We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Great view. Great location. Spacious, usable rooms. Well maintained. Friendly and helpful managers.

A quiet and lovely area of the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liiizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for you kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

We had a lovely stay at Moorings Beach Resort. It was a stone's throw form the beach, though not one where you could swim, but it was peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of central Caloundra. We arrived very late, and before the office closed they rang us to give details of how to get in, which was very polite, as I had forgotten to call them myself.
The apartment itself was spacious and modern, with a decent sized kitchen, living space and separate bedroom. The furniture was clean, modern and very comfortable, and we were pleased to have a flatscreen tv where all the channels were clear. The bed was very comfortable and we had two great nights of sleep. The bathroom, though not grandly big, was clean and we were very happy with the spa bath and found the water to be very hot, which often isn't the case!
We actually booked a cheaper garden view room, but were greeted with a lovely view of the ocean and inlet; a pleasant surprise.
Unless you don't want to do too much, you probably want a car if you're staying here as its a couple of kilometres from the main strip in caloundra, though it wouldn't be a difficult or unpleasant walk along the beach if you didn't have one.
All in all my partner and I had a great stay, and will be back. It was a great romantic getaway and there is just so many things to do in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emjembrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

We are glad that your time with us was a happy one. We thank you for your honesty and kind and thoughtful comments. Please think of us again when next booking your Sunshine Coast holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The best description of the apartment is "sparce". The best description of the management is "gruff".

The ninth floor apartment was clean and had great views over the passage on the ocean side and of the Glasshouse Mountains on the inland side. The location was quiet and off the main roads and beaches of Sunshine Coast, and was ideal for us with friends in north Brisbane and Currimundi. We booked this for a full week.

Unfortunately, that's the extent of the positive. When they say "self contained", they really mean it. There was less than half a roll of toilet paper and you must provide your own after that. There was a one day's dose of dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent. Can it really hurt to provide a reasonable supply of these? The whole management atmosphere was of pinching pennies. I do not expect this from a place touting a four and a half star AAA rating. The literature in the room states that towels will be replaced after 5 days. Even this was not done. There was no hot water. At first I thought maybe this was a cultural difference, but later even the motor inn in tiny Tiaro had hot showers. The hot tub at the pool was lukewarm at best. The walls were virtually bare. The grounds are maximum security. Some might appreciate that, but my key was constantly getting stuck in the various gates. It was more oppressive than comforting - there can't be that much of a crime problem in Caloundra.

But more than anything it was the management. "You're wrong" seems to be the attitude. The number printed on the room phone rang to a different room. When I finally brought this to the desk's attention, the first response was "there isn't any number here like that", as if I copied it down wrong. I scanned the list in front of her and immediately found it associated with another room. "Someone is playing tricks" she says, as if a guest deliberately located a number for a room seven floors away and swapped them. When a friend comes to visit, they are met with "There's no one staying here by that name".

Now I'm being hounding with increasingly nasty emails for "hotel rate" phone charges because they claim my credit card doesn't work. I would not have made half the calls if the phone number had been correct, and the card is the same as the one I paid for the room with, and used throughout the rest of our holiday in Australia. But somehow it's up to me to figure out what they're doing wrong. Bottom line - this place wants to make money any way they can, and there are lots of other places to stay on the Sunshine Coast. I'd pick a different one.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbbpll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2010

We thank you for your review and honesty. Unfortunately it was not management that you delt with on your stay but we will take responsibility for our staff's actions. We were sorry to hear of your experience. Our policy is to have essentials in the unit to accommodate guests for up two 2 days, and we shocked to hear that you did not have enough supplies. Yes our units are self-contained but we would have been more than happy to supply you with more toilet paper had you come and asked! We were also concerned to hear about the "towels" not being changed, our apartments are actually serviced after 5 days unless the guest does not require it, again we apologise for this inconvenience. Our complex is a secure complex, we take pride in this. Apart from holiday makers our complex is also home to over 20 residents, security must be a priority in this day and age especially with many young children visiting and make no apology for safety. We have taken your comments on board and along with our staff will continue to learn from all experiences set before us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This resort is right at the waters edge on the beautiful Pumistone Passage at Caloundra. We were welcomed by the staff who were pleasant and in addition very knowledgeable about the area and offered suggestions for things to do while we were there. The pool was very clean, clear and refreshing. We found the apartment clean and modern. The beds were so comfortable and clean, I would have been happy to stay there and read all day….. Although the family had other ideas... We chose a room with a view. Yes it was a little more expensive but certainly worth every cent. The scenery was magnificent. We were on the deck one afternoon and a ship sailed passed as if it was prompted to do so. We have booked in again and can’t wait to return.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank beach-mum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Management and staff thank you for you lovely review of our resort. It is always lovely to hear the good and the bad but especially nice to hear the good! We look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

The apartment was clean, tidy, and well maintained. Unfortunately the website images of the apartment interior do not match the reality. They seem to have a problem with the body corp. The apartments are individually owned. The management is provided by onsite managers. Judging from the apartment we stayed in, some of the owners are reluctant to spend any money on new chattels. So you have a nice apartment, great views, stunning pool...BUT old beds, old furniture, old fittings etc. The in room spa is not what is displayed on the web site, rather it is an older small bath with some spa jets. Noise from neighbouring apartments came through the walls at times. There was no air conditioning. No facility for in room internet. The location is superb, the complex is let down by the age of the interior fittings.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank puke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2010

We thank your for your review. We agree that some apartments have not be "re-freshed" in some time and it has been a priority of management to have this problem fixed. You are right and all apartments are individually owned and decorated to their own owners likings and taste. We have recently had owners making dramatic changes to their apartments, we will continue to encourage the owners of units to keep up with the trends, and have taken all your comments on board. Please also note that 99% or units have air-conditioning and all rooms have dial up internet access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#5 of 16 in Caloundra
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Beach Resort

Address: 88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $91 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moorings Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water front location in peaceful Golden Beach. Self contained apartments, heated pool, kiddies pool, spa, sauna and gym. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Continuous. Immaculate gardens and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Moorings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing