We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Property, Close to the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pandanus Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Awesome Property, Close to the Beach”
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at the Pandanus in "Winter'. The average daytime temperature was around 22 degress celcius so it was just lovely. We enjoyed views to the mountains and the beach. The property is only a three minute walk from the beach and cafes.

The property is great. We had a three bedroom apartment which cost around AU$600 for three days. Friends from Brisbane joined us for the weekend with a young child and it was perfect. We were on the sixth floor.

The master bedroom had a very spacious en suite and walk in wardrobe. There was a flat screen television in the bedroom and the bed was new and comfortable. There was a second master bedroom adjacent to the third bedroom at the other end of the apartment so perfect for a family. The third bedroom had two single beds. All bedrooms have access to balconies.

The common areas are huge. The kitchen was fully equiped (although it lacked a plunger for the morning coffee). There is a dining table and a table on the deck. The main sitting area was very comfortable and there was a large flat screen TV and DVD player.

There is no internet access in the hotel but there is a good wireless service at Mooloolaba.

The complex has a good lap pool (heated) and a generous spa pool.

The host was excellent and very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here a couple of years ago and liked it. The 9 floor apartment block is behind the sea front blocks and next to the main car park and bus stops.

It's a modern building and the apartments have a very large main room / kitchen with 2 bedrooms at the back and an en-suite room at the front. Large balconies are at both ends and there are great views over Mooloolaba to the sea and inland to the Glasshouse Mountains and the Blackall Range. Our room was fairly high up.

The rooms are modern, bright, clean and in good condition. With the large sliding doors open it gives a completely open feel. We had some amazing sunsets and had about 20 days of sun in our stay. There was frequently a Butcher Bird on the balcony that greeted us in the morning. Aussies may think this nothing much but to me it had a great call.

There are 3 lifts in the building for pairs of apartments on each floor. Car parking is in 2 basement floors and each apartment has 2 spaces and room for visitors. The main car park outside is free of charge and in May had room except on holiday weekends.

There is a small gym that has one of most bits of kit, some floor mats and swiss balls, no proper weights and a TV and aircon.

The manager, Simon, is very helpful. Reception has some seating and leaflets but is a bit functional. Security seems quite good, with swipe cards giving access to the lift and at night to the entrance.

The ground floor has some local businesses, like a doctor and an estate agent.

Other points are;

The pool, spa and barbecue area are on the 2nd floor and are in good condition but a bit tight and spartan.

TV reception isn't too good on some channels, although I'm told its a regional thing, not the apartments.

At weekend there is some noise from nearby bars and people (werewolves?) walking (crawling) home very late (or early). Although it isn't as bad as the place we stayed in before near the Wharf.

Overall the Pandanus is a very good place to stay. We had quite a few family visitors and I felt pleased that we could offer such accommodation.

The area around the Pandanus is generally quietish but within 100 yards you can walk through the beachfront blocks to smart cafes and restaurants and then onto the beach. When we've travelled up on the Greyhound bus the stop is right next door. Alternatively you can drive onto the Sunshine Motorway not far up the road for the Bruce Highway. Buses to local places are next door on the opposite side. There is a Coles, off-license, newsagent and pub along a side street and through an underground car park.

I'll probably write a review on Mooloolaba, a lovely place with good cafes, a nice beach, views and pleasant ambience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Our experience at Pandanus was fantastic.

Our 3 bedroom apartment (we stayed in apartment 24) was at least as good as the photos and it was huge. with a 2 year old child and an infant, that made for a great stay - room to run and hide... the location of this place was also perfect. it's a 1 minute walk from the main esplanade, and probably a 3 minute walk to the marina/warf (underwater world, dining options and boat cruises) and 3 minute walk to Coles/Plaza. So central, we only used the car to get to Noosa and Australia zoo etc. We had good views (some mild beach views from each balcony) yes 2 large and furnished balconies! And good modcons within the apartment.

The price was great for our experience and we had no regrets staying here after canceling our reservation at Zanzibar upon reading bad reports on it's upkeep and noise levels...

We'll be back.

  • Liked — Size and comfort plus location
  • Disliked — it wasn't free...ha!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Pandanus apartments are HUGE. These modern apartments can be rented as 1,2 or 3 bedrooms. They are very modern and have quality fittings and two very big balconies. All bedrooms are large and the 2nd bedroom can be made up as a twin or king bed. Located in the middle of Mooloolaba just one block back from the beach (a 2 minute walk) the upper apartments have extensive sea and hinterland views (Apt 34 has the best views). The on site manager, Simon Hudson is very efficient, responding promptly to email enquiries and is very obliging in meeting guests requests. This is a very secure building requiring key access to lifts and parking. Our apartment was clean and well presented with ample dining equipment. There is a modern laundry. As with most apartments, servicing is provided only after one week for longer stays. There was no noise from adjoining apartments and the balconies are quite private. Minor quibbles - the pool is very small (lap pool). Adequate for adults but may not appeal to families. Would have been nice to have a BBQ on the balcony as it is a bit of a hike to the pool/BBQ area from the 9th floor! Whilst the main bedroom has an ensuite, the 2nd/3rd bedrooms share the main bathroom, however the toilet is in the laundry (not the main bathroom). There is some noise from nearby restaurants and a nightclub, more so on weekends, but it is not too bad if the windows are closed (the apartment is fully airconditioned). All in all this is a property that can be recommended, particularly for adult couples, and apartments can be shared by two couples easily whilst maintaining individual privacy.

  • Liked — spacious and modern
  • Disliked — small pool, main toilet in laundry
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hylands41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 16 in Mooloolaba
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#10 of 16 in Mooloolaba
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#3 of 29 in Mooloolaba
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
Breeze Mooloolaba Beach
#6 of 16 in Mooloolaba
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osprey Apartments
Osprey Apartments
#1 of 29 in Mooloolaba
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Mooloolaba

Property: Pandanus Mooloolaba
Address: 15-21 Smith St, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pandanus Mooloolaba 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xxxxx ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pandanus Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandanus Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing