We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandcastles at Mooloolaba - Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Somers, Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandcastles at Mooloolaba - Just perfect”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just returned home from the Sunshine Coast, having stayed at Sandcastles at Mooloolaba. Outstanding position, clean and comfortable room, affordable and wonderfully supportive and hospitable staff. Thanks Julie - we will be back.
Terry & Lorraine Green

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
23
114
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We loved our stay at Sandcastles. Julie and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us. We were offered a special price package for our three night stay with a fully self contained studio apartment with ocean views. The rooms were clean and spacious and equipped with everything that we needed and the hotel is in a brilliant location close to the ocean and the main boulevard strip. The upstairs patio balcony had a small but funtional BBQ, banana lounges and outdoor setting, not to mention fantastic views of the ocean! Thank you for making our pre-baby holiday a relaxing and enjoyable one!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank featherwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in August, was told when booking that we would be in a third floor ocean view apartment which faced south overlooking the park. On checking in we were given an apartment on the fourth floor which had a roof top area, this was obviously an upgrade we thought, how wrong can you be. The balcony faced north overlooking the Surf Club and the main street, on the corner of the balcony was a narrow spiral staircase leading up to the roof area which was totally useless to us as you would have to be a Cat Burglar to negotiate the stairs. If you are able to get up the stairs the upper level consisted of an outdoor setting a couple of sun lounges and a barbeque that look liked it had never been cleaned the same with the outdoor furniture. The noise from the street below at night was loud and continued into the early hours of the morning. Our room was badly maintained, most doors were falling off their hinges, Bathroom so small you could hardly move in it, kitchen utensil were of the bare minimum, we had to buy a sharp cutting knife from the local store. I am a regular visitor to Mooloolaba as my son lives there; we normally stay at Newport Apartments which are excellent, but thought we would try Sandcastles for a change, what a mistake that was. I spoke to the Manager during our stay and commented how badly maintained the apartment was her answer to that was this unit was owned by a bad owner who was not prepared to send any money on keeping the apartment in good condition. I wonder how many other apartments in the block fall into the same category. If you want a small apartment which is badly maintained with continuous street noise all-night, and pay top dollar then this is place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night while we were looking for real estate. Booked through the internet and a standard one bedroom deluxe(????) room was $169. When we arrived the person at the desk made a point of saying that the apartment was one of their older styled ones and that if I had booked directly they could give me a better apartment??? The place was fairly empty so I wondered why that wasn't possible anyway. Strange comment . Well!! it certainly was OLD. The furnishings were 1980's faded decore. The furniture included a small metal table and 4 chairs, a vinyl 2 seater sofa, a very stained and scratched coffee table, small analogue TV, a bed. The air con worked once you worked out how to use it.(No instructions.) Fluctuated from hot to cold. The T.V crackled after awhile. The shower was in the laundry room. The shower rose was broken and wobbly. The tiles were cracked, laminex was damaged and the carpet was stained badly-yuk. If you took these items to an auction you would be lucky if you got $20 for the lot. How disgraceful to advertise as a 4star place and expect people to pay for this. Absolute rubbish. Will not be returning. Coming back next week for further house-hunting but will go elsewhere. A bad mistake!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imaginethat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We booked a one bedroom (Ocean View) apartment and were advised that we were getting a renovated apartment. Upon check-in were told that we had been given a upgrade to one bedroom with roof top terrace, how disappointed were we. When we got inside the apartment we found that it is still in original condition with lime green and purple walls, uncomfortable furniture and very uncomfortable bed. But I guess they were as old as the apartment. They also need to instal chains on the door as the manager just lets herself in without knocking. We did speak to her about that and she said she thought the apartment was empty. Even so, it doesn't excuse the fact that you should always knock first. We loved Mooloolaba and will go back there but there is no way we would stay at this complex.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We were stuck on the Sunshine Coast because of the Queensland floods (yes, I know there's plenty worse areas to be stranded) ... anyway - we phoned up for a room, hoping for a last minute rate that represented good value - we were charged $190 for a single night in a very ordinary apartment.
The room was absolutely tiny - the bathroom and shower mouldy - and the toilet 'wobbled' like it wasn't secure.
A very basic room with fairly limited facilities - the best thing it has going for it is it's location - so you're easily able to escape your claustrophobic room and get out onto the Esplanade.
Can get much better value elsewhere - feels the management were taking advantage of a captive audience and blatantly ripping people off who had no way of getting home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueP00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Seriously, Sandcastles On The Beach has the best location of any accommodation in Mooloolaba: it's 20 metres from the swimming beach and 15 metres from The Surf Club. The hotel itself has a variety of rooms. I reckon the one that we stayed in (Room 201) is one of the best - it has the largest balcony on the second floor and overlooks (the smallish) pool. It didn't have a view of the sea, but that's a minor gripe.

The rooms are serviced daily and the hotel has 24 hour access via keys after hours, which means you can go out for a few drinks or head out out at first light, which, unfortunately, is about 5:00 a.m. The great thing about Mooloolaba is the access to everything; you can walk from one end of the esplanade to the other in about 15 minutes, with plenty of cafes and restaurants along the way.

The value is unbeatable; we paid $99 per night for our one bedroom apartment, complete with satellite TV, washing machine, dryer and full cooking facilities. We even had our 12 month old daughter with us and Sandcastles provided a cot at no additional charge, although this is something that they don't normally do. This made the price even better, in my opinion.

There's plenty of brochures in the lobby, which gives you a range of activities to choose from and the reception even has a free booking service, which is a welcome bonus, meaning that you don't even have to leave the hotel to get ready to see the sights. One of the only negatives was that we didn't get refills of tea, coffee and milk when the rooms were serviced, as well as having our bed turned down only once during our six day stay.

If you're coming to the Sunshine Coast, I'd heartily recommend Sandcastles On The Beach, although if you're after a decent pool, the hotel doesn't deliver on this front. But why would you when the glorious beach is only a 45 second walk away?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gusmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#12 of 15 in Mooloolaba
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastles Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles Mooloolaba

Property: Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Address: Cnr. Parkyn Parade & River Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Sandcastles you can walk to every imaginable facility needed for an idyllic stay. Laze on the wide silky sands of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast award winning Mooloolaba Beach right at your front door or simply idle around the pool.Indulge in resort living in our fully self-contained one bedroom Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments, which include master bed room, bathroom, laundry, and kitchen with hotplates, rangehood and microwave/convection oven. Your Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments are serviced daily. Relax and enjoy your holiday on Mooloolaba Beach.Our top level luxury Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments have private roof tops and barbeques, ideal for entertaining or just soaking up the sun and taking in the spectacular views over Mooloolaba Beach to Point Cartwright or off to the North over Mooloolaba Beach, Alexandra Headland, Maroochydore to Noosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastles Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Comfort Suites
Sandcastles Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing