We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Standard Motel Accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Border Motel

Border Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Border Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Antipodes
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Clean, Standard Motel Accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nothing fancy here, and a little frayed around the edges, but the Border Motel is comfortable, warm, and very clean. At $110 a night there isn't much to complain about. Great location a short stagger from the Queenslander Pub for meals, or use the Dominos Pizza joint also nearby.

I booked direct with the motel, and found the fellow on the phone very easy to deal with, and friendly.

Free wifi is advertised, but nothing is mentioned about it at check-in, nor is a password forthcoming unless you ASK. This was the same in every motel we stayed in, if you didn't ask, you didn't get. The free wifi should be proudly declared at check-in, and a password offered up without guests having to chase it up when it comes to mind later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked this hotel room online via quickbeds for $103 for one night, and was a little unsure what to expect. Room, while on the small side, was very clean and had all the basic necessities. The free wifi was easy to connect to and a good quick speed for sending emails, checking Facebook etc. The man who greeted me upon arrival was friendly and helpful. A great spot to stay if you are looking for a clean bed and basics on the way somewhere. Thanks for a nice stay, Border Motel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Am I the only one who is fed up with places saying they have wifi then finding it only works in the managers office and not in your unit. Border Motel is in this situation where I spent an hour trying to answer two text only emails on the slowest wifi I have ever known. It would have been better if there was no wifi then I could have spent that hour in the pub.
After a long day on the road we choose Border Motel by accident.
My single unit was small (cramped), missing its box of tissues, and poor value at $95 for one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goondiwindi hotels

Southern Downs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the moment we checked in we were met with a friendly smile and eager to please proprietor. Rooms are basic and slightly dated but super clean and great beds. This was our first stay and it won't be our last. A little Gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goondiwindi hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
#6 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
The Town House Motor Inn
The Town House Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Binalong Motel
Binalong Motel
#5 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Goondiwindi Motel
Goondiwindi Motel
#8 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macintyre Motor Inn
Macintyre Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Motel

Property: Border Motel
Address: 126 Marshall St, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Border Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Border Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing