We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Underwater World Sea Life Mooloolaba
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.95*
and up
Sunshine Coast Underwater World SEA LIFE Aquarium Entrance Ticket
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Underwater World SEA LIFE Mooloolaba is a multi-award winning, all weather visitor attraction. Take a fascinating journey from the coast to the ocean depths. Get up close to over 10,000 ceatures including Australia's largest collection of jellyfish. Meet our rare weedy sea dragons, our resident seals plus over 20 species of shark and rays. With 14 fun talks and animal feeds, including our family favourite seal presentation, there's plenty for everyone to enjoy at SEA LIFE Mooloolaba.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
435 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Sea life was fun the seal show was awesome and there are some cool animals like the saw-fish and the seals.

But the food is not nice and not cheap.

Helpful?
1 Thank JJKiwiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    602
    230
    49
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Enjoyable attraction for children”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had an enjoyable morning at Underwater World. It is very overpriced at ($38 an adult and $23 a child) for what takes at most 3 hours - we spent 2 hours there. However, we were prepared and purchased tickets online through RACQ - if you're a member do it!! We paid $20 each for an adult ticket, that's 2 tickets for the price of one. The place is a little claustrophobic and can be a bit push and shove to see some of the attractions. Some things could definitely be updated as they are a little run down. They really should expand the place also and include more animals like dolphins, bigger sharks, other interesting sea animals. We did expect these things seeing it is 'underwater world.' Although expansion in that area may certainly be difficult. Food is expensive and is greasy crap so eat outside after the attraction where there are many more eateries. We did enjoy the underwater tunnel and the seal show but that's about it. Great for young kids not for older people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“over priced”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

found it interesting but very over priced and i tried to buy cheaper tickets over the internet but they wanted my 3 digit security number on the back of my credit card,when i explained it to the guy at the counter hoping he would give me the online discount he just smile although he was nice about it.in saying that we had a great day but it was only about a two hour visit.and the photo we purchased was very nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 49christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderwaterWorld535, Commercial Operations Manager at Underwater World Sea Life Mooloolaba, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
It’s great to receive feedback on our attraction as we believe it’s one of the best ways we can make each visit better for our guests! We definitely recommend that you take advantage of the discounts and savings available online. We are glad you had a great day and thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for waste a couple of hours...that's all”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visited Underwater World a few hours before our flight back home. Overall it was fun but it was like any ordinary aquarium. My favourite part of the whole experience was the seal show and the underwater walkthrough. I don't see it as something I would visit again on my next trip to Mooloolaba. Not to mention, I think it is quite pricey for something that only lasts one-two hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underwater World”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Overpriced, run down according to US standards. Just went because nothing else to do for a few hours and was very disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderwaterWorld535, Commercial Operations Manager at Underwater World Sea Life Mooloolaba, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We genuinely care what our guests think and how you experience our aquarium and the interactivities that we supply. Having just invested over 6.5 million dollars at the start of the year in refurbishments we are surprised that you feel it was run down. We pride ourselves on delivering a first class attraction and experience for our guests and so hope to see you return so that we can ensure your don’t leave disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater World Sea Life Mooloolaba also viewed

Beerwah, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Yandina, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Underwater World Sea Life Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing