We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much highway noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mary River Motor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice new room with a king size bed but the room we were in sounded like we had the Bruce Highway coming through the room! It could have been a tunnelling effect between the two rows of rooms but if you go to book here ask for a room closer to the reception. The restaurant doesn't open on Sunday night so we had to catch a cab into town. I can recommend the RSL Bistro restaurant. Good food and friendly service / staff. Can't say I'd stay here again. I said the room was very good because of its fit out - the highway noise in room 123 (anywhere along the row or opposite) was just tragic!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, find somewhere else off the highway or ask for a room opposite the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanhenry, General Manager at Mary River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Keith

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your staff with us, we are under new Management now so we will be making a few good changes in the months to come for our guests.

Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

After a full day on the road this hotel is a joy!

The cleanest roadside hotel I've ever stayed at. We stayed in room 113 it's roomy, comfortable, king bed is fabulous & a big modern delux bathroom

Our room service dinner was quick fresh and tasty. The chocolate cheesecake is a must. Don't forget the breakfast (eggs Benny w/ salmon) & coffee is also great

I wouldn't bother ducking into Noosa for the night now I know about this place

Very happy AAA+

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offroad_femme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanhenry, General Manager at Mary River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we are under new Management now so we will be making a few good changes in the months to come for our guests.

Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Don't let the reservation woman frighten you.
I booked over the phone and like they promised, my receipt and key were under the mat.
The room was hard to find but worth the search.
Good bed, absolutely no noise.
The sleep was so good I overslept.

The place was clean and the shower was great.

Room Tip: I was in 107 and that was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackOntheroad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanhenry, General Manager at Mary River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Jack

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we are under new Management now so we will be making a few good changes in the months to come for our guests.

Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Any Hotel/Motel that take the time to call you by name and recall things about the last time you stayed are a keeper! Owner Manager Karen is lovely. Restaurant was also
Accommodating to my dietary needs. Very clean which I appreciate too!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalesRepQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here 1 night only very nice modern room and extremely clean Could not fault but disappointed to find tariff had increased by 10% since last stay 2 mths prior & somewhat surprised at cost of meals in restaurant???? Noosa is somewhat 45 mins away however meal prices were much the same. If i remember correctly Chicken Schnitzel more than $30 plus extras????
I would stay here again but would again eat out which is disappointing, Hopefully next time will get a room no where near as noisy as one i was in- admittedly it was near the road/ highway.

Room Tip: Awat from entarnce and or highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We chanced upon this Motor Inn when invited to our extended families celebration at the Little Mary's Restaurant which was one of the best "catered" evenings that we had ever experienced. The food was terrific - choice of mains was outstanding and the presentation far exceeded our expectation!
We had a road trip where we just fell short of getting home & decided to stay the night at the Inn! Again we were very pleased with the whole experience. The food was great, choice of bar options way beyond your general Qld motel, the hosts were very friendly and included us in banter; what started out an ordinary evening in a country motel transformed into a very pleasant evening!
The rooms were beautifully laid out, clean, modern and very upmarket for motels generally. Far more like a large chain, new resort than a Qld motel!
Check-in and out was to the point, relatively quick and easy.

There is also easy parking for larger vehicles and caravans with a decent flat car park at the rear of the premises with rear road access. What more could you want!

Will we do it again; definitely and in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: I prefer to book direct with this Motor Inn as the pricing is really insignificant - very straight u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanhenry, General Manager at Mary River Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Ian

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we are under new Management now so we will be making a few good changes in the months to come for our guests.

We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi

Modern motel on highway with nice patio area and pool where we enjoyed a sundowner. Comfortable room but I prefer individual soaps, shampoo instead of the dispensers. Somewhat gloomy unless lights switched on

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disappointedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gympie hotels
0.9 mi away
Gympie Muster Inn
Gympie Muster Inn
#2 of 5 in Gympie
82 reviews
3.4 mi away
Great Eastern Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Verandah Motel
Verandah Motel
#1 of 5 in Gympie
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shady Rest Motel
Shady Rest Motel
#2 of 6 in Gympie
62 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lake Barra Cottages
Lake Barra Cottages
#2 of 9 in Gympie
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal
The Royal
#6 of 6 in Gympie
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary River Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary River Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Oak St & Bruce Highway, Gympie, Queensland 4570, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Gympie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Gympie
Price Range: $127 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best Gympie has to offer. Stylish accommodation, Conference and Function Facilities, Little Mary's Bar and Restaurant. Delicious food and fine wine mixed with modern, comfortable surrounds and friendly staff make for a memorable stay. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mary River Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing