We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice managers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caloundra Backpackers
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I dunno i just suddenly remembered this backpackers.. stayed there few times 2-3years ago when i visited Caloundra.. Fred and Lily were the managers, they're very friendly.. they tried to maintain and kept the backpackers clean and comfortable to stay.. Got few times of jobs from Lily, enough to cut out the room's costs ... thanks to both of you.. hope to stay there and meet you again.. :)

Janice, Indonesia

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jktravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

Caloundra Backpackers is a most nice Back packers as far as I know .
I 've never relax at Back Packers.However,There has a clean room and clean public area and so peacefully. I could relax and get good energys.
Owner and family are loves activitys. They doing one's best make fun time for guests.
they are not only business. It's a feel at home!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank satomiLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Andy, you sound too picky. I don't know what you have against Fred because I think he is a great person. Did you not pay for your accommodation on time or did you not clean up after yourself? Fred is a really great caretaker and I think he and Lilly do a wonderful job at the back packers to make people feel welcome. Fred took me me surfing at the beach, helped me find work and went out of his way to show me around. I think you are very hard to please, Andy. And to FRED and Lilly, thank you for making my stay so pleasant:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sair83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

i just stay there for a while in this backpakers and i really don t understand all those reviews .
this backpakers is nice you do so many things there !
The dorms are correct and you have two large kitchens to do all your staff . The manager, Fred is welcoming and really nice he knows a lot about this town and will give you advice for everything around !
It was also nice if you like to go around the city for free with a bike you get one easily !
and more if you want surfing you get a board too, you don t have to pay for that and fred the manager will pick up you and tell you where is the best place to surf .
I felt very cumfortable there ! there is cooking contest, free barbecue and free stand up paddle as well,for me it s one of the best place you don t have to miss in the sunshine coast !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Oh dear! The place is totally full of French fruit pickers who literaly stay there for a year. Yes- they are in bed at 10.00 and up at 5.00am in the week, but at the weekend! An all night French Partyyyy!

The rat poision in the kitchen should warn you - it's a wonder it hasn't been shut down. The rooms are like a prison and the view out is over some demolished houses.

TAKE THIS TIP! Instead, just walk into the accomodation office in the Caloundra high street - they act as agents for all of the accomodation (units) in town. Many places are available for a night of two. For the SAME PRICE as staying here, I got a 2 bedroom apartment with two bathrooms, showers, TV and laundry facilities. Amazing!

Room Tip: Go and book into a unit on the beachfront instead - for the same price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DexterOGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Me and my friends had arrived to work on a strawberry field as the hostel can find you work. My recommendation is you stay there until they get you some work and then leave, so long as the French manager FRED is there i would not stay any longer than you have to. At first he is welcoming but he has very little respect and can be very smug and rude. It wasn't just me as i could easily say that 90% of the people there (Most of them were even french) felt the same way as i did. Quite a few moved out because of him and i eventually moved to the camp site at the strawberry farm as its half the weekly price. It was such a shame as its a nice building with cool balconys and convenient shopping (Coles, K-mart across the road).

The facilities are alright. The toilets,showers etc are good but run for them when you finish work as everyone finishes at the same time or close enough and there isnt enough to deal with a full house by any means at all. The kitchens are quite dispicable. I was happy to have an oven to do baking and other things you come to miss and oven for, but the kitchens were generally very dirty 1. Because of the lack of care that the residents had. 2. The residents that were working for accomodation were limited to 2 hours in the morning to clean the entire hostel (1 person), no more, no less so once again..........Management and 3. A serious lack of plates, cutlery and pretty much everything you needed to cook with (Pots, pans etc) was ready for the bin.

So to put it simply.....Stay, get a job and leave only if fred is there. Good luck

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Hi All,
Must be the invasion of the french ,there is only French and Aussies there. nice spot Caloundra but being from Germany i didn't feel as comfortable as i would have liked.
Sunshine coast has much to offer and in Mooloolaba there is a lovely hostel and all nationalities.
The hostel could have been alot cleaner. And actually reading someone elses review below they were not far off from it not being very clean and is full of boozing young people who don't care much for the premises.
Enjoy Your Travels

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
8.3 mi away
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
#22 of 29 in Mooloolaba
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#2 of 2 in Dicky Beach
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
623 reviews
1.0 mi away
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
#1 of 12 in Kings Beach
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Backpackers

Address: 84 Omrah Ave | Sunshine Coast, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caloundra Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caloundra Backpackers Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing