We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot on the spit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber on the Spit
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Premer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best spot on the spit”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Perfect location....park the car.....walk the beautiful boardwalk to dinner/shops.....ammenities great....perfect place for children of all ages.
Hosts are so accomodating with your needs!!! We stayed in a mid-level apartment, had all the 'things' we needed.....but with such good fish and chips...or restaurants we didn't cook. Pool is a good size.

Room Tip: groundfloor if you have toddlers....easy to walk up from the beach/or if forgot something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for such a great reveiw, we always try our best to please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and 2 year old daughter stayed in 2 penthouse units in early January 2013. 1 unit had undergone a recent partial refurbishment (Dec 2012) so we preferred it to the other penthouse unit which was a little tired and in need of an update.
Location: It is in a great location when you have young children as is it very close to the beach and not far from the flags at Mooloolaba Spit. The boardwalk is near the rear of the property and an easy walk to Mooloolaba surf club and shops or to the fish shops in the other direction. It did not bother us that we did not have ocean views as the tree line gave privacy from the many walkers on the boardwalk. It is close to Underwater World which is great for kids and close to Scuba World for those of you that enjoy diving.
Kitchen: Well equipped which was good as we tended to eat in.
Aircon units in the living room and both bedrooms which was definitely needed during our stay.
Pool: I liked the pool area as it had a modern look. 3 pool noodles provided for use so my daughter was happy. Shower and toilet located in the pool area so that was handy.
Lifts: It was handy having a lift especially with younger child.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a recently refurbished unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw. Ours is a tough business, and to hear such great comments makes it all worth while
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was my best family holiday ever. The weather was amazing. We stayed for 12 days in a ground floor unit. The deck was huge with our own private BBQ, perfect for cooking for our kids. There were lots of other families staying and we missed out on one of the shared boogie boards but the manager Peter went out especially and bought a new pink one for our daughter (amazing service)... It made her holiday!!!
The beach is a short stroll through the trees and you can here the roar of the waves. The pool is bathed in glorious afternoon sun and always spotlessly clean. It's a short stroll to great restaurants and cafes. We can't wait to come back. Thank you Peter and sue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you, it is always so heartening when we receive this type of reveiw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked this accommodation on the advice of friends, but after reading some of these reviews we were a little concerned. We needn't have worried, the apartment (2 bedroom penthouse) was clean, spacious and reasonably modern. Despite the complex being full of other school holiday families, there was little noise. The managers could not have been more helpful. It is right on the beach with easy safe access. There is a relaxing view of coastal bush/trees. We also understand that a few of the apartments (including the one we stayed in) have yet to be refurbished but will be this year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for a very positive response.
We are upgrading all of the apartments.The bush in front of our resort does keep any prying eyes, but you can hear the waves, which is so peaceful..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomer on the Spit this weekend. We assumed, as the website was advertised, as "absolute beachfront" that we would have a view of the sea. Instead we were confronted with "absolute bushfront". No waterview at all from any of the apartments - even the penthouse! The apartment was VERY dated and dirty. Revolting "leather" sofa and chairs. Only one lamp worked, the tumble dryer door was broken, the hair dryer was broken, the air con unit in the bedroom didn't work properly and there was a bad odour coming from, we think, the bathrooms. Very disappointing and nothing like the internet photos. Unless you can get an apartment that has been updated and don't mind looking onto trees when you are expecting sea don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Yes, we are absolute beach front, but we never say you can see the ocean. The line of trees are in front of our property, but that is nature, and the trees keep our property quite.
As for dirty and dated we find this remark offensive. The apartment was about to have a refurbishment which we told the guest,it has now been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family recently stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and we were very disappointed. On arrival the apartment had a very bad odour, the kitchen bench was unclean, some dishes in the drawer still had egg stains on them and the windows were dirty. The fake leather lounge suit was disgusting and had large patches where the synthetic material had peeled off. Everytime someone sat on the couch more material peeled off. The bathrooms were dated and the clothes dryer was old and useless. The sheets and towels were old and stained, certainly not what one would expect for the price charged per night. I advise you to view the room before you pay up. Also be prepared to be hounded out of your room at 9.30am sharp on your departure day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borntotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for you review.The apartment in question has now been totaly refurbished, including the peeling lounge.
our check out time is 9.30am, and if you felt hounded I apologize.
We try to give our guests as much time to check out before our house keepers clean the rooms.
I would like to add all linen has now been replaced in all apartments.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Beachcomber. We have been holidaying in this area for 5 years and only just last year discovered the best kept secret of Mooloolaba. We have booked again for the school holidays and a repeat for our December break just before Christmas. The managers could not be more helpful, the DVD player broke down and within an hour of letting reception know we had a new DVD installed, the kids were delighted. It was very clean and the pool great

Room Tip: The Penthouse apartments with roof top area for BBQ's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We try very hard to please our guests.To hear such rave reviews makes it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.6 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#14 of 15 in Mooloolaba
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber on the Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber on the Spit

Property: Beachcomber on the Spit
Address: 70 Parkyn Pde, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beachcomber on the Spit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the beautiful Sunshine Coast Queensland. All our 18 apartments face the ocean, and we are on the beach with no roads to cross. All our apartments are air conditioned, flat screen TV, free cable, heated all year round pool, and secure parking. Only 20 min from the airport, and 5 min walk along a shaded walk way to cafes, restaurants, and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber on the Spit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber On The Spit Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing