We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Fraser in a day”

Fraser Island Adventure Tours
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best way to see Fraser in a day”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Usually we are not very keen on organized tours, however last year on our first visit to Australia we booked one in New South Wales and since it was great we decided to give another tour a go.
We were of course not disappointed, Australians really are amazing people and we had a great day with cheerful company.

We chose the “adventure” tour to Fraser Island and we did exactly what it said in the program. We were picked up outside our accommodation and taken care of all day.

During the tour our guide Greg was telling us everything we wanted to know and more plus describing everything in sight. He had a story to tell for everything! The tour is absolutely a must do, I will not list all we have seen, you can find the various options on their website.

Lunch was also a nicely organized affair, food was great and we did not go hungry. Eating at the picnic area at Lake McKenzie was wonderful. They even emailed us a day in advance to ask for food preferences. We also stopped for “tea” twice, once in the morning and once in the afternoon on the beach. We were served homemade cookies and lamingtons. Superb!
Also, for those interested, plenty of restroom stops, no worries!

Definitely worth the price we paid, and you get to meet new people as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tilena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    54
    11
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great way to get a taste of Fraser”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our day on Fraser Island and as we had never been, but had always wanted to, doing this day trip gave us a small taste of Fraser which has given us the drive to go back and see more. Casey, our driver, was fantastic and full of knowledge about local flora and fauna and the history of Fraser Island. It was a brilliant day and even though Lake McKenzie was a bit too cold for a swim, it was a beautiful spot and worth a visit. Eli Creek has to be a favourite though and worth walking the length of (deeper in some places than others - so be prepared to get wet!). Visiting the shipwreck was great and some fantastic photo opportunites both there and at the coloured sands. Lunch was really delicious (we had prawns - yum) with plenty of choices and all fresh and tasty. A wine or beer finished it off nicely and along with the morning and afternoon tea which is supplied, you certainly do not go hungry! Driving back along Teewah Beach as the sun was setting was absolutely beautiful and to be dropped back off right near your hotel was an appreciated service. All in all, a fantastic, worthwhile day out... full on, but fabulous. Totally recommend this if you want to find out what Fraser Island is all about. Brilliant!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlRobC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Fabulous Fraser Island Adventure Tour”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We returned from this tour yesterday and loved the whole experience! Greg picked us up from our accomodation and drove us to the tour and was then also our guide for the day! It was a full day trip of Fraser Island (as detailed on the brouchure) including 4x4 ing on some magnificent "roads", a magical swim in the beautiful Lake McKenzie, a fantastic & pleantiful lunch (we had delicious prawns & fish). Followed by a very scenic drive through the forest and a lovely (and easy) stroll with Tim our very informative guide telling us about the different trees etc. Greg kept us well informed about the Island and had a great passion & first hand knowledge of the area. Morning and afternoon tea were deliciously provided in a couple of very lovely spots on the beach, and we were dropped back off at our accomodation at the end of the day making it a very easy way to see the island whilst having a fantastic day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My partner & I really enjoyed our tour of Fraser & could not recommend Fraser Island Adventure Tours more! It's a full on day & an excellent way to explore the island. Our tour guide Rob was great! Very knowledgable & a bit cheeky! He went out of his way to have a chat with each guest & to make sure we were all getting the most out of the tour. Lunch was excellent, great Aussie BBQ! Fraser is stunning! My partner & I did not need to worry about anything other than enjoying ourselves!

Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'm still undecided on whether Fraser Island was the highlight of the trip or our tour guide/driver Peter!! What an amazing and funny man who in a matter of minutes managed to have the entire group engaged and chatting with each other. From the moment Peter picked us up at 6.30am we knew we were in for a great day. I can't speak highly enough of this tour company - they really do go the extra mile. Peter is a walking ( and driving ) encylopedia on the history and current events of Fraser Island and everywhere to and from! Like previous reviewers we had the best day ever - this company really does go the extra mile. Home made bikkes for morning tea on the beach and lamingtons on the journey home. The barbecue lunch was delicious with fresh and tasty salads to succulent steaks, 100% beef sausages and fish with seconds if you wanted and enjoyed in a beautiful picnic area at lake McKenzie. Beverages were plentiful - no scrimping at all. The early morning beach drive was a special experience - it's not every day one gets to drive along unspoilt beaches with their own traffic signs!
I highy recommend this tour - you will not be disappointed. If you also enjoy comedy then make sure you book a tour with Peter - we are still laughing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fraser Island Adventure Tours also viewed

 
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Fraser Island Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing