We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the Fuss?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Osprey Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osprey Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Why the Fuss?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I don't really understand the rating of this hotel on TA. #1 in Mooloolaba really??? I have to say the rating is why we gave it a go for our 4 night stay. A number of factors led to us leaving after 3 nights though.
Firstly, this hotel is on the main road/esplanade, with a set of lights out the front where motorbikes and trucks like to rev up the hill after a red light. You can't sit on your verandah and enjoy any peace as it's constant traffic. You can shut the doors and it's fine, but what's the point in that? The second noise issue comes from internally - pipes groaning and squeaking at all hours whenever our neighbours had a shower or used the bathroom. Usually 11pm and 5.30am. We could also hear their voices late at night. Because you have to keep all doors and windows closed, the bedroom is stinking hot. There is aircon and a ceiling fan, both of which are rattly and noisy and impossible to sleep through.
Lastly, noise from kids at the pool. The Sunday we checked in kids were squealing and yelling for hours in the afternoon. Maybe okay if they're your kids but not so great for us.
The décor in our room was very out of date - very clean but so odd. Each room had different curtains, circus curtains in the lounge, old plastic orange chairs on the veranda. Brown floral curtains in the bedroom, awful. The ensuite had mould all over the sliding shower door - not the cleaners fault, you can't get the mould out of those sliding doors once it's in. They need to be replaced. It was very far from luxurious.
The location is a 10-15 min walk to the shops/cafes of Mooloolaba, which is fine, but there are a number of hotels much closer in the same category - Landmark, Mantra... They say there is a beach 'across the road' - but it is not a swimming beach, there are no flags. So if you have kids and armfuls of junk to take with you, you will probably need to drive down to the flagged area.
So, all this led to us leaving a night early, and on checkout we weren't even asked why we were leaving early. I wasn't expecting or going to ask for a refund - fully aware of their 'no refunds for early departures' policy stated when I checked in. I didn't even want to bring up the issues on checkout as there was nothing they could've done to make it better - all rooms will have the traffic noise if your doors are open.
Lesson learnt - stick to the hotels down near the beach/surf club... Or go further up the coast to Peregian or Coolum if you want somewhere luxurious and quiet.

Room Tip: Great rooms in lots of other hotels down the Esplanade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey321, Manager at Osprey Apartments, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Antsuz78

Osprey Apartments is strata titled, which means every apartment is individually owned, furnished and decorated to the owner's taste. We apologise that the apartment you were allocated was not to your particular taste. Osprey apartments is located one block from the nearest restaurants , cafes and shops. We will investigate the bedroom aircon and fan issue that you experienced and we would encourage you to advise management of any problems when they occur in the future. Guests have occasionally left early in the past for various family and personal reasons and we do not make it our policy to pry. We are a family resort and therefore there will be noise from the pool as it gets all day sun and is extremely popular with children and adults alike.

Best regards
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    99
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
185
84
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Osprey Apartments is amazing! We made our first visit to Mooloolaba recently and spent 3 glorious days stationed on the 3rd floor in a very spacious, spotlessly clean, 2 bedroom apartment with beautiful ocean views. It was very handy, just a short walk to Coles and the shops along the Esplanade and the beach was just across the road. We loved it! We will definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom ocean view room had 2 lounge rooms with a flat screen TV in each.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our recent 7 night stay was our second at the Osprey and won't be our last, we really enjoy everything about these apartments. We stayed again in one of the ground floor 2br garden apartments and just love the space inside an out. The location is great just a short walk away from all the amenities of Mooloolaba. The Pool is fantastic with a great shallow and safe kids area that our 4yo loved, it was a chore getting her out of it every day. The managers are lovely and always helpful and reception has kids beach stuff for free (Bucket and spade, small boogie boards)

See you again soon we hope.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a week in the Osprey Apartments. Our room on the 4th floor had fantastic sea views, was well appointed, clean and tidy. It was an easy walk to the shops and restaurants on the Esplanade and a short drive to Mooroochydore. The pool was a great place to cool down and is very safe for those with young children. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend these apartments.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Tas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Osprey Apartments is by far the best place to stay in Mooloolaba. This was our fourth visit to the Sunshine Coast. It provides the perfect location with spacious, spotless apartments with so many extras including outdoor settings and sun lounges on all the decks. Our apartment was on the 4th floor and we were able to look out over the ocean to watch the whales every morning. The pool and barbecue areas were also spacious and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and always helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor apartments have magnificent views and are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fletchers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We have spent 10 lovely days in a large apartment with fantastic ocean views and great facilities. The location is great only a short walk to the patrolled beach. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaken93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just spent seven nights in a two bedroom apartment on the second floor of Osprey Apartments and it was the best holiday apartment we have ever rented. The location and second floor gave us a great view of the beach and bordering gardens and path and we were a short walk to the shops and patrolled beach.

The apartment is large and has plenty of equipment e.g. plates, cups, bowls etc., not the usual 4 but a dozen or so of each.

With an ensuite bathroom/toilet and a full bathroom with laundry and a separate toilet we were will equipped for three adults. The lounge area has plenty of quality seating, there is a front balcony large enough for four adults to have breakfast in the morning sun. there is also a back balcony with table and chairs.

The complex has five lifts, each dedicated to pairs of apartment on each of the 6 floors and underground parking is adjacent to your personal lift.

Bright, sunny, spotlessly clean, quiet, well equipped. I could go on but instead, we'll just come back.

Room Tip: Anywhere second floor or above gives great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fijimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#4 of 30 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peninsular Beachfront Resort
Peninsular Beachfront Resort
#2 of 30 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seamark On First
Seamark On First
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Apartments

Property: Osprey Apartments
Address: Corner The Esplanade & Buderim Ave, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osprey Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short walk from the heart of Mooloolaba is Osprey Apartments, an outstanding holiday resort. Set around landscaped gardens are select facilities for your enjoyment. Spend your downtime relaxing with a good book on a sun-lounge around the resort pool. Other facilities include a heated spa, fitness room and a BBQ entertainment area. The fully equipped one, two and three bedroom apartments present a fresh and contemporary feel with all the creature comforts of a home away from home. The open plan living, dining and kitchen area opens onto the private balcony boasting alluring views. Every apartment offers the little extras such as cable television and DVD players. Wake up to the sound of the rolling surf on the famous Mooloolaba Beach, then step outside onto your patio or balcony and watch the sun rise over the glistening waters of the Pacific Ocean. Only a 5 min drive from the Coast's largest shopping and movie centre and a quick walk to Mooloolaba Beach, Underwater World and the Wharf. Montville and the Glass House Mountains are only half an hour away. No car, no problem, Osprey is only 100m from the local bus stop. Whether you want relaxation, adventure or excitement Osprey Apartments is the ideal base for your Sunshine Coast holiday. Our friendly staff are happy to assist you with all your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osprey Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Oceanview Apartments Mooloolaba
Osprey Oceanview Apartments Hotel Mooloolaba
Osprey Apartments Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing