return you to Mooloolaba please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I may ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 16 in Mooloolaba
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $162 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation choices including 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and penthouses. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing