We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best - but worth a try.”

Journey to Bollywood
Ranked #29 of 169 Restaurants in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fully themed authentic Indian restaurant. Family owned business, with owners having more than 20 years experience in the hospitality industry. A memory-creating restaurant that invokes all the senses. Ambiance and decor to give the authentic Indian feel. Delicious traditional Indian cuisine cooked fresh and prompt attentive service.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not the best - but worth a try.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Im a local and decided to try the new restaurant for takeaway...fast efficient service...but unfortunatly when you know the places that you love with indian and try something new you become disspointed. It wasnt a wow flavor i was looking for as I had the vegi korma and butter chicken...was oily and I think I prefer to stick all time favorite Hathi Indian... but if I had to choose a Indian restaurant in Mooloolaba..I would reccommend yours first.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicka2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    43
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant - some of the best Indian I have ever had. Try the Potato masala dosa - a beautiful dish. Owner and staff are excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanAndKarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bollywood Magic”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well we went to Bollywood, great atmosphere, great service and good food. We wanted to try everything, but one tandoori platter, 2 curries, 1 garlic naan, 1 cumin rice & 1 mango chutney, we were in Bollywood. Service was good, food was well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Anyone wanting to try an Indian experience this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topcat2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Graet atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We decided to give the new Indian a go, from outside it does look a bit tacky but once inside its really well decorated, the staff were all really helpful and polite and looked great in their Indian theme uniforms. The food was really good. I must say I was impressed, I'm normally happy to keep to my regular Indian but I'm glad we gave this place a try. The food had lots of flavour and we really enjoyed ourselves?

The owner (I'm assuming) came over and took the kids orders first which they thought was great. Nice touch.

Ok so it can't be a perfect 10. Only comments. The rice didn't come out with the meal we had to wait then ask for it, then await some more. It finally arrived and luckily our food was still hot so all good. That's my only bad comment.

Loved this place will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaotung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bollywood at its best”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from dinner at Journey to Bollywood. We loved it! Carnivore son and vegetarian daughter were well catered for. Freshness of the vegetarian meals was fantastic.

We also enjoyed the setting (one of the best decors we've seen) and the Indian music (not too loud).

Prices were reasonable and service was great. Highly recommended. If we were staying here longer we'd definately go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Journey to Bollywood also viewed

Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Journey to Bollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing