We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beachcomber on the Spit
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Beachcomber. We have been holidaying in this area for 5 years and only just last year discovered the best kept secret of Mooloolaba. We have booked again for the school holidays and a repeat for our December break just before Christmas. The managers could not be more helpful, the DVD player broke down and within an hour of letting reception know we had a new DVD installed, the kids were delighted. It was very clean and the pool great

Room Tip: The Penthouse apartments with roof top area for BBQ's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We try very hard to please our guests.To hear such rave reviews makes it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our family stayed at Beachcomber in Jan and highly recommend it. Our apartment had recently been renovated and was spotlessly clean. The managers were very friendly and advised us on the best things to do on the coast. The beach was right in front of us and the kids loved the pool. Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kidsasleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for all your nice comments.
We are so close to beach, it almost comes in the door!!
We pride ourselves on our cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our stay was very average. We were told that we got low season rates in the Penthouse.If we would have paid high season rates we would have been very very unhappy. The Penthouse is in need of maintenance. Our tv blew up,we told the managers but nothing was done. The towel rail was broken on our arrival,we told the managers but again nothing was done. The clothes rack on the balcony which we used only once to dry our clothes and towels has now stained all of the clothes with rust !
Poor service and average accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Unfortunately, we were never told of the problems other wise the clothes rack and TV issues would of been solved
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have stayed at Beachcomber every January for the last 3 years.

Unfortunatly Jan 2011 will be our last. As far as position goes these are hard to beat. Right on the beach. They also have one of the best pools in Mooloolaba. Other than those 2 points there's not much else good to say. The units are looking dated and stale. The majority (not all) haven't had an upgrade in years. A deflated property market doesn't mean people want to pay 5 star prices for 3 star accomodation.

These units are top dollar at around $320 per night and at those sort of prices me and my family deserve better. The tourism industry keeps asking why more and more Australians are going overseas for their holidays.

Look no further than the overpriced accomodation on offer at Beechcomber for your answer.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the individual room you've booked. Some are good, some not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
How long do we have to put up with these negative reviews.
If you knew me I move heaven and earth to make our guests feel welcome.
And as for cleanliness we are second to none
please remove these negative reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a fabulous location.On the beach no roads to cross.very welcoming managers, could not do enough for us.lift to our door.
We highly reccomend this lovely resort

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We recently stayed in this apartment for 10 nights. First impressions not so good with the main bedroom containing labels on the floor that had been removed from the previous guests newly purchased clothes.
Could not keep anything in the fridge as the thermostat was broken and EVERYTHING froze, switch in kitchen and bathroom gave a slight electric shock each time we turned them on, the washing machine danced and banged to the other side of the room when it was on and the lounge - old and worn - had a chipboard slab placed under it to stop the sag! Very slack. Light bulbs were blown, toe nails not cleaned on the balcony etc.
Management were friendly enough but never available - peak season should see someone in the office constantly. Left a message on the answering machine which was never returned. Rubbish stacked up in the garage for up to 3 days prior to being removed.
Great position but in desperate need of some TLC. I don't recommend the middle floor as the insulation is not so great and we were woken each morning by young children about us running in the apartment and bouncing balls.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshine255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, Owner at Beachcomber on the Spit, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Interesting this review, the guests ask for a very cold refrigerator, and they got one.
As for the dancing washing machine, well this was another of their requests.As for noisy children,
were they ever children once.
The rubbish in the carpark was due to an industrial dispute.Blown light bulbs are easily fixed if the guests tell the management, but they do lend a certain abeyance to a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 16, 2005

We were visiting some friends in Australia the first 2 weeks of March. While we did spend most of our time in Brisbane, the 4 of us did head to Mooloolaba so we could take our time checking out the Australia Zoo and try our hand at surfing.

After searching we found a great rate at the Beachcomber on the Spit, for a 2 bedroom apartment..perfect for 2 Canadians and 2 Australians to enjoy ourselves without getting in each other's way.

Upon check in we were made very welcome, and efficiently given our keys and directions to our room, as well as a remote for the underground parking. The boogie boards that were free to use were pointed out to us, and an offer was made to help us if we needed suggestions on what to do.

The apartment was perfect. One bedroom with queen bed and seperate bathroom, one bedroom with 2 twin beds (that we just pushed together), another bathroom with washer and dryer, and another toilet room (this was a new thing to the Canadians as nowehere in Canada do homes or hotels have the toilet in a seperate room...kind of neat, really). Our room overlooked the beach though we really couldn't see it for the trees...which was not a bad thing, really as the walk to the beach was about 2 minutes from room to sand. There is a wooden pathway that runs through the trees that you have to cross to get to the beach but it's an easy walk. The hotel had a small salt water pool that was refreshing after coming in off the beach (though you are asked to rinse the sand off before stepping on the hotel property).

Our room had a fully equipped kitchen, a CD player, and large screen TV. A balcony with patio furniture was perfect for playing cards in the evening.

It was an easy walk to shops and restaurants, and an even quicker drive. There was no place to surf around the hotel but a 5 minutes drive took us to anotuher area where the waves were great for beginners...I can't remember the name of the area but if you just ask around you'll be pointed in the right direction.

The room was very clean and we had no problems with anythign. Checking in and out was a breeze and we always felt very welcome. We would go back in a second!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.6 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#13 of 15 in Mooloolaba
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber on the Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber on the Spit

Property: Beachcomber on the Spit
Address: 70 Parkyn Pde, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beachcomber on the Spit 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the beautiful Sunshine Coast Queensland. All our 18 apartments face the ocean, and we are on the beach with no roads to cross. All our apartments are air conditioned, flat screen TV, free cable, heated all year round pool, and secure parking. Only 20 min from the airport, and 5 min walk along a shaded walk way to cafes, restaurants, and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber on the Spit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber On The Spit Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing