We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartments”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed in Room 9 on the 4th floor and stayed for 4 nights.
We only have great things to say about Malibu Apartments.
The layout and the furnishings in this particular apartment was so practical and of high quality.
We were concerned when we read about the noise from the rubbish chute but we barely noticed it at all.
Brian (the owner) was very helpful whenever we had a query or request.
We look forward to our next holiday there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We went with friends for 8 nights in Feb and stayed on the 8th floor (room 17) and our friends stayed in room 18 on the 9th floor. We were instantly impressed with the full ocean views from the balcony. As the room had smelt of cleaner I opened all the windows, which was great except all the heat (it was VERY hot/humid) came in and we didnt realise until we went to bed there was NO aircon in any of the bedrooms!!! (all apts have 2 bedrooms) This unfortunately was the biggest negative, as the aircon unit is over 20 metres away in the loungeroom!! We fixed the problem by closing all the bathroom and spare room doors and putting the aircon on 24/7 so it could reach the bedroom (note this would not be a problem at cooler times of the year).
Overall, the free parking (very tight spots), great views, great spa bath and great kitchen facilities make Malibu a great choice. Personally I thought apt 18 on the 9th floor was better, and the higher up the less noise you get from rubbish shute (theres 10 floors), but overall its in a great location amongst the restaurants and has laundry facilities in the apt too. Note there is NO internet....we ended up picking up the hotspot from the Sirocco and purchasing off their internet provider - we could only get it from our balcony, but when we took the computer to our friends in room 18 it picked up faster and inside! Not cheap at $16 for 2 hours over 3 days.....but we paid it for convenience sakes....i believe they are looking at getting internet, so check first.
Definitely recommended, by both ourselves and our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Malibu Mooloolaba is a very nice place to stay as they have nice rooms and facilities. We like it because they have large apartments with guaranteed ocean views. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Apartment (Unit 8) on the 4th floor and it was very stylish and modern - see photos. It had been recently refurbished and had a queen in the main bedroom and LCD on the wall and a double bed in the second bedroom. There are ocean glimpses from the bedrooms and 180 degree million dollar views from the balcony and lounge/dining room.

There is a fully self contained kitchen so you can cook in the room. The lounge and dining room has a nice lounge and a big LCD television. There is a nice spa bath in the main bathroom which we enjoyed. Malibu has a pool area on the 2nd floor with a lap pool and spa - it is all very quiet so is great for the kids to play. The managers are very friendly and helpful.

Malibu is located in the middle of a restaurant strip with lots of dining options nearby at resonable prices. The patrolled surf beach is just across the road and the Coles Supermarket is just 3 mins walk away.

We always stay at Malibu when at Mooloolaba as it is a secluded hideaway on Mooloolaba Esplanade.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller2297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We have stayed here on one other occasion and had a great room with a fantastic view. Unfortunately this was not so, this time. The Malibu is advertised with all rooms having a view of the ocean from the balcony but we learned this is not the case. We were in Unit 5 and whilst we had a very small courtyard at the front of the unit ( not mentioned in any accommodation guide), there was no view or privacy as it was the access point for the pool and BBQ area. The lap pool runs along the perimeter wall of the Unit 5 and on the first 2 nights of our stay the pool pump motor ran throughout the night. Let me tell you loud constant noise and vibration can drive you crazy when sleep is deprived! We spoke to the manager after the first sleepless night and only after a very late night call to his mobile on the second night was the pump motor turned off. Lack of privacy and noise from both the pool and the BBQ at your doorstep also interfered with the holiday, not to mention the constant drops through the garbage shoot from the 8 floors above, which hit the skip bin directly under the floor of Unit 5. It took us a day or two to work out what the noise was. The units are being refurbished and not before time. There was no compensation from either the management or the website we booked our accommodation through for our troubles. It is a new site that we haven't used before and we won't book through them again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Great place to stay, amazing views and one of the few places in Mooloolaba that can guarantee full 180 degree sea views. It is currently being refurbished as well which is only going to make it better. Huge rooms, two bathrooms, one with a spa, great reception service. Only small thing was that the air conditioning units next door were quite loud - we were on the south side of the building so I would recommend being on the north side (the odd apartments numbers) as it didn't look like this was as issue on that side.
Couldn't get a better location, right in the middle of all of the shops and restaurants.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spurtlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peninsular Beachfront Resort
Peninsular Beachfront Resort
#2 of 30 in Mooloolaba
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seamark On First
Seamark On First
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments

Property: Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments
Address: 81 Mooloolaba Esp, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Mooloolaba - walk out the front door to all the shops and cafes of Mooloolaba Esplanade. Park you car and walk to everything. Malibu offers an Unbeatable Location at an affordable price. We stride to offer the best value for money on the Sunshine Coast. Surf, Swim, Beach and Sun what more could you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments Hotel Mooloolaba
Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing