We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for a quick trip”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights (Wednesday to Friday). Great location. In the centre of everything with ocean views and walking distance to restaurants, supermarket, clothes shops, the Surf Club and the beach. The building is kept quite well considering its age. Not sure how old it is but the interiors look 90s. We stayed in a 1 bedroom, ocean view room. Walk in the door and there is the bed. Next is the bathroom/laundry combo then the kitchenette/lounge area. Bed was comfortable. I didn't like the pillows. The bathroom/laundry was quite a big area. Yes, the shower is round with a viewing window so you can look at the ocean view whilst showering. There is a shower curtain if you would prefer privacy but we thought it was quite novel and enjoyed the view. Kitchen ha a microwave, bar fridge, sink and caters to four people (ie plateware, glasses etc). No stove as such, just a benchtop, two plate portable stove. No need for that though. In the same building are restaurants and everything is in walking distance anyway. Good place to stay for a quick trip.

Room Tip: Ocean views with a higher floor a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear TravellingGumby
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us here at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach, and it was excellent to hear you enjoyed your mini break away and took advantage of the location and facilities.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach in the future.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    1,028
    299
    80
    59
See reviews for
542
1,283
123
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Entry is via a car park maize, not a good experience. Building and rooms are very tired and in need of a refurb. Ocean views over the complex are fairly good and would not consider the hotel without a view. Service was satisfactory The price is acceptable given the location. Probably wouldn't return. May consider the other Mantra along the strip.

Room Tip: Need an Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notsogood_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear notsogood_39
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us here at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us maintain and improve our standards, as well as meet and exceed guest’s expectations. Thank you for bringing the disappointment you experienced to our attention and I am regretful that you did not enjoy some parts of your stay with us.
I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss these concerns and ensure we are able to provide a high standard of rooms and service to all our valued guests.
I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach when you next decide to holiday on the Sunshine Coast.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach quite a few times over the last 5 years and have always stayed in the one or two bedroom Ocean View Apartments and they have always been excellent. This time however, we booked the Two Bedroom Penthouse. Knowing what the basic rooms were like, we expected something pretty great being the Penthouse Suite - I was extremely dissapointed when we arrived. I found the living space to be quite small - having stayed in the one bedroom apartments - I'd have thought the 2 bedroom penthouse living area would have been bigger, but it was quite small. There was also a rooftop area with a spa and BBQ - nothing flash very basic - which was also a bit of a dissapointment. The spa - although set on 40 degrees, was not hot and the pressure of the jets was pathetic, we ended up having to go down to the sauna to warm up - but weren't able to stay long as it all closed up at 9pm. We also had problems with the DVD player and couldn't get it to work - we had someone come & look at it & in the end we had to get a new DVD player for the room. The reception on the TV's was terrible - the channels would cut in & out all the time and when mentioned to the guy who tried to fix the DVD player he just said yeah, we've told them that! The interior overall was - for a Penthouse Suite - in poor shape, there was dodgey patch up jobs and very noticable wear marks in the living room. The website had no photos of the Penthouse Suites - if there had been I probably wouldn't have booked it. Overall I was quite dissapointed with our stay - as I said, having been in the basic one and two bedroom apartments, I expected a lot more from the Penthouse - considering the price difference. Definitely not worth the extra money! The views were fantastic - but no better than the one & two bedroom ocean view apartments.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the Penthouse Suites - the basic Ocean View apartments are much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Carolyn L
Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach, and it's unfortunate to hear that there were a number of aspects of your stay that you were not satisfied with. I apologise that clearly this stay with us did not meet your expectations or the standards of your previous visits in our 1 and 2 bedroom apartments.
Your concerns have been raised with our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments to ensure a high level of cleanliness and repair is kept in our penthouses.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and should your travel plans return you to Mooloolaba please do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can take steps to make this up to you, and ensure your next stay is memorable for all the right reasons.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Got a great deal for this Mantra (there are 3 in Mooloolaba) on a discount hotel site....and was really pleased! A comfortable, reasonable spacious apartment with laundry facilities in the room, an amazingly comfortable bed, a balcony and a great view. Fantastic location too!

The only down side was the weird shower window so you can be observed by your partner whilst they're sitting in the living room on the sofa....weird!! Thankfully the shower curtain can pull all the way around!

Oh, and another plus....the rooms aren't all decorated in pastel colours with terrible pictures on the walls of dolphins frolicking like so many places on the sunshine coast....a pleasant change :)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear DCHC99
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach, it's great to hear you were pleased with our rooms and facilities.
Keep an eye out for future specials we may have and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was extremely happy with my stay.
The staff & managers on desk are second to none & I think they will go far with there friendly outgoing nature. The room we stayed in was choice & I think your place rocks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Ron G
What a fantastic review! Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
It will be a pleasure to pass on your kind words regarding our front desk team.
We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach when you next holiday on the Sunshine Coast.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights stay at the Mantra. We were on the 7th floor and the view from the room just what we were looking for. Loved the spa bath especially since the weather wasnt all that good and after getting wet running in and out of rain. It was most welcome to get back to the room and have a lovely soak.
Hopefully we will be back again soon. Next time for longer.So handy to everything. The staff were very pleasant. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and had a great room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Karen D
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach, it is great to read you enjoyed your stay even though the weather wasn't all that good.
We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and would holiday with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The highest building in Mooloolaba and a near perfect location.
16 levels of apartments plus a roof deck with stunning vistas.

Staff told us it was built 2000 as the Outrigger and acquired by Mantra 2006. Interior has been (mostly) fully refurbished. There are 201 rooms of which 180 are privately owned apartments that are rented out for the investment income.

We stayed 7 nights on Level 9 with awesome ocean views and (if balcony door left open) the soothing sound of the rolling surf 24/7 just 100m away.

The room met all our requirements for comfort and facilities. Circular spa bath/shower looking through the lounge and balcony to the sea views beyond was a novelty. We were a little surprised that rooms are unserviced for stays of 7 days or less. A refresh is available on request costing $33 to $53 depending on number of bedrooms. If staying 8 nights or more, a complimentary mid-stay service is provided. Basement parking for our rental car proved to be especially handy. We particularly recommend David (a New Zealander) at Sunshine Coast Coast Car Rentals who gave us excellent advice on where we should go and his favourite eating places.

Mantra Staff were great and always helpful day and night. We made good use of the lovely inside pool. Unfortunately, the spacious and attractive outside pool/spa was closed most of our week “for maintenance”. There were also connectivity problems with the guest internet facilities(2) in the reception foyer. Internet is free for 15-60 minute sessions but WiFi access in the apartment is at a cost – and pricey.

A good selection of eating places can be found alongside the Mantra. Coles Supermarket next door is particularly handy. Some retailers expressed their concern to us about the economic recession affecting Queensland, hence a number of empty shops were evident in an otherwise attractive and very tidy tourist area.

TIP – a far better deal is available by contacting Mantra direct for accommodation. In a package deal, we paid via Flight Centre Wellington NZ$1620 (A$1,330) for our 7 nights in an Ocean View room. A helpful Mantra staff member said they could have given us the same room for as little as A$849. Casual conversation with fellow guests likewise confirmed we had paid far too much for our accommodation.

Do we recommend Mantra Mooloolaba? Yes, definitely !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Front Office Manager at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Thomas L
Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed and constructive feedback.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be comfortable and fulfill all your requirements. I am delighted to read our staff were always friendly and helpful during your stay.
It is unfortunate the pool was closed for maintenance, however, am delighted you were able to utilise the indoor heated pool.
Thank you for the kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach in the future.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seamark On First
Seamark On First
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort

Property: Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Address: cnr Mooloolaba Esplanade & Venning St, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found right on the waterfront Mantra Mooloolaba Beach is a must in Sunshine Coast accommodation. Located on the Esplanade and offering self contained accommodation with over 30 restaurants, cafes and shops all on your doorstep. The hotel features fully furnished one, two and three bedroom suites each with a private balcony and sweeping ocean or garden views. Our suites provide the perfect accommodation for business travellers, just 12km for the airport as well as families with one, two and three bedroom options, most with full ocean views and spa baths. Onsite at Mantra Mooloolaba Beach you will find a variety of dining options as well as many leisure facilities including two swimming pools, a spa, sauna, recreation deck and fully equipped gym. For those that want to explore the Sunshine Coast, take a walk along the beautiful Mooloolaba beachfront, voted the best in the region, or visit one of the many tourist attractions found close by including Australia Zoo, UnderWater World or the Eumundi Markets. Mantra Mooloolaba Beach offers the ideal base for Sunshine Coast accommodation. ** Please Note, Unless otherwise stated all rates are weekly service. Daily service available upon request at an additional cost. WiFi available at a nominal charge. Maintenance Notice Mantra Mooloolaba Beach will be undergoing maintenance works on the resort outdoor pool from 22 May until 31 July 2017. During this period the outdoor pool will be closed, however the indoor pool will still be available. The remedial work will be occurring during the hours of 0830-1700 Monday – Friday. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause and look forward to launching our new and updated outdoor Pool area in August. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Hotel Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Outrigger
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing