We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat as a pin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorings Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights at The Moorings in May 2013 and was excellent from the time we checked in. The apartments are spacious and well appointed and nice large rooms. We had a three bed apartment and the main bedroom was well away from the other two with it own balcony.

Ensuite had a spa, plus double vanitys either side so was good to separate the male and female toiletries. Kitchen was clean and came with the essentials required for washing up including dishwasher liquid. Views out over pumistone passage where awesome and if we had more time would have been able to relax by the pool and manicured gardens.

Room Tip: If you are staying with other families make sure you see specify that you want to be in the same tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 63 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We actually booked Unit 105 at the Moorings Beach Resort through Accom. Caloundra. Although linen is not supplied with the unit booking you are able to hire it at a reasonable price.
In comparison to the charges you pay if you book through the resort itself what we paid was excellent. The unit is a large ground floor 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit with accommodation for 6 people. You have easy access to the pool, spa, sauna and you overlook the Pumicestone passage with views of the water through the trees.
There is a lift in the building and stairs from the Kitchener Street car park lead straight to the unit which is very convenient. The unit was very clean and it was a quiet location close to restaurants, doctors, chemist and a SPAR supermarket. Overall a very enjoyable holiday at a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69Aussie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for you lovely review.
Just please note that UNIT 105 is not managed by us and therefore linen etc is not supplied by them. ALL our other units are managed on-site and are fully self contained with linen.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent three nights in our ground-floor apartment at Moorings, and could easily have spent longer. Golden Beach is a peaceful and easy-going part of the Sunshine Coast....don't go if you want noise, action and bright lights! We didn't , instead opting for accommodation a stone's throw from the water, conveniently close to a boat-ramp, so we could launch our small boat, and head out on the calm Pumicestone Passage.
Shops are conveniently close, and a larger shopping centre a short drive away. A good walking path runs along the water's edge in front of Moorings, and a coffee shop, open for breakfast, inbetweens and lunch, was literally thirty steps from our apartment. My biggest decision, when left to my own devices, was whether to read my book on my front patio, or stroll into the coffee shop and read it there, while sipping excellent coffee and eating something I probably shouldn't have!
The managers were friendly and helpful, and the apartment clean and welcoming.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing our resort to stay in and for taking the time to write your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a great resort. Only problem was, we did'nt book for a longer stay. Our room was imaculate with gorgeous water views. Shop were only a 2 min walk. Our children loved the pools and the water across the road. Could not have asked for a better holiday. We will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N Karin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have just returned from 2 nights at this resort, the booking was through quickbeds.com for a 1 bedroom unit with queensize bed and waterviews the website also said moorings had lift/elevator, what it didnt say was that lift/elevator is only in 1 building, the studio and 1 bedroom units are in 2 other buildings not serviced by an elevator, this was not on the quickbeds website due to moorings not updating the website which apparently is their responsibility, on arrival i spoke with the manager about moving us to the units with elevator access as my wife has a disability and has trouble negotiating a lot of steps, {she has arthritis and has had both hips replaced} he was very sorry but due to a wedding at the resort there were no units available with lift access, he offered us a ground floor garden view unit which we declined as we had not driven up there to look at a garden, we took the booked unit which required my wife negotiating 2 flights of stairs which was quite difficult for her and restricted her leaving the unit due to this, the unit was very spacious, spotlessly clean, italian leather lounge suite, excellent kitchen with plenty of utensils, large balcony but only limited waterviews due to trees along the front of the resort blocking out the view, airconditioning throughout the unit, master bedroom with ensuite with spa bath and shower, unfortunately the bed was a double and was the hardest and most uncomfortable bed we have slept on, we have been to south east asia each year for the last 4 years and this bed was harder than any we had o/s, the main bathroom had a walk in shower and wash basin, there was also a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom, there is a licensed restaurant on the premises serving breakfast,lunch and dinner, a lovely pool with a kids pool attached, the location is far enough away from caloundra to enjoy a quiet peacefull stay yet only 5 mins drive away, we would only stay here again if assured of higher floor than 2nd with lift access,

Room Tip: higher floors than 2nd have waterviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. We apologise again for the mix up on quick beds but it has been dealt with. We suggest next time you book directly with us, therefore you can explain to us your personal needs and we can make sure you acquire the room you need. We hope though you did enjoy your stay and look forward to you returning to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good
Location, location, location.
Nicely maintained grounds.
Restaurant and Cafe are great and licenced.
Rooms are spacious, views are spectacular.
Quiet resort, mostly older residents in resort.
Pool is heated slightly.

BAD
Hot water in unit comes and goes.
Pool water looks nice enough but there were brown slimey rust like stains on pool tiles and coverings in the pool, not well maintained.
Two managers, one nice, one downright rude and unhelpful.
The exercise bike, rowing machine were broken, rest of gym not really useable.
Steam room worked fine, not very clean.

OVERALL
Overpriced compared to other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoSwift255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Hi, thanks for reviewing the resort. We can only apologise for the hot water, it is an issue with the Body Corporate at out of our control - though we will pass this on to them also. The same unfortunately goes for your other two complaints, regarding the pool, and the broken equipment. We have been requesting action on these items for some time, but the process is very slow! It is an big concern to us as it affects our business directly. We hope next time your stay will rate higher with us. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Would certainly stay again, major shopping centre close by, grounds carefully maintained and the outlook a sight to see. was great watching the ships pass by. if you stay here yeu must Stay ln a Ocean View room

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLPhotographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thanks for you review. We can assure you that we are very competitively priced for our area and apartments and haven't in fact raised tariffs in over 3 years. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
708 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Beach Resort

Address: 88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $93 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moorings Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water front location in peaceful Golden Beach. Self contained apartments, heated pool, kiddies pool, spa, sauna and gym. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Continuous. Immaculate gardens and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Moorings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing