We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive and grimy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed at Mantra in a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights back in 2007. I was an average stay so I didn’t bother with a review. This time around it’s a different story.

We were married in Caloundra in November and being from Victoria, were not planning a honeymoon. Upon hearing this tidbit of information, my new husband’s boss decided to surprise us with a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom penthouse suite.

Excited, newly married, and after waiting ages for the lift, we headed up to our room. On the floor outside the room lay some paper circles from some party poppers. They never moved. Having just come from Pumicestone Blue Resort in Caloundra, we were shocked. For what was $500+/night it was appalling.

The apartment was large, a little dingy towards the back, with a long balcony that overlooked the water. Stairs led up to a tiny rooftop courtyard with a BBQ, spa and worn decking chairs. The bathroom was nothing spectacular. Neither was the bedroom. The pillows were terrible.

The carpet was stained and the rooms smelled musty. One arm of the couch was torn, the other arm heavily stained with visible coffee cup rings, the seats were also stained with the occasional hole. It was that grimy I seriously considered covering it with a blanket. The television was tiny and the remote batteries flat. The walls seemed paper thin and we managed to get neighbours who liked to chat and play music into the early hours.

On the plus side, it is well located, the kitchen was large and well stocked with coffees, teas etc. I also like their complimentary bathroom products, especially the lemongrass soap. The staff also did give us an extended checkout.

Overall, not really a place I’d recommend for anyone looking to relax, do not go near the place for a romantic getaway or honeymoon. I think it might be more suited to families. The only reason I wasn’t more upset was because we weren’t paying.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saileyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,096 - 3,102 of 3,147 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2009

I recently stayed at Mantra with my parents-in-law and husband. We booked 2 one bedroom apartments (for 2 couples). The 1 bedroom apartments are described as having a "kitchenette" I guess because there isn't a proper stovetop. However, having said that, there is a toaster and a plug-in cook top suitable 2 saucepans. There is everything you really need in order to be able to make snacks and there are also BBQs dotted around the grounds that can be used to cook more ambitious meals or if you are cooking for a family.

Mantra Mooloolaba has a great location especially as it is right near Coles supermarket but also not right on top of any clubs because I believe that area can get a bit noisy on a Friday/Saturday. We stayed from Monday night to Saturday and noticed a bit more street noise on Friday evening than the previous nights, but no real problem. The restaurants and surf club are all located very close by.

I especially arranged one of our apartments higher up the building so that I could guarantee ocean views for my parents-in-law (level 11). However, our unit which was on level 5 had a better view because we could see the ocean but also the pool. The 11th floor unit was on the side of the building so you could not see the pool and I don't think the layout was as good as our unit (no. 506). In future I would not pay the extra for a higher floor.

In line with previous reviews, I would agree that the furnishings are looking a bit tired. e.g. the carpeting is worn in high traffic areas and sofas need recovering, but it is all very liveable and the rooms are light and airy with nice wooden shutters if you prefer a bit of privacy. The bathrooms have washer/dryers which are obviously very convenient. I think this resort was built in about 2000, so after 9 years it is probably due for refurbishing, but that would not put me off staying there.

Mooloolaba is a great location for all the family and the shops and boutiques are a bit different from what you get in Sydney. There are a couple of bottle shops as well.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lb0swell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We booked directly via their website.
2 Bed apartment had great sea views.
Location in Mooloolaba is excellent.
Cafes and restaurants on doorstep aswell as an Irish bar.
2 bed apartment was excellent with nice balconies. The main bedroom and lounge having great sea views and access to the balcony. 2 bathrooms and kitchen and laundry, dishwasher etc.

Inside pool is warm. Outside pool only gets the sun earlier in the day and was a little cold with the wind. Two outside jacuzzis were next to the pool and one was warm.

Sofa cushions need recovering but that is all.

Great apartments and stay!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Walked in off the Street as we wanted a something special. Friendly reception staff who matched the wotif price and gave us a better room which was really well presented. Great location right in the middle of all the shops etc , but no real noise could be heard. Great Day spa just out the front door . A top experience

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eurotraveler283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I recommend this hotel because of its location if you are keen to stay somewhere near the beach, shopping & great cafe/restaurants. We stayed 4 nights and couldn've easily have stayed longer. The rooms were clean, spacious and excellent ocean views from our balcony. The supermarket is right behind the hotel but there are so many good places to eat out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. No complaints, we would stay here again on our next trip to the Sunshine coast.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

This hotel opened as an Outrigger back in 2000 and we've enjoyed ten/3 night stays over the past seven years. We've stayed in the one bedroom units and also once in a two bedroom unit. We've usually enjoyed wonderful ocean views; only twice when given a corner unit did we have a partial ocean view. The one bedroom units are plenty big enough for two people with all the comforts needed for a great stay, including kitchen and bathroom with washer/dryer. The bathroom is particularly functional and spacious and includes a large spa with shower over and a really long vanity unit. The two bedroom units have two bathrooms and are all located level 12 and above.

Over the years we've been impressed with the cleanliness of the units; however, we've noticed the last couple times the lounge chairs could do with a recover or replacement.

The location of the Mantra is ideal. There is a Coles supermarket at the rear along with bakery, newsagent, pharmacy etc. There are numerous restaurants, coffee shops, boutiques etc. in the vicinity or within a short walk. The beach is across the road from the Mantra and the patrolled surfing beach is a five minute walk away.
In short, we love staying at the Mantra Mooloolaba.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We recently stayed a Saturday night at the Mantra. We would normally stay with family nearby at Maroochydore however they had visitors. We were delighted with the one bedroom on the 9th floor and location, view etc.. Surprisingly our room did not have a wall oven, microwave or dishwasher, more so it was a kitchennette. I spoke to someone who told me that "full kitchen" rooms start from 16 floor up, two bedrooms.

Check in was a breeze though we did have some problem finding our numbered car spot, we asked a Mantra person that we spotted in the car park and she said to park anywhere.

The indoor pool was great to swim in. I also used the adjoining sauna. It seemed odd that the outdoor pool was not heated and that only one outdoor spa out of the two was heated. For this reason most people tended to stick to the indoor area.

Although we enjoyed our stay, one or two nights would be the maximum for us, even if we booked a full kitchen appartment.

Oh what was a really good thing, on Saturday night a note was left under our door offering us to stay Sunday night as well for only $50. We would have stayed if we were a bit more organised.
That was a great offer, much apporeciated.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank surfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 16 in Mooloolaba
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#2 of 16 in Mooloolaba
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
#7 of 16 in Mooloolaba
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#5 of 16 in Mooloolaba
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 16 in Mooloolaba
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort

Address: cnr Mooloolaba Esplanade & Venning St, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range: $126 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found right on the waterfront Mantra Mooloolaba Beach is a must in Sunshine Coast accommodation. Located on the Esplanade and offering self contained accommodation with over 30 restaurants, cafes and shops all on your doorstep. The hotel features fully furnished one, two and three bedroom suites each with a private balcony and sweeping ocean or garden views. Our suites provide the perfect accommodation for business travellers, just 12km for the airport as well as families with one, two and three bedroom options, most with full ocean views and spa baths. Onsite at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach you will find a variety of dining options as well as many leisure facilities including two swimming pools, a spa, sauna, recreation deck and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Hotel Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Outrigger
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing