We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family apartment”
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Zanzibar
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Family apartment”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We had a great stay at Zanzibar. Polite and friendly reception, spacious rooms for my little ones to run around. great layout and wonderful location. highly recommended : )

Room Tip: look on the internet for great specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Familytravels21,

Thank you for choosing Mantra Zanzibar for your recent stay in Mooloolaba, and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It was wonderful to hear that you had a great stay, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar when your travel plans return you to the Sunshine Coast.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    183
    62
    34
    14
See reviews for
274
92
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I have recently spent a few nights at Zanzibar with my sister and her children. We read, with interest, the mixed reviews and then booked with confidence through G1 holidays in Mooloolaba. They give you all the instructions you need to check in at any time. They have plenty of units in Zanzibar to choose from and lots of photos on their website. It's so easy, just ask them which ones have been renovated in the last few years and you will not be disappointed. The unit was spotlessly clean, with a good arrangement of cooking utensils and cutlery/crockery. Our unit had a full size fridge and oven, as well as a microwave, dishwasher (yeah) and 2 TV's and DVD players (no arguments over kid's movies). The kitchen is as big as a normal home one, which is great when you want to self-cater and don't want to spend lots of money eating out. We had no trouble cooking a roast one night using all the supplied baking trays etc.

Everything seemed to be very well maintained, so it's a pity that some of the private owners are giving Zanzibar a bad name. It won't stop us though, because we know how to get a quality unit. We slept really well on our comfy beds and have no complaints about anything.

The apartments are a minute away from the surf patrolled beach and there's lots of cafes and restaurants just downstairs. In my opinion it really is the best location on the esplanade.

Just a quick walk to the beach for the kids (and us) and they can go downstairs to get the newspaper and some lollies themselves, which they loved doing without the 2 Mums watching over them. The kids had a fantastic time swimming in the pool while we cooked a BBQ dinner and sipped on a glass (or two) of wine. I hope to go back again soon for a more extended period. Mooloolaba is a good mixture of fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Thank you for your review

Your comments have been flagged for review.

Kind Regards
Mantra Sirocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We booked 2 courtyard apartments for 2 families at the Zanzibar. When we arrived after 6pm on the first night we found that reception was closed. We had no idea how to get into our rooms. Luckily for us a Maintenance guy turned up and he eventually got us access to a safe which held our keys. Sadly, there was no information which was our apartment or which was for our relations who were planning to stay a little longer (8nts). After much consternation, the maintenance guy found out which apartment belonged to which family. What would we have done without his timely intervention I wonder?

The courtyard apartments overlook the sea (if you're tall you can see it) and also have a spa and a BBQ. Our spa was not working and we had a note to say that it would be repaired soon. (It never was, but reception did organise a refund for us regarding this).

The apartment itself was dirty. The cleaners do not do a good enough job in there. The furniture has never been moved just vacuumed around it. There were 15 large dead insects in the apartment when we went in there. (We later found a good few more under the beds!)

We complained to reception about the state of the cleaning and they agreed to send the cleaners in the apartment again. Little improvement. They did not move the furniture, you could see dust all over it. The carpet was not cleaned to its edge.

There was definitely an insect problem in the apartment (number 203), as we had an incident in there every day, and we did not leave the patio doors open either!

The outside courtyard area was filthy. It definitely had not been cleaned prior to our arrival (cigarette filters, bottle tops, dead insects etc), and even if the spa had been fixed in time we would not have gone in there. The whole place needed a good scrub.

The apartments were also very noisy, and you could hear people using the lifts, having conversations etc, especially when in the bedroom which overlooked the inner area of the apartment building. Very noisy at night!

The receptionists were grumpy and defensive. They were obviously used to people complaining as there was even something mentioned on the 'Welcome Information' about guests wishing to leave early..!!

The drainage smell was terrible from the second bathroom and needs some bleach down it . The curtains had not been cleaned for months, and the soft furnishing all need washing. In short, it was grubby. The receptionist said that the cleaners were not given enough time to clean the apartments properly. Whose fault is this?

The apartments were also not serviced during our visit. (Apparently you have to stay 8 nights or more to have clean towels and bedding changed etc and get a quick vacuum around).

This was our first time at a Mantra (and they had been highly recommended) - am not sure if and when we will chance another booking with this hotel group.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Debs186346,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Mantra Zanzibar with us, and it is certainly regrettable to read that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Firstly, please accept my apologies for any confusion you experienced upon arrival at the resort. The instructions for entry and check-in after hours are provided outside the main entry doors, and these are usually also included in the confirmation details you should have received from your agent upon booking. As the rooms were both booked under the same name the registration details reflected this, and again I apologise for any confusion this caused.

Please also accept my apologies for the issues you experienced with the cleanliness of the apartment. This is certainly not up to our usual standard, and it is disappointing that we were also unable to re-clean the apartment to your satisfaction. I have spoken both our Executive Housekeeper and supervisors regarding your feedback to ensure immediate improvements are made, and that this situation is not repeated.

I also apologise that we weren't able to get the spa operational until towards the end of your stay, however unfortunately we had to wait for some parts to arrive before the repair could be completed. It was also with disappointment that I read your comments regarding the Reception staff as we usually receive nothing but praise for their service, and this feedback has been shared with them. Regarding the comments about the servicing of the apartments, as all our apartments are self-contained there is no daily servicing included in the rates and apartments receive a full service mid-stay when staying 8 nights or more. If guests wish for daily or other services these are certainly available for an additional fee, and I apologise that these were not offered to you by your agent when booking.

Debs186346, thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I certainly hope this does not deter you from staying with the Mantra Group in the future. Should your travel plans return you to the Sunshine Coast we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back so we may demonstrate the true spirit of Mantra hospitality, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I may ensure your next stay is memorable for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Great location, the views are terrific and friendly service. But the rooms could do with a serious clean - the carpets were filthy, the walls and blinds were dirty and marked and the bathrooms could do with a shot of domestos. The exterior door handles were all salt affected and struggled to work (if at all). Clearly no one is following behind the cleaners with a pair of white gloves. The beds are average and probably need replacing. Our air con was broken when we arrived (perhaps they already knew this?) but they were very apologetic, admitted there was a problem and got a service guy there on Sunday afternoon which is pretty good for Qld. The views are unbeatable and its walking distance to everything. Probably just needs a good reno and some new cleaners. Wireless internet would also be useful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exctb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear exctb,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at Mantra Zanzibar, and firstly please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced on this particular stay. It was certainly disappointing to read your comments with regard to the cleanliness of the room, and this feedback has been communicated to our Executive Housekeeper so immediate action can be taken with the staff and supervisor involved.

Please also accept my apologies for the issue with the air-conditioner, we were not aware of this problem prior to your arrival however I’m glad we were able to arrange for it to be fixed immediately for you. It was great to read that you enjoyed the location, views and service that our staff are known for, and you will be pleased to know that we are hoping to have wireless internet installed throughout the building towards the end of the year.

exctb, thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Should your travel plans bring you back to the Sunshine Coast and Mooloolaba we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mantra Zanzibar.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Have just recently spent 2 nights at The Zanzibar with my wife for our birthdays and was rather disapointed , We found that a lot of the plates and cups were chipped and that the bathrooms needed a good dose of bleach down the drains for the smell , The pool and other facilities are great ! But we were woken up by somebody cleaning the courtyard area etc with a blower vaccum at 3-30 am in the morning we were on the 9th floor and had our doors open I `am glad we were not in a ground floor unit . After spending close to $500 for two nights I expected something better and feel that the units could do with a makeover

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Bobster61,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar. It was regretful to read your comments about the chipped crockery and smell from the drains in the apartment you stayed in, and these comments have been shared with our team to ensure the necessary corrective action takes place. It was also disappointing to hear of the unfortunate incident with the blower in the early hours of the morning, unfortunately this is staff from the council cleaning the footpath and roadways below and as such is beyond our control.

I was pleased to read your comments regarding the pool and other facilities, and you will be happy to know that we are 75% of the way through a refurbishment program to update all apartments. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future, and if your travel plans return you to the Sunshine Coast please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I may personally assist with your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed here as weekend away with 3 friends - our 2-bed apartment was on the 5th floor. The view from the balcony/living area was simply amazing! Straight onto the ocean. Yes, there are some Norfolk pines out there as well, so you might be partially blocked by one of them, but we didn't find that a problem. The lorikeets that gather in the trees at sunset are an additional draw, though their early-morning noise is not so welcome. Apartment fittings were all good quality and clean. The apartment was spacious, as was the kitchen area, and had 2 bathrooms, which is very handy. They also provide beach towels. We didn't try any serious cooking, so can't comment on availability of cooking utensils, etc. but plenty of crockery for low-preparation meals like breakfast, sandwiches, etc. Besides, the great location in the middle of the cafe strip means you don't have to go far for food. The main downside was the location of the 2nd bedroom (2 single beds) which has a window opening on to a central well in the building. The smell from the well was of stale cooking oil, plus the sound of people going to the lifts on surrounding floors echoed into the room, even with the window shut. The beds and pillows were a bit hard, too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksparkle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear ksparkle_11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay at Mantra Zanzibar as feedback from our guests is always appreciated and assists us in improving the services and facilities we offer. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views afforded by all apartments, and that you found the apartment comfortable and well-equipped. Based on your comments I have also asked the staff to investigate the cause of the smell in the atrium area, as well as the condition of the beds and pillows.

Thanks again for your valued feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Fantastic position overlooking ocean, close to shops and restaurants and beach. Great place to chill.
Hotel staff very nice and friendly.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank acornKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Dear acornKent,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Mantra Zanzibar certainly offers a prime location to enjoy all that Mooloolaba has to offer and I'm glad that you found all our staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar when your travel plans return you to the Sunshine Coast.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Property: Mantra Zanzibar
Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation with a strong East African influence in the heart of cosmopolitan Mooloolaba. Offering style on the beach, the property is close to everything your heart desires including shopping, restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Indulge in the latest fashions and giftware from around the world in the surrounding boutiques. Accommodation choices include 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all with quality furnishings and African inspired decor, air-conditioning, private balcony with panoramic ocean views and an indulgent spa bath. Other standard features include a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, cable TV, DVD player, internet access and hairdryer. If you're after more space, upgrade to our courtyard apartments which feature all of the above plus a private courtyard area with barbeque and outdoor spa or for the ultimate in luxury book our two or three bedroom penthouse. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing