We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family favourite for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A family favourite for us”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Carribean regularly over the past 5 years and have never had a bad experience here. The location is fantastic- central and within easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, cafés and Underwater World. Some of the decor in the apartments is a bit dated in appearance, however everything in our experience has always been working order. My husband and I have stayed here as just a couple and, more recently, as a family and have always found it to be a comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced place to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbird2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean R, Guest Relations Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Caribbean Resort. We really appreciate your comments, and are very pleased to hear that you're keen to return. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    119
    48
    25
    23
See reviews for
156
64
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I recently stayed at thsi resort whilst running in the Gold Coast Marathon race. My race only started at 9.00am so I requested a late check out. When I I returned to check out at 11.45, the staff were rude and unhelpful. None the 3 people sitting at the desk, asked "how was our stay?" or even show the slightest interest in our visit.and basically told us we had 30 minutes to vacate. I am a travel agent and there are 1000's of places of places to book, I certainly will be taking my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, Owner at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Lynne, I am a bit confused with your review. You said you were in the Gold Coast marathon thats why you were late leaving!!! IWe are on the Sunshine Coast!! When you arrived late you were asked to check in which you didn't the next day. We phoned you after 10.00 a.m. as we had no information except phone number and we had a cleaner waiting to clean your room. If you say you are a travel agent then you shoulf know checkin 2.00 p.m. check out 10.00. a.m. I actually thought you sold timeshare a bit different then travel agent. Also your cards expire at 11.00 a.m. as all do. You never contacted us at all while you were staying here so i am unsure how you could have requested a late checkout. I dont believe we were rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Another short break to the Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba

Great to see onsite restaurant has opened the menu was fantastic menu for families.

Great atmosphere...

Lifts that had been out of action are now up and running, still friendly staff, unit request was met, and fantastic time had by our family and friends.

Highly recommend it for a short break!

Room Tip: certainly recommend to you to place your request at time of booking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Back again, one lift not working but is being repaired and 2 new on the way they say. New Restaurant opened on site since last time at the Caribbean. Fasta Pasta, pasta, pizza, steak and licenced as well. Family meal deals etc great. Rooftop spa just been refurbished. So close to everything. Thai, Chinese, Indian, Balinese and also on site Restaurant all within 30 Metres, again full size spa bath in room and pool and spa cave downstairs all heated and reception was so helpful. My room was clean and tidy, a little outdated but large t.v. and b/room as well full kitchen etc value fantastic. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Ask for over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank positive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a few rooms between my family. 2 two-bedrooms and 2 one-bedrooms. They were all different sizes so I guess it depends on luck. One of the one-bedders had a safe but I didn't see any in the others. One had a toilet that flushed after banging the Cistern. One had a broken light in the bathroom (so doing make up under one fluro light wasn't fun). One had noodles (as in food) in the couch in the lounge room. I understand it is self contained so cleaning is up to the tenants but perhaps the staff could check a few things before allowing guests into the rooms. Only 2 rolls of toilet paper were given and I heard other guests asking for extra toilet paper and the receptionist very unsure about giving any more out... The apartments are old fashioned. But for the location near the beach it is okay. Also, a lift was still out of order so it was difficult trying to navigate your way back into the apartments after hours (the apartment door keys do not allow you access through the stairwell as I discovered after climbing the stairs). We were going to have a wheelchair bound person with us but am thankful he didn't end up staying as there was no way we would have been able to lift his wheelchair up stairs past the pool area to get to a lift. Would I stay here again? Probably not but it was fairly cheap (but also off season).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haylz_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi, We do appreciate CORRECT reviews but in your case some of your suggestions are wrong. The key/card does work in the stairwells, you obviously got into a stairwell with your card. They are fire doors and kept shut but i can assure you that the cards/keys do work. Banging toilet cistern to get it working ( we have checked all the rooms your family stayed in and couldn't find this. Yes we are self contained and we do provide a starter pack 2 rolls of paper sufficient usually to keep you at bay. As for wheelchair access to pool area, we do have a side gate that is at ground level and it would have not been necessary to lift a wheelchair up stairs. To be honest i have looked at all your reports and obviously none have been up to your standard. Also the rooms are all the same size, just the 2nd bedroom locked for a 1 b/r so no need to rely on luck. Sorry 1 lift out being repaired but 2 new lifts on the way. I spoke to rest of your family and it would appear their opinions were not the same as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The room was dated but pretty nice, however it could have been cleaned a tad better. We had to vaccuum on arrival (as we moved the couches around a bit and those areas of carpet had never met the vaccuum cleaner) dirty old tissue under the bed, just the little things that make a big difference. It feels like it's the kind of place where the two owners are the cleaners, admin and maintainence staff etc etc. We also stayed in the off season and during the five days we were there we only had one day where we could actually sit on our balcony as they decided to have the exterior walls washed with a high pressured hose and repainted so we had workmen abseiling back and forth each day (would have been nice to have been told this prior to booking or offered a discount on the price) We realise maintanence etc needs to be done sometime especially in the off season but that was a little extreme!
Ps our kids did like the pool though, but again that could only be used when the workman had finished with the water spraying!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your response. Sorry about the building being washed down, i know one day we had the pool out for a 1/2 day when this was happening. as the building is quiet large we planned to have the wash down done in 6 stages so I am surprised that 4 out of the 5 days you couldn't use the balcony. We would love to think the 2 of us could handle 60 units ourselves but not possible. we actually have 4 cleaners, 1 full time front desk and 2 maintenance staff and numerous trades people. But it was good to see they take a low profile as asked to do so that the guests can feel more relaxed. Our painting is nearing completion and the abseilers do create less problems than scaffolding everywhere. sorry you missed our new Restaurant opening " FASTA PASTA " thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Upon arrival, was pleased with the location of this hotel, as it is very close to the beach. The overall appearance is that of Miami Vice, but the Caribbean is not alone there it seems in Mooloolaba. We stayed for 8 days, and in that time the main elevator was out of order, but luckily ther was another one down the other end.
On arrival, we were given a form with a room number on it, but a different room key, which we didnt realise until we tried it on the room that was written on the paper to constant denial. Decided to try the room on the card which was on a completely different floor and got in, but wasn't a good start after a long day driving, tired, and broken elevator.
A big letdown, that I would have liked to have been informed of prior, was the fact that these rooms are not serviced. We were given upon arrival, 1 use of laundry powder, 1 use of dishwashing detergent, 1 use of shampoo, 1 use of milk...etc...this would be fine if we were there for 1 night, but after 8 nights we were left lacking. They did state you could buy extra items from reception, but I guess I am old fashioned, and am used to hotel-style where you are replenished each day.
On the plus side, the views were pretty awesome. I got a sliver of sea view and could hear the waves which was nice.
The room overall was decently sized, with a seperate bedroom, kitchen, bathroom with a spabath, and seperate toilet. Although the furnishings were definitely outdated, and the shower pressure was very average.
Down by the reception there is a good display of pamphlets detailing whats on and bus timetables, and the staff at reception are very helpful and friendly.
The pool is very flintstones and a cool feature, but is in dire need of a makeover, with tiles fallen off and cracks everywhere. The spa was very tepid so not really worth spending much time in.
The gym was very basic and I don't think gets much use. There is a steam room next to it, which was actually pretty good.
There is a closed bar? area at the end, which would have been good if it was in use, as there is no restaurant or any food/drink facilities in the resort.
The rooftop barbeque area is pretty nice, and would be good with a group of people. There were 3 barbeques to use and some awesome views. There is a spa as well, but the temperature was cooler than the spa by the pool so gave it a miss. Also there seemed to be a favourite spot of the pool guys to dump his ph level testing sticks in the shrubbery which spoiled the view.
Overall, the Caribbean was a pleasant experience, with the one redeeming feature being the proximity to the beach. The place really needs some love and maintainance, with an outdated colour scheme, and things broken and falling down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, i have asked around and no one can seem to understand what you mean by Miami Vice like? I am sorry but we are apartments as you say large with full cooking facilities, washing spa bath ect not hotel rooms and therefore they aren't serviced daily as hotels are and it is clearly stated when booking and we do provide a starter pack for you. The pool as you say is flinstone style and a cool feature but it is in good order and the rock look makes it appeared worn i guess. We had a fire in one lift motor being repair and as for the RESTAURANT on site .After extensive renos FASTA PASTA opens this week. But we still have Chinese, Indian, Balinese all within 20 metres and surf club 100 metres spa on roof fantastic by the way we have 2 not 3 b.b.que but great with spa for kids ( heated to usually 37c
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#10 of 16 in Mooloolaba
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 16 in Mooloolaba
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#14 of 16 in Mooloolaba
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#6 of 16 in Mooloolaba
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba

Property: Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Address: 17 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba is a 6 storey high rise complex which offers 62 fully-self contained 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Our spacious accommodation is the ideal base to immerse yourself in all the colour and excitement of this cosmopolitan beachside town. Nestled in the heart of Mooloolaba, 100m from the iconic beachfront, Caribbean Resort offers fantastic facilities, and is the perfect location for your beach getaway. With dozens of first class restaurants, alfresco cafes and boutique shops on your doorstep, you are only moments from the patrolled beach for that quick surf or a stroll to the children's playground on the foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba Hotel Mooloolaba
Breakfree Caribbean Hotel Mooloolaba
Breakfree Caribbean Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing