We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No No No”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Reviewed April 3, 2013

So we arrived with our friend from New Zealand and first thoughts were "great location" then we saw the rooms, cheap yes but also nasty. Not clean and with a tiny fan in the corner extremely hot. Atmosphere seemed okay however receptionist was far more interested in her skype date she was having then actually checking us in. For a 3 night stay we were trying to remain positive until the last night when 2 of us had gone out and one stayed back to go to bed. Around 11pm she vaugley heard someone knocking on the door but though it must be the wrong room and as she was alone in the room didnt feel safe to open the door. Anyway before she knew it the door flew open with 2 shirtless men standing there. They let themselves in and then realised somebody was in there. They then claimed to be security checking the room as they had been told we had more people there than should be. What were they doing letting themselve into our room when they thought no body was in there. Where the staff intending to steal our valuables?? Is it appropriate at that time of night to be half dressed letting your selves into a young ladies room. I THINK NOT!!!! Outraged we left the next day and promptly cancelled the weeks stay we had booked previously for over Christmas. Stay at your own risk people...dodgy is an understatment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmsTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in the backpackers for 2 weeks during my first days of farm. Good location with busses and greyhound and close to the beach. Good service and always a good feeling in the air,
. A very relaxed place to spend your days at with swimming pool and pool table if you don't want to go to any of the activities. The staff is always on top and always in the game.
All in all a very good temporary home with nice friends and good accommodation.

Cheers max

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've been to many hostels Oz, but this hostel is sick!!
Free breakfast, pool, clean rooms and the staff is young and very friendly!
You get connected to different farms asap if you wanna do your farm work in oz.
It's fun! ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAlex91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff are very welcoming, and the place stays clean. I felt very much at home when hanging out in the common area due to the friendly people and staff. Keep up the good work. Love the free breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights with some friends on our way down the coast. First thoughts were location is very handy as the coach stop (for the Greyhound and Premier) is right outside. The receptionist was friendly enough, and they managed to check us in at about 12.30. The outside and public area is ok, had some sofas, a pool (not particularly clean mind you) and a big TV.

The rooms aren't great. Although there are lockers, there weren't enough of all the beds because one was broken. The beds had no ladders and railings around them so they were near impossible to get into and the fan was so loud it sounded like a small aircraft was taking off in the room (and there was no mosquito net on the window so you couldn't open it to let air in). The sheets were ripped, there was no mirror and it didn't look like it had been cleaned in a rather long time.

The bathrooms were its biggest let down. At no point did during my stay did I go in them and not grimis. The floor was always disgusting with wet muddy foot prints, the toilet roll in one of the cubicles was soaking wet for some reason so you couldn't use it and one of the showers didn't work. All in all pretty discusting.

Something I did notice and found rather annoying is their constant threat of charging you for everything you might do wrong. On checking in we had to give our credit card details and were told that if we set the fire alarm off we would be charged $1060. There are also signs everywhere stating different fines, $20 if you put something on a clean bed, or leave a door open, or don't wash your plates, or go down the stairs backwards, which I felt was all a bit unnecessary and just an opertunity to grab money off you.

Ona good note there were lots of freebies, you get free bike hire, free SUP lesson, free surfboard and come hire and a decent free breakfast every morning between 8-9. Plus it was only a short walk to the beach and the river.

All in all, I don't think I'd want to stay there longer than two nights, but for those two nits it was very handy and had some good freebies.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am a lone traveller from England, stayed in a lot of other places since my time in Austrailia. And is is the worst by far. 1 To begin with I booked in the night i was ment to arrive as i was driving down from airlie beech. Unfortunatly we broke down and made me pay for the room i wasnt even in. Ive got no money as it is, they just robbed it from me. 2. There are hadly any lone travellers here, so people arent as friendly towards likes of me. 3. Stay dont really care, and not interested - doesnt hurt to crack a smile. 3. Commonly areas, kitchen and bathrooms are disgusting! Had to pay for three nights although only staying one. Skip mooloolaba and go to noosa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie-lad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

after reaing the below views i was nervous about staying here but ended up stayin for a month and a bit. it is amazing awersome staff always helpful and friendly... clean and always made me feel safe on your trp to australia you have to go here.. even though alot of people party they have a noise curfee so if you fancy early night never a problem.. even organise events all the time... go to mooloolaba backpackers... has to be the best hostel i have ever stayed in. x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
20.1 mi away
Nomads Noosa
Nomads Noosa
#136 of 140 in Noosa
565 reviews
20.2 mi away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#33 of 41 in Noosaville
173 reviews
19.6 mi away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#3 of 140 in Noosa
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#12 of 16 in Mooloolaba
82 reviews
8.3 mi away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#48 of 52 in Caloundra
57 reviews
19.3 mi away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#113 of 140 in Noosa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $45 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing