We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locatation, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great locatation, great value”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night weekend stay at Dockside in one of their 3 bedroom apartments which was very comfortable even for a large group. Margo was extremely helpful right through the reservation process and during our stay providing lots of information and tips on what to do. The apartment itself was very clean and well equipped with TVs with both sports and kids channels, large fridge, cooking facilities with plenty of crockery and utensils. The complex was also well maintained and very clean with the highlight being the heated pool which was warm enough for the kids to swim despite nightime temperatures dropping to just 7 degrees. The location is close to McDonalds and many other restaurants (Shalibar Indian and Crust Pizza were yummy!) and takeaways, less than 5 mintues walk to the beach and Esplanade, Underwaterworld and parks- everything you need is within walking distance. With all that around you i would expect a bit of noise so am a bit surprised by some of the comments on here- If you are looking for R&R and peace and quiet the Sunshine Coast has wonderful cabin retreats in the hinterland. If you are looking for value for money you wont find better and we will be back next time we visit the Sunshine Coast

Room Tip: The building is actually located in a quiet cul de sac with just the end corner of the building faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocksideMooloolaba, Manager at Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Dockside. We are glad that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back to Mooloolaba soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Good location but wife had to sleep on lounge due to the bed ... Every time you move even slightly it could be felt by the other person but one good thing is that the lounge wasn't that bad to sleep on , her neck didn't hurt that bad after the third night !!! Yes we had problems with people walking home in the small hours of the morning and also having them standing out side of mc Donald's for a hour yelling and swearing was a bit annoying . But the thing that annoyed me the most is we only had one roll of toilet paper for three days for two adults and two kids .we phoned reception for another roll and was told we would have to buy some . surely for the money they recieve from our booking they can afford to supply toilet paper . No wonder most Australians decide to go overseas rather than holiday in there own country .... At least third world countries supply toilet paper to their guests .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocksideMooloolaba, Manager at Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Mr Church, we were sorry to hear of your issues with your stay at Dockside, let me address your points one by one:

Firstly, we are sorry that Mrs Church had to sleep on the lounge. As you arrived out of office hours, we asked that you call at reception the following morning to ‘complete check-in’ – an opportunity to meet you and advise that there was a rooftop spa which was an optional extra with your apartment and was not included in the special promotional rate that you paid for your Labour holiday weekend - approximately half the usual low season rate.
Had you done so, this would have been a perfect time for you or your wife to advise us that she was finding the bed uncomfortable. Some people like a firm mattress, some of soft one and usually apartment owners buy the one that they find comfortable – we could have tried to move you to another apartment or perhaps supplied a rollaway bed for you or one of your teenage sons so your wife could sleep in a bed. None of your issues were even raised via the in room comment card.
Dockside is a self-contained/self-catering apartment complex which comes supplied with a starter kit of tea, coffee etc and of course a full toilet roll plus a spare part toll in the bathroom vanity. Unlike hotels, these apartments are not serviced daily and the rate reflects this. They are meant to be your temporary holiday home where you would naturally purchase your own supplies. We accept that many do not want to buy a pack of 4 toilet rolls from the supermarket and offer the supply of single rolls for $1 from reception during office hours. Your mid-evening call to our after-hours number on a public holiday was answered and we offered re-open the office, alternatively there was a Night Owl across the road or a nearby Service Station.
Mooloolaba is a busy place over holiday weekends so like anywhere else you sometimes get inconsiderate people talking as they walk home late at night – this would be a problem anywhere for light sleepers. When this goes on for any length of time, the police usually take care of it – we will pass on your comments to the local beat office.
As for the rooftop spa which we found on your departure uncovered and running, the cover having been ripped off and damaged, we did advise that you would not be charged for its use or the wasted electricity. Also you will be glad to know we were able to remove all the fragments of polystyrene and nylon cover from the boogie board that your son broke up from the pool and surrounds without any damage to the filtration system. Nor were you charged for the phone call made from the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment, it was nothing like what was pictured but was comfortable. It was perfectly located and close to everything which was great. The downside was the noise at night, hoons driving up and down and lots of yelling as people were walking home in the small hours of the morning.
The furnishings are tired and one of the couches needs replacing as it had a gaping rip under the cushions so whoever sat there sunk into. The iron was damaged and no ironing board was provided. The apartment was quite grimy, it needs a very good clean with thick layers of grit/dust on door frames and dirty handprints on walls and doors. The vacuum cleaner provided was absolutely full, it had abviously not been emptied in a very long time. To cover burn marks on the carpet in the master bedroom mats had been placed over the burns, unfortunately the mats were placed in a very tripable location. The people who ran the place were very pleasant.. So with a good clean and some sound proofing the place would be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glammaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocksideMooloolaba, Manager at Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Our apologies for the delay in responding - we did not get notice that a review had been posted through the usual contact.

We are glad that you found the location good - the night noise you experienced happens occasionally at the weekends but luckily we do not suffer from it as much as other areas. Only one or two apartments are affected by it when it happens.

All our apartments are individually owned and so are decorated according to the taste of the owner. The apartment you stayed in has recently changed hands and we have discussed the furnishings with the new owners having previously recommended double glazing to their predecessors - this has been done in another apartment effectively.

The iron has been replaced, although the damage was only cosmetic, and we have moved the ironing board from the master bedroom wardrobe to the laundry area to make it easier to find. The vacuum cleaner filter was blocked and has been throroughly cleaned.

Cleanliness in our apartments is very important to us and we have spoken to our cleaning contractors about your comments. We agree with your remarks regarding the carpet in the master bedroom and will pass them on to the new owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Clean, spacious rooms, 3 bedroom apartment with ensuite however traffic and construction noise was an issue. Hoon cars cruising all hours of the night. It is located within walking distance to the beach, shops (including Coles) and fast food outlets, with a bus stop to Sunshine Plaza located just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usarthurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocksideMooloolaba, Manager at Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The good news is that the building work nearby is almost completed, the crane came down this weekend and this will greatly reduce the noise factor as most of the remaining work is inside, fitting out the new offices.

Regards

Tony & Margo Mahood
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Dockside Apartments, and we will be staying there again. Self contained apartments are nice and roomy, two balconies are a plus, and the heated pool is a real bonus. You don't need a car here, as everything is within walking distance. My only complaint would be that an extra bbq would be good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank good_advice_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
310 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Just back from a magic two week break - Dockside is tucked away in a side street - a real hidden gem. We stayed in a lovely two bed apartment with well appointed kitchen/lounge. Really enjoyed the setting - apartments were self catering and a real home away from home. Flat screen TV's in lounge and main bedroom, two balconies, good breezes and air conditioning. Lovely pool area (although the beach beckoned us!) Very easy walk to the restaurants on the front, the supermarket & to the beach. Barbara the onsite manager was very cheerful - nothing too much of a problem. Kitchen was appointed with all the right gadgets, two way bathroom, quality mattress, cable TV - all the usuals. What we really liked was that we we close enough to walk to the front beach for swim, but without all the hype of the high rise apartments (and the price tag/noise!) Favourite moment was lounging on the sofa, feet up reading the paper!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiffy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
84 The Spit Holiday Apartments
0.6 mi away
Osprey Apartments
Osprey Apartments
#1 of 30 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba

Property: Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba
Address: Cnr Foote & Burnett Streets, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia (Formerly Dockside Holiday Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 2 and 3 bedroom apartments within tropical gardens in a 3 story walk up close to the centre of Mooloolaba yet in a quiet no exit street. With a heated swimming pool and BBQ area, Dockside Apartments is a great place for your Sunshine Coast holiday. All apartments are air conditioned and have a full kitchen and laundry with balconies front and back. Secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Apartments Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing