We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Town House Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was quite delighted with the presentation of this room- it was very welcoming after a long drive. My only gripe with the room ( and why I didn't rate it as excellent) is that the airconditioning is a little underpowered, and the big windows face full west. So, it came up to speed after a couple of hours, but I was mighty hot until it did. The notices ask you to turn off the aircon if you leave the room, but I left it on, had dinner, and a walk & then returned to a cool room. If I'd turned it off, I'd have had a 2 hour wait to cool down. Otherwise, a lovely style of room. A quick gripe about the restaurant, though. If you are going to charge fine dining prices for not quite fine dining food, at least the service should be excellent. When the restaurant is empty & there is a staff of 5, why would I be pouring my own water? I guess it was a case of not understanding what wait staff are meant to do. Goondiwindi is a tiny place, so the restaurant was pretty good, considering. Id stay there again, but ask for an east facing room.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank LPNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are in the process of organising an awning to be bulit to combat your concerns so hopefully by the time you stay next the western sun will be off those rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

After a long drive from Melbourne and a couple of attempts to find accommodation we were thrilled with our choice. A late arrival we were greeted with a personal touch by Lisa. The rooms for a family of 4 were spotless and the beds were SOOOO comfortable and clean. A great nights stay in a lovely little motel. Even though the bathrooms are a little dated they are clean. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a stop over. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We were pleased to be able to accommodate all of your lovely family on your trip. We look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have to admit, we have traveled via Goondiwindi many times but never ventured into the actual town. Having had a busy week we decided to stop early and drove into Goondiwindi its self, which we have to say is a really nice little town.
This motel is right in town, which meant no noise from a very busy road at the bypass for the town.
The reception was quick and helpful, the room very large, a queen bed and two singles. Spotlessly clean and our room had a cathedral ceiling which made the room feel even larger. Bed was very comfy, and a nice modern bathroom. The menu was amazing the sort of menu you would expect from motels in the capital cities. The only negative comment was the A/C it was the old style, and built into the wall above a cupboard so no access to the controls is possible, there is just an on off switch by the bathroom door, but the worst thing was it rattled - all night, to the point we had to turn it off and then the room became quite hot. If the motel was to install new modern reverse cycle A/C then this motel would go to the very top of our list of great motels.

Room Tip: Check out the A/C before taking the room to see if it rattles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed not only Goondiwindi but also our hotel facilities.
We are glad you thought our menu was of high standard as that is something that our restaurant team and ourselves are striving for.
You will be pleased to know we were already in the process of organising new A/C units before your stay, so hopefully the next time you travel to Goondiwindi you will find them perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My adult son and I stayed here on a road trip from Brisbane to Melbourne and we wish all motels would be like this one! Quick and easy check in and out, free fast wifi, comfy beds, and then there is the restuarant! When we checked the menu in our room we thought there must be a mistake. The menu is like one we would expect in an upmarket big city restuarant, but no mistake, the Sundowner Restuarant is excellent. Good service, great food, reasonable prices....what more does one need. We recommend this motel for all of you driving between Brisbane and Melbourne.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be away from the main road, so all should be as quiet as the one we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolf m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our fast, friendly service, our rooms and our fast & free WiFI.
At the time of you dining with us our menu had only been released for a week so both we and our chef are overwhelmed that you and your son enjoyed the experience and meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and two teenage children on our way down South. Clean room, friendly service and comfortable queen beds. Great pressure in the shower. Found this motel on Trip Advisor and would definitely recommend this to others for a family stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are very excited that you and all of your family enjoyed the facilities which the Town House has to offer. Our shower pressure is something which we often get positive comments on and it is nice to see another one, especially coming from a family. Thank you once again.
David and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Town House Sundowner and will happily repeat the experience in the future. Clean room, robust internet, excellent shower and bathroom, and excellent restaurant. If you enjoy seafood with your pasta, I recommend the seafood spaghetti - nicely done. Lisa is an attentive hostess and was attentive to our smallest requests. The location is excellent and convenient to everything.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and restaurant, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and meals. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night on business. Check-in was quick and friendly. They didn't require me to fill in a form - just relied on credit card imprint and my mobile phone number which I gave them on making the booking. No real reason why all motels can't do this.
Chose this motel because of its central location and reasonably upmarket appearance and wasn't disappointed. There are several nearby motels that could be classified as "budget" but this one was comfortably in the 3.5 to 4 star category and value at $108 for the night. Given that motels in western Qld tend to be booked out through the week and regularly charge upwards of $120 this was very reasonable.
Rooms are relatively spacious, beds how I like them (firm but not worn out) and all of the fittings were well maintained. Air conditioner was one of the old style units that could be an issue in the summer. Restaurant looks like it is fairly upmarket, with mains around the $30 mark but there were some cheaper options, especially for room service.
Location is very good, being a two block walk to three of the town's pubs; two of which have a good name for their meals (Victoria and Royal). No real traffic noise here as the highways are diverted around the town. Overall a satisfying stay and will be back next time

Room Tip: tends to be first in best dressed with room allocation and parking. I got an upstairs room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheepCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Town House Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Grant,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel.

We trust you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. On your next visit we will try and assist with a downstairs unit, but we have some guests that enjoy the upstairs units to avoid human traffic walking past their unit.

Regards,
Lisa and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goondiwindi hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
#7 of 9 in Goondiwindi
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Binalong Motel
Binalong Motel
#3 of 9 in Goondiwindi
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Country Roads Motor Inn
Country Roads Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Goondiwindi
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Jolly Swagman Motor Inn
The Jolly Swagman Motor Inn
#6 of 9 in Goondiwindi
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macintyre Motor Inn
Macintyre Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Goondiwindi
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Motor Inn

Address: 110 Marshall Street, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia (Formerly The Town House Sundowner)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Price Range: $108 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Town House Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town House Motor Inn & Restaurant prides itself as a premium accommodation and dining destination in Goondiwindi, Queensland. Offering a great quality motel and restaurant in the centre of Goondiwindi, The Town House is the traveller’s first choice. Whether you’re a local with an appreciation for great food, or visiting Goondiwindi on business or leisure, you’ll fall in love with The Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Town House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing