We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot for a drink and a snack”
Review of The Lounge Bar & Dining - CLOSED

The Lounge Bar & Dining
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Lounge Bar and Dining wants you to experience fine dining in a relaxed formal atmosphere –amazing cuisine, beer, wine and cocktails - with friendly, attentive service.Fresh local seafood and produce and tender tasty steak, combined with flavours that will amaze you, makes The Lounge Bar and Dining the perfect venue for an intimate meal or a fun night out with friends.Our varied selection of menus can be tailored to suit your wishes and needs, from tempting Canapé Platters and Tapas to full A La Carte menu. Please contact us to discuss your special function.With sophisticated décor and separate bar and function rooms, we cater for groups from 20 to 130 guests – with no Venue Hire Fees.The Lounge Bar and Dining is located in the Cilento Resort in the heart of the Mooloolaba accommodation houses, one street behind the Mooloolaba Esplanade and away from the hustle and bustle of its’ cafes and shops.Bookings are essential on Friday and Saturday nights.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot for a drink and a snack”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We only went to The Lounge once during the day for a drink and a snack and we really enjoyed it. We walked past it every day as it was a few doors from Seamark where we stayed. . Its a nice upmarket looking bar with a variety of seating options from couches, bar stools or regular tables inside or outside.We will definitely come again next time we are in Mooloolaba. Hopefully it wll survives even though its off the main drag.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genine51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food -”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had dinner here on holidays and the food was excellent. Great value for money and well presented. The only let down was the service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunchy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

When planning a night out with friends to celebrate my birthday, I settled on the Lounge Bar after reading several rave reviews. While we had a great night, the restaurant certainly didn't live up to our expectations.
First impressions were good - bar staff friendly and helpful. No view, but the atmosphere was good.
Several of us were looking forward to trying the tapas we had seen online, only to be told that this menu was only available for Sunday lunch - not mentioned online.
When we asked for vegetarian options (none on the main menu) the server suggested a salad. So much for fine cuisine! The chef was able to substitute haloumi for lamb, which was great, but we were disappointed with the lack of selection.
The staff were civil, but rather vacant. Our server left in the middle of the meal without a word to let us know she was going. When the other tables emptied, the staff turned out the lights, leaving us literally in the dark to sort out paying our bills. They did allow us to set up individual tabs, which made it easy for our group to split the bill at the end of the night.
Our glasses sat empty throughout the night, The cocktails we ordered took ages to arrive and the bar ran out of mint early in the night.
Other than the limited selection, the food was tasty but the small portions seemed overpriced. We spent quite a bit but Even with entree and main, we left hungry.
We won't be returning for dinner. Drinks, maybe, but if you're looking for good food and good service, go next door to the Spice Bar!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Em_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“A needed touch of class on the Mooloolaba strip!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Lounge Bar & Dining on First Avenue is a cultural oasis as dining options become increasingly turn-over focused on the Mooloolaba restaurant strip. The venue is on a quiet corner a street back from the hustle-bustle of the Esplanade easily accessed through the Sirocco arcade and was a welcome sight with it's spacious outside dining area on the restaurant apron, a small set of high stool cocktail tables in front of a well stocked bar and classy looking dining area - all framed by cool lighting and chic decor that drew our family to the place like moths to a flame!

We arrived without reservation and were seated to a large outside table. We were well attended by the young waiter team who were genuinely helpful and with a friendly attitude that together were a breath of fresh air in comparison to the Esplanade churn.

We had a wonderful dining experience with 2 highlights being the terayaki glazed barramundi and the chocolate fondant plate which was delectable with berries, fresh cream and chocolate oozing from within the perfectly baked pudding.

We highly recommend the Lounge & Bar for a quality dining experience. We'll be back, thanks to Leigh for her creativity in design and to head waiter (also Leigh!) for treating our kids like adults!

We'll be back, and not just for another serve of the fondant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a dinner out at The Lounge. On arrival we were congratulated and throughout the evening we had the friendly staff filling up our glasses and making sure we are happy with everything, without being too over the top.
The food was lovely. The duck pate as a starter plate was delicious and my scallops were beautifully cooked. The steak, ordered rare, was perfectly cooked as well...something we have found hard to come by on the Coast. We were offered a complimentary dessert platter from the chef, which was a lovely surprise, and the Creme Brulee on it was one of the best I have ever tried!
The only slight criticism is the TV flickering away all evening at the front of the restaurant. It was quite distracting and definitely not necessary in a restaurant of this quality.
Overall we had a great evening. Thank you to the lovely Leigh and her staff who made our evening special...We'll be back for more!

Helpful?
Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge Bar & Dining also viewed

Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing