We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place to stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst place to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I've states the last months in lots of hostels around Australia, and this one is the worst for sure.
It really looks like a prison, the bathrooms are horrible (not clean and not even a good place to put your stuff, because you only have a curtain what starts at your knees, so also everything you put outside will get wet)
The kitchen is disgusting, cockroaches all over the place.
For the price what you pay for it, i expected a lot more!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JansHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    28
    14
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
29
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

don't go there for any reason. the price is too high and if you are looking for a job they promise it but you won't get it for sure. it seems a prison because at 10 pm you can't stay outside and you have to be in your room. after 9 pm you can't use the kitchen anymore so if you are hungry you take it in that place and you would like to beat the guy of the hostel because he is a jerk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at this backpackers for almost 5 months and enjoyed every minute of it. Its clean and the staff are incredibly helpful and hard working. This very much applies to the cleaning team. Everyone is so lovely who stays and you make great friends here. Its a 5 minute walk to Coles and the beach is just at the end of the road. Work opportunities are great, especially for farm work. I hope that everyone who stays here has as an amazing time as I have had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Travelled most of the east coast and this was by far the cliquey'est hostel I stayed at. The farm workers think they own the place. Barely socialable to anyone not staying for a month or longer. The staff are unhelpful and can barely be bothered to breathe let alone serve somebody. The rental surfboards should be put in the bin, they are totally knackered. The rooms were basic to say the least, but the one I got seemed clean enough and I had no problems sleeping. Signs up everywhere with fine warnings and penalties, what happened to putting a sign up with a positive message to encourage backpackers to have a good time?? The estabilishment wouldnt exsist without backpackers. And to top it off the whole place looks like it been painted by a 3 year old with poster paint. Bad effort.

I stayed at this hostel twice when i lived in Brisbane to come up to the sunshine coast and surf, stayed here simply because it was cheap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was a bit sceptical about staying here after reading the reviews that are on here but the people who wrote those bad reviews need to remember its a hostel not a 5star hotel. Stayed in mooloolaba for nearly 2 months and loved every minute of it. It is a 5 minute walk to the beach (at the end of the road), Coles is easy walking distance, couple of bars close by and a nice marina around the corner to rent boats, jetskis and kayaks. The vibe in the evenings is quality, always people sitting downstairs having a few beers and socialising so it's easy to make friends. There is a pool table which has recently been re-done, plenty of films to watch on the tv, free breakfast from 8-9am, free surfboard hire, free bike hire, free standup paddle boarding and plenty of other events going on. Rooms were decent, 4bed dorm so it's never too loud in the rooms and they are cleaned regularly. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Elisha the receptionist who is one of the best things about the hostel. Would definitely recommend this hostel for people just passing by or looking for work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam-Hodge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as I had a boating course to do near by. I choose the $70 private room because I wanted the privacy/goodnight of sleep and private ensuite.
The room looked like a prison cell but hey, it's a hostel, so that didn't bother me. The cleanliness however was... Well.. There was none. The floor through the entire room was greasy and worst of all, the shower drain was full of hair! Not what I would expect for $70!

Anyone thinking about stayin here is better off forking out another $5-$10 and staying somewhere decent!

Oh and the staff weren't happy that I wanted to leave at 7:55am when 'key returns' opens at 8:00am

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompagoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived at Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers at night and the very unfriendly, unhelpful and unenthusiastic female staff behind the counter demanded photo id from both of us. I showed her my photo id and said that my partner only has other forms of id. The staff very rudely said we cannot be checked in and that we must leave. I asked her to call her boss to tell them the situation but she refused and said she will call the police if don’t leave. This unprofessional behaviour is something I have never seen anywhere in the world. YHA Australia has on their website “All guests are required to provide photo ID or, if this is not available, sufficient alternative authentication of identity”. Clearly no intelligent human being is going to throw a couple on the street in the middle of the night especially when they both have some form of ID and one of them even has a photo ID.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_and_Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
8.3 mi away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#42 of 51 in Caloundra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#34 of 41 in Noosaville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#113 of 139 in Noosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Motel
Twin Pines Motel
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 139 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
20.1 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#135 of 139 in Noosa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Property: Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing