We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landmark Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Landmark for 4 nights in November 2009 as a weekend away from the cooler weather in Victoria.
We chose this hotel as it was in the best location opposite the surf beach - it was a 60 second walk and you're on the sand.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. It was really spacious and had a lovely kitchen that overlooked the lounge room. The bedroom was large and had a decent sized bathroom. The balcony was fairly roomy and had a great outlook over the beach and canal.
The pool in the Landmark was lovely and had a waterfall - we only used this once though as we spent most of our time at the beach.
The beach was great! There are surf life guards all along the beach and the area between the flags was nice and large to swim in.
The sun does come up before 6am so be prepared to wake up early!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    374
    123
    57
    34
See reviews for
258
405
43
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We booked a one bedroom ocean view and upon arrival were upgraded to the rooftop with spa and bbq. The views were great. The bedroom and living room had sea views. The kitchen is small and not well equipped which makes cooking a bit challenging. We had breakfast and lunch in the room most days and dinner out or takeaways.
The drains smelt a bit yuk. The spa bath in the room was nice.
Old people might find it difficult to step out of the shower/bath - as it is very steep!
I would recommend this place if you want a simple one bedroom apartment with great views and a great location!
the gym is good too

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeking_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Our stay at Landmark was very relaxing and exactly what we were expecting.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Rooftop apartment, with the spa and BBQ area on the roof accessed by a spiral staircase. This was fantastic - with gorgeous views of the ocean, the spa was the perfect place to sit in the afternoon and relax. Whilst our 1 bedroom apartment was quite small, I think this was reflected in the photos on Landmark's website, so we were not disappointed and would not expect much bigger from a 1 bedroom apartment anyway.

I think that previous reviewers who have complained about the lack of servicing and the need to pay for beach towels have never stayed in an self-contained apartment before. Lanndmark is exactly what one would expect from this style of accommodation. The only complaint I have is that the kitchen was not as well stocked as other self-contained apartments I have stayed in, which really limits what you are able to cook in the kitchen. I was quite surprised that nothing was provided to wipe down the kitchen or wash up and this was something we needed to go to the supermarket to buy.

That said, it was a great apartment with gorgeous views. I am very fussy about the cleanliness of accommodation and had absolutely no complaints whatsoever about the cleanliness of this apartment.

Whilst this is by no means luxury accommodation, it is still very comfortable and relatively modern. The bed and pillows were very comfortable which was a nice surprise.

Landmark is not what I would consider cheap accommodation, but I think it is pretty good value given the high price of accommodation in Mooloolaba. I would definitely recommend the extra expense of the rooftop apartment if you love a good spa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WantingToTravelMore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

While every hotel in mooloolaba has a stunning website boasting excellent ocean views, the Landmark definitely isn't exaggerating!

My husband and I spent a week in a one bedroom apartment ($210 p/nt). The website said these rooms have 'full or partial ocean views', so we were just thrilled when we arrived in our apartment to find almost 180° views of the ocean! The hotel is only about 20m from the beach, just across a single lane road, so from your room you have beautiful vistas and can watch the sun rise over the sparkling blue water. The balcony is perfect for relaxing in the evening where you can listen to the waves, watch trawlers entering the river further up the coast, and even view luxury cruise liners or tankers heading towards Brisbane.

The resort has a large pool area that is perfect for little ones, or just for relaxing out of the surf. There is a heated spa that can accomodate large groups. If you get a room overlooking the pool you get to see the sunset over the lake area.

Dining out is fantastic - the hotel is on the esplanade, which holds all the restaurants of mooloolaba, as well as ice cream shops, juice bars, sushi bars, and cocktail bars. The restaurants have big boards advertising specials for lunch and dinner each day, with plenty of fresh seafood on offer as well as other meats/vegetarian options. Also, while the resort itself doesn't have a restaurant, our room had a home delivery menu from about 10-12 local restaurants that will deliver to the hotel if you want a night in.

The room has a very well equipped kitchen including fridge/freezer, oven, microwave, cooktop etc so it is easy to cater for yourself. There are also free bbqs up on the roof, or down on the beach. There is a small grocer and a 7-11 supermarket a short stroll up the esplanade, and a very large coles supermarket only 5 minutes walk away. The hotel staff were really helpful in giving directions, and it is quite easy to find.

The staff were really friendly throughout our trip. They are happy to mind your room key when you go to the beach, give suggestions on attractions or dining, and were ultra helpful when we needed to access their first aid kit (thanks Kerry).

There is plenty to do around the place too - Underwater world is only a ten minute stroll away and has seal shows and otter shows which were fantastic for kids and the young at heart. A cruise along the river shows off all the mansions from the rich and famous, and nothing beats a long stroll along the beach.

I would just mention that these are serviced apartments so you get one toilet roll, one very small guest soap and one single-use sachet of dishwashing detergent to last you for your trip. If you stay 8 nights they will give you another lot. So, staying 5 nights, we did need to stock up on these and I wished I'd brought spare towels as they aren't refreshed during your stay either.

However, these are nothing when compared with how beautiful the location is, easy access to a safe beach with large patrolled swimming area, and close proximity to restaurants. I would strongly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Landmark was everything we needed. We stayed here for the weekend in a 3 bedroom beachfront room. Balcony was huge and perfect for afternoon drinks! The resort is on the Esplanade so it's close to everything in Mooloolaba. Room was clean, in good condition and showers were great.
We didn't swim because it was the middle of Winter! But the pool looked great.
Everything was exactly as described on their website.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceSprings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Hadn't been to Mooloolaba before so i wasn't sure what to expect. Saw that Landmark was close to beach so decided to stay there. Wow, the location is fantastic; don't need to drive anywhere unless to Australia Zoo or the Hinterland. Everything else was close by; beautiful safe beach directly opposite, wonderful restuarants in the building and some great shopping on the esplanade. The only downfall for our trip was the weather; wettest in 30 years, just my luck. But the staff at Landmark were great; very helpful and friendly, the rooms were good, with great views. I have read some other reviews in Trip Advisor in relation to this property and having used Trip Advisor as a guide in the past, i have come to learn that many people often aren't happy no matter where they stay (especially if the weather is bad) and will vent using this forum. I have stayed at places (like this one) where someone has absolutely canned it, but the majority have enjoyed, so i take a punt and find them to be great value for money and nothing like the disaster there made out to be. Anyway each to their own. I would stay here again, no problem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We could not have been more dissapointed in the Landmark. We booked the Roof top with private spa pool and balcony. Apon arrival it was raining the Ranch slider was left open and did not shut so the man had to come and fix it. By then the Carpet was wet, you get two towels for the week or else you are charged for another, The pivate spa does not have any kind of shelter over it... Sunburn...As it was rainning quite hard we decided to have a bath in the SHUB so we squashed up in there to be greeted to full on Mould at eye level. If your over 5ft10 your legs hang over the end of the Bed. They have a beautiful stair case in their foyer and a lovely pool and take it from us that is all it has going for it! Other guests in the lift were asking us what we thought as they were also VERY dissapointed and one said he would never be back. We were fortunate enough to get a refund on Two nights of the three we had remaining so we still lost out but, our honeymoon began when we checked into Oceans and WOW!! No conparrison, worlds apart.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RTSWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaA, Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
It is important to us that our guests that stay at Landmark Resort leave us feeling as though they have escaped their everyday lives and leave Mooloolaba feeling refreshed. However if the expectation is that Landmark is a "Hotel" envirnoment then this we are not. All of our apartments are self contained, fully equipped with Laundering facilities and kitchen facilities, our apartments are not serviced daily unless staying for 8 nights or more, they are in effect a home away from home free from the everyday interruptions of a hotel style complex, which typically only have coffee making facilities and dry cleaning options for laundering. All of our Apartments are equipped with start up packs which includes linen but these items are not replaced it is expected that the laundry facilities are utilised in the apartments. It was very unfortunate that the sliding door was left open an inch allowing for the rain to come in slightly, our aplogoies were given immediately upon hearing of this and attention given to the problem. Our rooftop apartments are advertised with a rooftop BBQ area which is covered in ( see photos on our website) these guests after arriving were upset that they had to access this area via a spiral staircase and have a fear of heights which immediately caused them dissatifaction, our beds are standard Queen size beds which we advertise as having and are no different than other Queen size beds in other resorts, these guests advised us that our Queen size beds are smaller than those made in NZ??
I know we can not please everyone although of goal is to be able to, the Guests that stayed in the very same apartment after these guests raved about the apartment, the rooftop area as well as the fantastic views. I am sorry but we believe that we have in no way misrepresented ourselves and standby our product 100%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#13 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Property: Landmark Resort
Address: Cnr Esplanade & Burnett St, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landmark Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort is located directly opposite Mooloolaba's beautiful beachfront and is comprised of 132 apartments and suites with hinterland, pool, river or ocean views. All apartments and suites are self-contained, with air conditioning, cable television and modern fittings. Some rooms feature a spa bath. Resort facilities include a gymnasium, outdoor spa, sauna, rooftop spa, barbecue entertaining area, games room, day spa and secure car parking. Mooloolaba's relaxed family atmosphere has long been a popular holiday destination for Queenslanders and it is now emerging as the 'must visit' destination for the rest of Australia. Landmark Resort is situated on the beachfront amongst Mooloolaba's finest restaurants, cafes and exclusive boutiques. Step across the road to the magnificent year-round patrolled beach, which has won multiple awards for being Queensland's cleanest and friendliest. Waiting for you around the corner is Underwater World, which provides a thrilling entree to the world below the sea. The daily seal shows, along with the otter displays and the wondrous underwater tunnel, provide a fun day's entertainment for the whole family. Adjoining Underwater world is The Wharf where you can enjoy restaurants, shopping and live entertainment, or just simply relax on the deck with a drink and watch the world go by. Mooloolaba is only a short drive to Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo and the superb Sunshine Coast hinterland. Landmark Resort is an hour's drive north of the Brisbane Airport, or a 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Resort Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Landmark Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing