We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be returning or recommending”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Göteborg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't be returning or recommending”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The room we were in was very dated and shabby - travelled with another family and their room was no better. However worse than this was the lack of service. upon arrival I was told there was not porta cot for my one year old, and only after an angry refusal to accept that they have no cot for my daughter were they able to miraculously locate one. In addition, this resort seemed to attract many 18-25 year olds - all good and well however if you are travelling with family avoid this resort. There is no regulation for irresponsible behavior - required several security calls at 3am every night to remove people from the pool ( drunk and disorderly). Poor poor communication from staff, we experienced two fire evacuations in the middle of the night and there was no announce,ent or direction from any staff member - the fire fighter was our source of information.

Pool is barely child friendly, small shallow pool whose edge sits flush with the deep end of the pool

Overall would not recommend for a family however if you are young and want to party without any restraint or regard for other guests this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Avoid staying in a room that faces the pool or you risk being kept up all night by other guests havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassandra83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, General Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi, I am sorry your friends decided to bring you to Mooloolaba on Australia day when all the young ones gather to party. The whole of Mooloolaba had the same problem unfortunately. Please accept our apology for the cot but unfortunately your agent failed to inform us you needed this. As for outdated rooms, we are unsure what you mean , we have a large flat screen in lounge and smaller in bedroom. The furnishing in both of the rooms are less than 2 years old they aren't retro but quite confortable, just like the large self contained unit with full kitchen, balcony, seperate spa bath, seperate shower, seperate toilet. Perhaps you should consider spending more next time as we are well priced and usually family orientated Resort at very reasonable prices. The childrens pool, I am sorry but this is usually one of our 5 star comments. By the pool is usually enjoyable also as it is locked up of a night but with Austalia day it is different.
The fire alarms we believe were caused by extreme weather conditions, when a fire alarm goes off it means evacuate and thats what happens, we cannot say anything until the fire brigade arrives and gives the all clear after they arrive, but I can assure had it been real we would have saved you and you child and we would be fielding comments how good our system is instead of the opposite. We know the system can be a little problem sometimes but all our guests safety and security is number 1. In all I believe your responce was very unfair and an approach to myself first would have been appreciated. However this didn't happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    117
    48
    25
    23
See reviews for
155
62
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family & I recently stayed at Caribbean for 7 nights. Room was clean & well kept & had everything we needed, plenty of room to move with two kids. We had a lovely view of the pool. Kids enjoyed the games room. So close to everything in Mooloolaba - we didn't use the car! Very well priced. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Will definitely be back. Thank you for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happylife79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Rooms need a total makeover as the the furnishings are either broken or old/worn, marks/ chips all over the walls. As for the airconditioner, it couldnt cool my dog house. I did complain about it and recieved a pedestal fan, as our visit was in january it didnt do much. The staff were ok but it seems to me that they have there hands tied because the owner wont spend any $$$ on this property. We spent the extra $$s and got a rooftop room, money not well spent.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_H31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, General Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Sorry Stephen,

I know last year it was good as you came back again and I even think you extended as well . We are sorry to lose clients like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Overpriced for the quality of rooms; lack of functional cooking equipment, cheap furniture, inadequate rubbish disposal. Staff were arrogant and rude on the rare occasion they were contactable. Upon leaving we followed all cleaning and checkout regulations the room was left in the same condition of entry. Two weeks later $175 was drawn from my account without any prior notification, for a supposed cleaning fee with nothing itemised. Upon calling the management to enquire what was wrong with the room I was met with threats to charge an extra 3-4 nights to my account. Meanwhile the manager couldn't specify exactly what was wrong with the rooms cleanliness. Assuring management that the room was impeccable upon leaving, the argument was avoided at all costs by management.
In all, would not stay there again and certainly would not recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamish I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, General Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Hamish, thank you for view. I guess hamish we should mention that you and your friends and others were enjoying an Austalian day weekend. Your room had the power trip as you had decided to use your oven as an icebox, the oven had to be dried out and it only when you rang I said we could have charged you also for the days it took to dry the oven out. ( 3 to 4 days ) i guess this is the funtional cooking eqipment you mention ( doesn't work after it is used as ice box. ) I only wish perhaps the Police took you all away when they came to visit you after it appeared you had pigs in your room making what noise they do from your balcony at the Police below ) I didn't avoid speaking to you but then you got your Mum to ring to give me a serve , obviosly you dont do these things at home as I dont think she believed me.!! Hamish you will not stay here again as you are on our avoidance list at all costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was overall quite disappointed with the Caribbean Resort.

Rooms were very dated and tired looking. Lighting in the bathroom was terrible.

Good tv in lounge and cost for a 2 bed was ok but still a little overpriced.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMcG32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just a few days of relaxation and time with my girls before Christmas . Clean and well presented and the staff were friendly . Girls loved the pool !!!! Great distance to just walk to the beach , the esplande and Underwater World .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeanneG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

1. Incredibly rude staff threatening us with eviction and calling the police at 7pm on a Saturday night for apparently moving furniture and being loud. We were not moving furniture; we were listening to the hot 100 and playing cards.
2. Lack of information from managers when alarm was sounded for an evacuation at 8pm on a Sunday night.
3. Ants in main bedroom
4. Extremely loud pipes in the bathroom
5. No air conditioning in bedrooms
6. Ancient toaster that looked like it might spark
7. Old horrible pan

Room Tip: Avoid Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#12 of 15 in Mooloolaba
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba

Property: Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Address: 17 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba is a 6 storey high rise complex which offers 62 fully-self contained 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Our spacious accommodation is the ideal base to immerse yourself in all the colour and excitement of this cosmopolitan beachside town. Nestled in the heart of Mooloolaba, 100m from the iconic beachfront, Caribbean Resort offers fantastic facilities, and is the perfect location for your beach getaway. With dozens of first class restaurants, alfresco cafes and boutique shops on your doorstep, you are only moments from the patrolled beach for that quick surf or a stroll to the children's playground on the foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba Hotel Mooloolaba
Breakfree Caribbean Hotel Mooloolaba
Breakfree Caribbean Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing