We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for the sunshine coast”
Review of Landmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Landmark Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment which I had booked online at a really good price. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be on the 10th floor which an amazing view out over the mountains and the river.

The room was compact but fine for a long weekend trip with my two small kids. It had a bedroom, a small living area with a kitchenette and a bathroom with a washing machine and small corner spa bath/shower, large enough for me to also comfortably put a portacot for the baby. The room was clean and well kept, the bed was ver comfortable (apart from having a 2 year olds feet in my back :)). I think that each room is independently owned so the furniture would be different for each apartment. The kitchen was small but large enough to make breakfast, and even had a small cooktop. The patio was quite big and a beautiful place to sit. The only negatives were that the couch was uncomfortable (it was a saggy sofa bed) and the washing machine cycle went for 5 hours! Also as this is not like a hotel, they can't provide cots but rather hire them for you at a cost (we ended up borrowing one).

The staff were all friendly, and the resort had a nice pool although we didn't use any of the facilities. Car parking was also great and easy to get to considering the beachfront can get very busy.

The location is superb, with all the shops and restaurants/cafes just downstairs and an amazing beach over the road. My daughter also loved the playground next to the beach and there were lots of beautiful walks to be had. I stay in this part of the world a lot to see family, and I really liked everything about this resort and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 953 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I've given alot of thought to this review because overall we had a wonderful weekend and I'd love to give the Landmark Resort a 10 out of 10. However, there were some incidences that occurred during our stay that I feel are worth mentioning. 

Our package deal included 2 nights accommodation, dinner at Hot Pipis on one night, beakfast at a local cafe each morning and a late checkout at 12 noon. We booked to stay in a 1 bedroom rooftop apartment and we checked in to room 10133. 

We were very excited to be staying in a rooftop apartment marketed as having it's very own private rooftop with hot tub and BBQ, and decided to cook up a BBQ dinner one night.  After turning the BBQ on and finding that it wasn't heating up we called reception to ask for some help and were advised to just give it another 10 minutes. 20 minutes later we had fixed it ourselves. 

It's also worth noting that while the rooftop is for your exclusive use, it's not really private in the true sense of the word. While dining on our rooftop we were surprised to look over and see that we were being watched by the people staying in the apartment next door,  and from their vantage point they had a clear view of our entire 'private' rooftop area.

Retiring to the lounge room for the evening we flicked on the television but were unable to locate any cable tv channels which was a little disappointing given that the rooms are advertised as having cable tv.

Sunday morning we ducked downstairs for some breakfast and a walk along the beach with plans to head back to our room and spend some time relaxing in our hot tub before checking out. I was totally lost for words when I walked up onto our rooftop and found a man cleaning the hot tub at a quarter to 10. It appears there was a little confusion about our late checkout and he did apologise afterwards but the whole experience contributed to taking away that feeling of having our own private area. 

After checking out and handing in our room keys I asked to purchase 2 stubby holders. I'd noticed these listed in the merchandise section of our compendium at $5.00 each. The lady behind the counter wasn't sure of the price at first, but it was soon established that the correct price was in fact $8.50 each.  I pointed out that the compendium in our room had them listed at the cheaper price and it was suggested that I should just run upstairs and grab it to show the girls behind the desk. While I understand her logic in not simply believing that what I said was correct,  the tone and manner in which she suggested that I should just run on up to the 10th floor and fetch the compendium down was rather rude and not the best example of customer service to say the least.  

In the end, not wanting to waste anymore time on the matter we paid the $8.50 each and left with a less than favorable impression of the Landmark Resort. I do hope that she did go up and check the price list herself after we left. 

Overall we did have a wonderful weekend. The Landmark Resort is in a great position,  the hot tub is relaxing despite not being private, our room was relatively clean and the bed was comfortable. The views were amazing from both our  balcony and our rooftop, and the local restaurants serve delicious food and great coffee. It's a shame that our experience here on this occasion was tarnished by the slightly misleading advertising and poor customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of 7 stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 3 nights recently. The foyer and pool area are impressive, but our apartment was a bit disappointing. Lots of narrow hallways with grubby walls and no artwork made it feel tired and old. Beds were comfortable and the lounge, dining and kitchen area was spacious. I needed the turn the air-conditioner off at night as it was so loud I could barely sleep. I was charged $20 per night for a portacot at the end of our stay and wasn't told about this beforehand. What a rip off!
I was surprised and very concerned that all the windows in the apartment opened right up and didn't have any safety lock to stop children from falling out! There were so many windows and furniture in front of many of them and with 5 children in the apartment this made me nervous.
The location of these apartments was fantastic and level one goes straight out into the restaurant and shopping strip on the esplanade. It is also across from a great park and only a short walk to the mariner. The best meal we had was from Montezumas Mexican, soooo good! The kids loved the pool and spas.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good location, tired fit out and needing a clean. An average quality place to stay in need of care, repair and attention. With some care and attention & customer service this would be a great place - pity they just do not get the need to provide at least a clean room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have just returned back to brisbane after staying 2 night at the resort on the top level with the jacuzzi . On arrival into our room we found 4 dirty wine glasses in the sink , I called reception and was not given an apology , I was advised they would let house keeping know , it was not until the following day at 12 noon that the glasses were removed . We were not offered a discount or even a bottle of champagne . For the money we paid the service was too poor . The room I feel are dated and over priced with a lot of noise travelling from the street . I attempted to call reception with no answer , when we were checking out as we wanted to use the dish washer the room is set up where if u swipe card the power is activated , as we had no card as both had to be returned we were not able to use this facility . When I informed reception when handing back the card they were not at all helpful . They have a gym on site and no water available , informing another guest to fill water bottles in the toilet . The money guests are paying for rooms the service is poor. There is also a charge if you need to use wifi . Once again another rip off . Overall a ever poor experience !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meady86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location of this hotel excellent, close to both beach and restraunts. I would highly recommend staying here as a family holiday. Our 2 children 9 and 4 had a great time, with excellent pool and spas to keep them occupied. Across the street is a great park which is on the beach. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollywood454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

When visiting Mooloolaba we make a point of staying at The Landmark Resort. It is good value for money especialy their package deals when staying for two or more nights.
It is ideally situated, opposite the beautiful beach as well as the Surf Club. Set amonst the many restaurants and cafes, a person would want for nothing in the way of refreshments.
Landmark is located only a short stroll from Underwater World where a very enjoyable time can be guaranteed.
The Staff are friendly and courteous and most helpful when booking in. There is undercover car parking, The Resort is also close to public transport in the event you don't have a vehicle.
Very enjoyable times spent at the Landmark Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#14 of 16 in Mooloolaba
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Address: Cnr Esplanade & Burnett St, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $95 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landmark Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort is located directly opposite Mooloolaba's beautiful beachfront and is comprised of 132 apartments and suites with hinterland, pool, river or ocean views. All apartments and suites are self-contained, with air conditioning, cable television and modern fittings. Some rooms feature a spa bath. Resort facilities include a gymnasium, outdoor spa, sauna, rooftop spa, barbecue entertaining area, day spa and secure car parking. Mooloolaba's relaxed family atmosphere has long been a popular holiday destination for Queenslanders and it is now emerging as the 'must visit' destination for the rest of Australia. Landmark Resort is situated on the beachfront amongst Mooloolaba's finest restaurants, cafes and exclusive boutiques. Step across the road to the magnificent year-round patrolled beach, which has won multiple awards for being Queensland's cleanest and friendliest. Waiting for you around the corner is Sea Life, which provides a thrilling entrée to the world below the sea. The daily shows, along with other displays and the wondrous underwater tunnel, provide a fun day's entertainment for the whole family. Mooloolaba is only a short drive to Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo and the superb Sunshine Coast hinterland. Landmark Resort is an hour's drive north of the Brisbane Airport, or a 20 minute drive from the Sunshine Coast Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Resort Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Landmark Hotel Mooloolaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing