We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
254 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“What a fabulous motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to find a very large and tastefully decorated room with a very trendy bathroom full of soft fluffy towels. The bed was excellent. Firstly we though it would be noisy as the highway is very close but no, a very quiet night. As if this wasn't good enough, we found the restaurant fare to be superb. Dishes came out looking like they were straight out of Masterchef and I must sy that I enjoyed the best fillet steak of my life. Breakfast was also super. The owners/managers were also very friendly and helpful - makes a difference. Look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Our room fronted the highway and yet it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    65
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
62
82
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were unable to use the restaurant as it was closed for a function which we had not been told about at the time of our booking. Nevertheless this is a very comfortable motel and one would stay at again. Good clean quiet rooms on the very edge of town. Well worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaguar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was the third stop on the drive from Melbourne to Noosa. It was about 5 hours drive from Dubbo to Goondiwindi. The road was good conditions. I arrived at the motor inn to a nice surprise of it being modern, clean & new. The car could be parked outside the door which was an option I was looking for. The room was a good size, the bathroom was modern & very clean. The TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities were nice comforts in the room. I had a nice welcome, and the staff were very friendly. If I had to stay in Goondiwindi again I would definitely return to this motor inn as my accommodation option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WonderSuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel. The room and bed were very comfortable with a lovely big bathroom. We were welcomed and looked after extremely well by the very friendly host. The best part is the restaurant which has excellent food, a shame it was not open for breakfast but our dinner was delicious. It's not often you find a motel of this calibre in rural areas.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This property is very well looked after and is run by excellent staff. Was welcomed with a warm greeting by people who you can tell enjoy their job.

The beds are very comfy, the TV has Austar and is a decent LCD. My pet hates are showerheads. The Ascot has modernised showers with the heads ABOVE your head to you don't have to perform yoga to wash your head! It is easily adjustable though if you don't want to wash your hair.

I have not tried the attached Cascades Restaurant, however the menu looks very extensive and I'm sure there is something for everyone.

I had a quick view of the rooms around the corner from Ascot and they were no where near as nice as they had a very motel look in the rooms.

I will continue enjoying my stay here and will continue to make it 1st on my list for any future Goondiwindi stays.

Thanks Ascot.

Room Tip: Internet didn't seem to work down the back. Try being close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here on the way to Brisbane from Melbourne. I got a Wotif 'Wot Hotel' deal which made it quite affordable.

The location is great, just off the Newell/Cunningham Highway in Goondiwindi. It's then a short drive into the town centre. I was greeted by Bob on arrival who seems to be the main owner/operator. Bob was very helpful, friendly and genuinely interested in my travels while being very efficient with the check-in process. He even addressed my by name during the entire stay which is a small touch that makes a huge difference. This continued throughout the stay until check out. When out on the road traveling solo it's nice to have such a homely feel coupled with the modern accommodation you would expect in the big city.

The room was a tad on the small side but OK for the Wot Hotel price of $99. It was very tastefully decorated and modern with a nice comfortable bed, sofa, reasonable TV with pay channels and a desk to do business on. The bathroom was spacious and modern with handy non-slip tiles. The entire room was spotlessly cleaned. For an independently-owned establishment, the entire setup was great. A small issue was the noise from other guests using the pool area and carpark, even at 7am in the morning. Other than this the sleep quality was excellent.

The restaurant was a little expensive for dinner the evening- if they are aiming at a fine-dining market this is OK, but I managed to get a two-course meal in town for less than the price of a pasta dish. However, I understand that hotel prices are more likely to be inflated, and the prices are not prohibitive if you can't get into town. In the morning, the breakfast was priced well and I enjoyed a perfectly cooked eggs Benedict in the beautiful restaurant area. The breakfast was delicious and gets full marks, as it was just what was needed to get back on the road for the journey ahead.

Obviously the improvement can come from more amenities- WiFi internet, a bathtub in the room, but at this price tier the level of value was outstanding.

A big thanks to Bob and the team for a great stay in this comfortable and modern space with outstanding service at all points of contact. I look forward to returning again and wouldn't hesitate to do so again for the price of $99.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

It was a great place to stay. This was one of the most spacious family units that we had stayed at. While it was a little dearer then some of the others in town it was worth the extra money. It was clean, spacious and offered great family accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goondiwindi hotels
0.7 mi away
The Town House Motor Inn
The Town House Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
#7 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Binalong Motel
Binalong Motel
#5 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Roads Motor Inn
Country Roads Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Goondiwindi Motel
Goondiwindi Motel
#8 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macintyre Motor Inn
Macintyre Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 2 Pharlap Ct, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn is Goondiwindi's newest motel accommodation and licensed restaurant. A total refurbishment completed in December, 2012 provides an ultra-modern appearance and facilities, enhanced by experienced on-site managers and staff who provide genuine hospitality, with their goal being to exceed the guests' expectation by providing exceptional quality and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing