We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber on the Spit
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this accommodation on the advice of friends, but after reading some of these reviews we were a little concerned. We needn't have worried, the apartment (2 bedroom penthouse) was clean, spacious and reasonably modern. Despite the complex being full of other school holiday families, there was little noise. The managers could not have been more helpful. It is right on the beach with easy safe access. There is a relaxing view of coastal bush/trees. We also understand that a few of the apartments (including the one we stayed in) have yet to be refurbished but will be this year.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for a very positive response.
We are upgrading all of the apartments.The bush in front of our resort does keep any prying eyes, but you can hear the waves, which is so peaceful..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Beachcomber on the Spit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at Beachcomer on the Spit this weekend. We assumed, as the website was advertised, as "absolute beachfront" that we would have a view of the sea. Instead we were confronted with "absolute bushfront". No waterview at all from any of the apartments - even the penthouse! The apartment was VERY dated and dirty. Revolting "leather" sofa and chairs. Only one lamp worked, the tumble dryer door was broken, the hair dryer was broken, the air con unit in the bedroom didn't work properly and there was a bad odour coming from, we think, the bathrooms. Very disappointing and nothing like the internet photos. Unless you can get an apartment that has been updated and don't mind looking onto trees when you are expecting sea don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Yes, we are absolute beach front, but we never say you can see the ocean. The line of trees are in front of our property, but that is nature, and the trees keep our property quite.
As for dirty and dated we find this remark offensive. The apartment was about to have a refurbishment which we told the guest,it has now been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family recently stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and we were very disappointed. On arrival the apartment had a very bad odour, the kitchen bench was unclean, some dishes in the drawer still had egg stains on them and the windows were dirty. The fake leather lounge suit was disgusting and had large patches where the synthetic material had peeled off. Everytime someone sat on the couch more material peeled off. The bathrooms were dated and the clothes dryer was old and useless. The sheets and towels were old and stained, certainly not what one would expect for the price charged per night. I advise you to view the room before you pay up. Also be prepared to be hounded out of your room at 9.30am sharp on your departure day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank borntotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for you review.The apartment in question has now been totaly refurbished, including the peeling lounge.
our check out time is 9.30am, and if you felt hounded I apologize.
We try to give our guests as much time to check out before our house keepers clean the rooms.
I would like to add all linen has now been replaced in all apartments.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Beachcomber. We have been holidaying in this area for 5 years and only just last year discovered the best kept secret of Mooloolaba. We have booked again for the school holidays and a repeat for our December break just before Christmas. The managers could not be more helpful, the DVD player broke down and within an hour of letting reception know we had a new DVD installed, the kids were delighted. It was very clean and the pool great

Room Tip: The Penthouse apartments with roof top area for BBQ's
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We try very hard to please our guests.To hear such rave reviews makes it all worth while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our family stayed at Beachcomber in Jan and highly recommend it. Our apartment had recently been renovated and was spotlessly clean. The managers were very friendly and advised us on the best things to do on the coast. The beach was right in front of us and the kids loved the pool. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kidsasleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for all your nice comments.
We are so close to beach, it almost comes in the door!!
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our stay was very average. We were told that we got low season rates in the Penthouse.If we would have paid high season rates we would have been very very unhappy. The Penthouse is in need of maintenance. Our tv blew up,we told the managers but nothing was done. The towel rail was broken on our arrival,we told the managers but again nothing was done. The clothes rack on the balcony which we used only once to dry our clothes and towels has now stained all of the clothes with rust !
Poor service and average accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Unfortunately, we were never told of the problems other wise the clothes rack and TV issues would of been solved

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have stayed at Beachcomber every January for the last 3 years.

Unfortunatly Jan 2011 will be our last. As far as position goes these are hard to beat. Right on the beach. They also have one of the best pools in Mooloolaba. Other than those 2 points there's not much else good to say. The units are looking dated and stale. The majority (not all) haven't had an upgrade in years. A deflated property market doesn't mean people want to pay 5 star prices for 3 star accomodation.

These units are top dollar at around $320 per night and at those sort of prices me and my family deserve better. The tourism industry keeps asking why more and more Australians are going overseas for their holidays.

Look no further than the overpriced accomodation on offer at Beechcomber for your answer.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the individual room you've booked. Some are good, some not.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

How long do we have to put up with these negative reviews.
If you knew me I move heaven and earth to make our guests feel welcome.
And as for cleanliness we are second to none
please remove these negative reviews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.6 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#10 of 16 in Mooloolaba
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#14 of 16 in Mooloolaba
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#6 of 16 in Mooloolaba
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber on the Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber on the Spit

Address: 70 Parkyn Pde, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $141 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beachcomber on the Spit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the beautiful Sunshine Coast Queensland. All our 18 apartments face the ocean, and we are on the beach with no roads to cross. All our apartments are air conditioned, flat screen TV, free cable, heated all year round pool, and secure parking. Only 20 min from the airport, and 5 min walk along a shaded walk way to cafes, restaurants, and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Beachcomber on the Spit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber On The Spit Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing