We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just tops all round”

Karma Waters Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 187 Restaurants in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Karma Waters offers beachfront dining with stunning ocean views right on Mooloolaba Esplanade. Blending modern Australian cuisine with Portuguese inspired flavours and spices, the Karma Waters menu boasts unique and hearty dishes. Using the best local produce, our kitchen creates dishes that capture the distinct flavours and spices Portuguese cuisine is known for. Our breakfast menu boasts generous dishes with a wide range of hearty, healthy and traditional dishes. Our lunch and dinner menus introduce our Portuguese influence with signature dishes such as the Espatada, Trinchado, Portuguese Seafood Rice, and Macau African Spicy Chicken. We are proud of our reputation as one of the best restaurants in Mooloolaba, having been voted as most outstanding restaurant in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Stop in for one of our Karma Nights Specials, or sign up to the database for exclusive Locals Menus and Offers.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

As a group of five children and four adults we were pleasantly surprised with the excellent and cordial service we received from all the staff.
Karma Waters is amongst a large number of competing restuarants along the absolutely fantastic Mooloolaba strip with refreshing ocean waterfont outlook.
Quite frankly it is beyond words to adequately express my appreciation for the fine dining experience the total staff provided.
From the merging of tables and chairs, the continual cold bottled water supply, the taking of the complex order we placed to suit a variety of palates, the ever pleasant, no problem attitute of our waitress SKYE to the par exellence of the the food prepared.
The chefs did an absolutely excellent job, not just in the no fault preparation of the complexity of dishes but to also have them all prepared at the same time...none of this dragging out one after the other scenario.
As a matter of fact some days later whilst again in the area I made a special visit to KARMA WATERS to complement them on the totality of our satisfaction for the service provided.
I must mention also, that their prices were most reasonable and affordable and the servings close to beyond capacity to consume.
Trust everyone will have as incredible experience and satisfaction as we have enjoyed.......Good on you SKYE..you are worthy of the accalades.
Roy and Family
mimasaloi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mimasaloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmawaters, Owner at Karma Waters Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Roy and Family

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. You have taken the time to thank everyone in our team both front and back in the Kitchen, which is so important as it is this team effort that brings you the service & great food you have enjoyed. It is especially delightful for staff members when they have been personally mentioned and to be honest, Skye has not be with us that long yet proven a valuable member of our team!

As a team we have worked so hard to build Karma waters reputation and to keep it up there has a favorite among locals and tourists too.

We hope that you will remember us for next time you visit. We are so pleased we could accommodate such an appreciative person.

Take care
Kellie & Tex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,027 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Karma Waters last night! We went to celebrate New Years eve with friends and enjoyed a great 3 course dinner. The prawns and barra were to die for and we all enjoyed the lemon tart :) We had some yummy cocktails too.

It was a shame that they ran out of sangria very early in the night, we were looking forward to trying it, and we had over an hour wait between entree's and mains - but it was a full house.

Great atmosphere though we will be back again. Thanks for a great night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AFK_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmawaters, Owner at Karma Waters Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Karma Waters. Thanks for selecting us as the destination to celebrate the New Year!

We are sorry the Sangria ran out as well, we didn't anticipate the 1st sitting to drink so much of it, but this will certainly help us plan for next year.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you again at Karma waters.
Regards
Kellie & Tex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a huge fan of burgers I can honestly say that the beef burger at karma waters is the best I've eaten and will be going back there tomorrow for another.. Service and price were both great also.. Give it a go..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BradB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmawaters, Owner at Karma Waters Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Hi
Thanks for your review about our beef burgers. They are pretty special and full of flavour. We get quite a few comments. Our patties are made on premise with the finest quality beef.

So pleased to hear you enjoyed it, it is quite a big serving size to get through.

Regards
Kellie & Tex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

lovely food, surprisingly well-priced for the restaurant being located in the main mooloolaba food precinct. yeah waiters could have been more attentive.. but the food was good.

Thank family_of_four_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmawaters, Owner at Karma Waters Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Karma waters. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and we value your opinion.
Regards
Kellie & Tex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

not really Portuguese. Bad service. be prepared to wait for 30 minutes before the entrée arrives. Food is very expensive for the quality provided. stay away from this one...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ksivasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmawaters, Owner at Karma Waters Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hi there

We are SO disappointed to read your review. We are working so hard to ensure all of our customers are leaving happy. I'm not really sure when you dined as we have had no complaints throughout December that needed addressing. If a customer has a reason to feel heard, we ensure that they are, so I'm not sure why you did not speak to us at the restaurant or contact us online to chat about your experience.

I would just like to explain that we are not a Portuguese Restaurant, we have a Portuguese influence in our cuisine. There IS a difference.

If we were Portuguese you would find that 99% of our menu would be rather spicy served with Peri Peri & served traditionally. Cuisine varies in Portugal but the main dishes such as "Bacalhau" (Salted Cod), Grilled sardines, horse mackerel "Caldeirada." (Fish Stew), "cozido à portuguesa," (meat stew), tripe with haricot beans are all dishes we have tried in our specials and have not been popular. We have found from our 6 years in this Restaurant that the majority of our customers enjoy the flavors we use in our meals which have been influenced and arranged to meet the tastes of our community. We do use our own Peri-Peri sauce which is mild, if we were to serve it traditionally our cuisine would be too hot for most to handle. Unfortunately, due to the size of our Kitchen, we are unable to do Char-grilled flat Chicken, however, we do offer other chicken dishes that compliment our theme and menu.

30 minutes is to long to wait for your entree and if this is the case I apologise. I am sure that one of our staff members would have informed you what the wait was as this is out of character.

Our menu is reasonable priced, I think you will find the same as the average on Mooloolaba Esplanade.

You are welcome to contact us via email if you wish to discuss your experience, however as you haven't made contact prior to this review I presume you are not interested.

I'm sorry to read this review, as it dampens our spirits.. we work so hard to ensure that ALL of our customers leave happy. As you will see from our feedback over the last 6 months, we are building a very strong rapport with customers.

Our business is our life, we live and breath this restaurant and a very blunt review such as yours really affects us. We will however discuss your email as a group and see how we can use it to improve our services in the future.

Tex & Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Waters Restaurant also viewed

Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Karma Waters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing