We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moorings Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks Oasis(Caloundra)
$202
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Views Resort(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$316
$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Centre Motel(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moffat Beach Motel(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
$98
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Watermark Resort(Caloundra)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
30
29
3
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
29
3
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden beachbeautiful outlooka great place to stayheated spalong weekendgreat apartmentair conditioningsecure parkingwithin walking distancewarrenpassageunitshopsbalconykeycurtainsposition
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 68 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have just returned from 2 nights at this resort, the booking was through quickbeds.com for a 1 bedroom unit with queensize bed and waterviews the website also said moorings had lift/elevator, what it didnt say was that lift/elevator is only in 1 building, the studio and 1 bedroom units are in 2 other buildings not serviced by an elevator, this was not on the quickbeds website due to moorings not updating the website which apparently is their responsibility, on arrival i spoke with the manager about moving us to the units with elevator access as my wife has a disability and has trouble negotiating a lot of steps, {she has arthritis and has had both hips replaced} he was very sorry but due to a wedding at the resort there were no units available with lift access, he offered us a ground floor garden view unit which we declined as we had not driven up there to look at a garden, we took the booked unit which required my wife negotiating 2 flights of stairs which was quite difficult for her and restricted her leaving the unit due to this, the unit was very spacious, spotlessly clean, italian leather lounge suite, excellent kitchen with plenty of utensils, large balcony but only limited waterviews due to trees along the front of the resort blocking out the view, airconditioning throughout the unit, master bedroom with ensuite with spa bath and shower, unfortunately the bed was a double and was the hardest and most uncomfortable bed we have slept on, we have been to south east asia each year for the last 4 years and this bed was harder than any we had o/s, the main bathroom had a walk in shower and wash basin, there was also a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom, there is a licensed restaurant on the premises serving breakfast,lunch and dinner, a lovely pool with a kids pool attached, the location is far enough away from caloundra to enjoy a quiet peacefull stay yet only 5 mins drive away, we would only stay here again if assured of higher floor than 2nd with lift access,

Room Tip: higher floors than 2nd have waterviews
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. We apologise again for the mix up on quick beds but it has been dealt with. We suggest next time you book directly with us, therefore you can explain to us your personal needs and we can make sure you acquire the room you need. We hope though you did enjoy your stay and look forward to you returning to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good
Location, location, location.
Nicely maintained grounds.
Restaurant and Cafe are great and licenced.
Rooms are spacious, views are spectacular.
Quiet resort, mostly older residents in resort.
Pool is heated slightly.

BAD
Hot water in unit comes and goes.
Pool water looks nice enough but there were brown slimey rust like stains on pool tiles and coverings in the pool, not well maintained.
Two managers, one nice, one downright rude and unhelpful.
The exercise bike, rowing machine were broken, rest of gym not really useable.
Steam room worked fine, not very clean.

OVERALL
Overpriced compared to other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoSwift255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Hi, thanks for reviewing the resort. We can only apologise for the hot water, it is an issue with the Body Corporate at out of our control - though we will pass this on to them also. The same unfortunately goes for your other two complaints, regarding the pool, and the broken equipment. We have been requesting action on these items for some time, but the process is very slow! It is an big concern to us as it affects our business directly. We hope next time your stay will rate higher with us. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Would certainly stay again, major shopping centre close by, grounds carefully maintained and the outlook a sight to see. was great watching the ships pass by. if you stay here yeu must Stay ln a Ocean View room

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLPhotographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thanks for you review. We can assure you that we are very competitively priced for our area and apartments and haven't in fact raised tariffs in over 3 years. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The moorings is a fabulous resort - perfect pool, great beach and spacious rooms. The onsite owners are always available to help out if you need it and generally make your stay enjoyable. Even in the pouring rain there are things to do locally. Great option for young families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squidgygiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank for your review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your children did too!!! Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having experienced the Moorings Resort on several occasions it was nice to see that not a lot has changed.

Large, well appointed, apartment style accommodation rolled in with a great location waits. Situated right on Golden Beach, the resort providing views to Bribie Island and beyond.

Golden Beach offers a quieter side of the Sunshine Coast, so if you after night life and all the convenience Maroochydore and or the like offer then look elsewhere, which is great if you’re looking for a bit of peace and quiet.

Our apartment ($151 per night - 3rd floor - 1 bedroom) had everything one would want for a short and or long stay. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area and a good size bedroom and adjoining en-suite, all two steps from the elevator. Undercover security parking was available and worked just fine for us.

The Moorings Cafe (Independent to the resort) is open for breakfast and lunch but closed for dinner! Shame as it used to work just fine and the food was good. Alternative arrangements at the local Thai, Chinese and or Italian restaurant around the corner worked fine.

Clean, neat and well equipped. We will be back.

Room Tip: Unless you want a view beyond Bribie Island the lowere cheaper floors offer ggood value for money. There is only one unit with a King Size bed which you need to ask for at the time of booking otherwise you are destined for a Queen size bed. Units are serviced once a week.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_D_HSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Hello, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned the cafe is independent to us and as much as we would like them to open more often unfortunately they haven't been! Maybe next time you come!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews