We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal
Ranked #6 of 6 Gympie B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We got a cheap deal through wotif so weren't expecting much but as we were only staying one night we didn't mind. When we got there we were very confused as there were no signs to say where to check in - it turns out you have to check in with the bar staff at the bar which felt a little odd. However, they were very friendly and the room given was very nice - small but very clean and recently done up. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we both got a good night's sleep. The food at their restaurant was excellent too. There were no tourist information leaflets provided anywhere in the hotel and the info centre on the highway and in the centre are both closed, and as the staff didn't know the wifi password we had to spend tedious time looking for things to do on our phone, but apart from that we were very happy with our stay at the royal, especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcockarocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We too stayed at this hotel to minimize the driving to the zoo... Worst decision ever!! After finally figuring out where to check in and being told to there was no allocated parking and good luck getting a space we get to our rooms! Although rooms are nice that's where it ends! We were advised that there is a bar and it gets quiet busy but the noise will be a minimum... Wrong!! 8pm the doof doof music started and with a 1 year old , 3 year old and 3 others in the family room and a 22 week first time mum in a queen across the hall this is not something One would expect to have to put up with until 3am! Some warning about the level of noise would have been appreciated so we could decide if this was something we were willing to put up with for the price!! NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Mel0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gympie hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We agree with another reviewer who said that hotel operation came second to bar and entertainment.
Finding where to check in was not clear and required weaving through bar customers.

In our room
- the blind didn't work and wouldn't go up so the room was dark and stuffy
- the aircondioner, which needed to be on all the time, was extremely noisy
- there was no hot water on Saturday night and Sunday morning
- there was only one reading lamp
- only one key was available
- the 'free' broadband was available only if you provided your own lead
- the hand basin was blocked although cleaned as soon as we drew attention to it [we wondered what the cleaners had made of a non-emptying handbasin and blind that wouldn't go up]
- the lack of parking even for unloading, while advised on the website, is annoying
- the fire alarm that went off for around 30 minutes after 10.30 on Friday evening was followed after a period of glorious silence by another short alarm
-

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We've had the pleasure of staying at The Royal a few times. One occasion in a family size room and others on overnight business trips in double room. The exterior of the pub has that warm country hospitality feel and inside the bars and rooms were clean and tastefully decorated to look quiet modern. The customer service has been constistently friendly and efficient. Each stay the staff go above and beyond their duties to ensure we have a great stay. Our meals from the restaurant were delicious. Our sleep peaceful and relaxing. Thank you Royal!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were passing through Gympie on the drive from Hervey Bay to Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo in Beerwah. We chose to stay in Gympie to minimize night driving on the "wrong" side of the road, while still getting an early start at the zoo the following morning.

Facilities-OK for the price
The room was small, but nice and recently remodeled. No elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up stairs. Lorikeets in the neighboring park were loud all night. After hours access is only through an exterior fire escape next to the storage/trash bins.

Check-In: Terrible, completely ignored
We called to ensure the restaurant would be open if we arrived late and were assured that they would be open until 9p. We arrived before 8p and wandered through the bar and restaurant because there was no obvious place to check in and the bartender who was responsible for late check-in completely ignored us for 10 min. Other patrons actually had to help us to no avail when we were ignored again. We finally got checked in and sat down to eat only to find out that we were barely able to get our restaurant order in because they were closing the kitchen. Why tell us to arrive by 9p if we you are closing the kitchen at 8p!?!?! We got lucky we were able to get dinner here at all.

Internet Problems: More horrible service.
Their internet passwords did not work. When we called the front desk for help, no effort was made to resolve the connection problems. We were simply told to keep trying the incorrect passwords over and over again. The tone was that we were troubling them to even ask.

Conclusion
The primary business of this place is the operation of the restaurant and bar. The hotel operation is clearly secondary on their list of priorities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank USCott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was just for a business trip, booked by a colleague. However the rooms were very pleasant, they had done a good job with the space. Just a few comments based on my room. There was no light in the bathroom, obviously an oversight with the renovation, so I had a plug in lamp on the floor. This made it very dark to see into the mirror, and probably not the most safety conscious idea! Also the television was very old, and would only intermittantly show different channels. It was slightly noisy in the evening as it is a pub and the road outside was quite busy, but I still got a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylou007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed a night in one of the first floor rooms. Very comfortable bed and the room was nicely decorated. Extremely noisy however when ever someone used the bathroom in an adjourning room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaursMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gympie hotels
0.2 mi away
Gympie Muster Inn
Gympie Muster Inn
#1 of 5 in Gympie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Eastern Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Shady Rest Motel
Shady Rest Motel
#2 of 6 in Gympie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mary River Motor Inn
Mary River Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Gympie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verandah Motel
Verandah Motel
#2 of 5 in Gympie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lagoon Pocket Bed & Breakfast
Lagoon Pocket Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Lagoon Pocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal

Property: The Royal
Address: 190 Mary St, Gympie, Queensland 4570, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Gympie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gympie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing