We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooftop Magic”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in an Ocean view rooftop apartment. The apartment has been updated and was very comfortable the only problem the bedrooms are very small.
The rooftop was fantastic it has just been renovated we had our own sauna, bbq outdoor settings etc, it is well worth the extra money. Sitting on the deck watching the big ships pass by.

The pool is very large but it would be nice if one half of the pool was heated as it is a very cold pool even in summer as it gets quite a lot of shade.

The resort is right on the beach with restaurant etc underneath, the only disappointment the coffee shop has now closed.

Overall we had a very relaxing holiday it is not a 5 star but the staff were friendly and the resort is in a great position.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    87
    35
    18
    13
See reviews for
144
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We could not have thought of anywhere else to spend a more relaxing holiday
- with close proximity to the beautiful beach and surf at King's Beach and
the poolside apartment - all of which contributed to a magnificent holiday.
Management and staff at Rolling Surf Resort are to be commended on their
warm and friendly hospitality (at all times) and their excellent, clean
facilities.
Returned visitors to Rolling Surf Resort indeed!
The Sandilands of Camberwell, Victoria
October 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnemarieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We booked 6 months in advance for a long weekend. We booked a 3 bedroom top floor apartment. We confirmed a week prior and everything was ok. When we arrived we were given a 1st floor apartment with no privacy!! You could not open the blinds - the rooms across looked in, people walking past on the walking path looked in - it was a fish bowl. We couldn't have been more disappointed. Reception staff were no help.
Be very careful when booking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ascAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakey, South West Qld
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here for our first holiday as a family of four, with a 3 month old baby and a 2.5 year old. We had a pool deck room which had direct private access to the pool from our balcony. We were obviously overlooking the pool but despite being on the first level we were still lucky enought to have a slight view of the ocean.
Our room had recently been upgraded so was very clean looking with modern finishings and wall-mounted widescreen TVs in both the living room and main bedroom. The second bedroom was large enough to have a double bottom bunk bed with plenty of room for our portacot. Spa bath was also a hit!
The highlight was having private and secure pool access. This enabled us to take a quick dip while our baby was taking a nap safely and quietly in the room (and easy enough to continually pop back in to the room to check on her!) It was also great to be able to leave our towels on our balcony and then go straight in to our room with the kids after a swim. This definately beats carting all the gear (towels, pram, floaties ect) down to the pool area and back again!!
We were lucky enough to get this room at a great rate however it is quite expensive at full price. I would definately recommend this room, especially for young families.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rla267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

On the 1st of June this year, my wife and celebrated our silver wedding aniversary. On the recommendation of a friend we chose The Rolling Surf Resort. From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out, we could not be more pleased with our time there. From the curtious and helpful staff to the incredible views from our balcony and the first class choice of furnishings it Could not have been better.
I understand they are about to intsall WiFi which will keep intent addicts like myself even more satisfied.

Thank you to the owners and the staff for making our special celebration so wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davehammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We have now stayed at rolling surf three times. We love the location and the swim out rooms really made our stay with our two kids (6+9). The kids were swimming before we were even dressed, so it was a really relaxing way to start each day. The rooms vary, one room we stayed in was really modern, great big plasma and tasteful furniture. A different swim out room we had (same Price) was very dated. Uncomfortable couch and needed a good paint. In all unit the dishwashers were stinky. One time we stayed in a small roof top apartment. The windows facing the ocean were extremely dirty and to access rooftop you had to leave your apartment, carrying up food and drinks for the barbeque was a pain. I really think that for the price the units should all be upgraded. I thought that the rooms felt dirty because they all needed a good paint throughout and some fresher furniture. The location and the swim out rooms very the main positives from our stay. The location is very quiet with beach, parks, playgrounds,shops and walkways close by. ( No road to cross to beach) I would love to return and find it had all been upgraded. When booking I would ring and ask more the most recently updated room, then there shouldn't be any nasty surprises.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Our apartments are all individually owned and over the past 2 years have been painted and all bar a few have new furnishings. We have also completed a 1.2 million dollar refurbishment on the resort exterior with new paint colours, tiles, rooftop areas, pool furniture and gardens.

The rooftop apartments in the two oceanfront buildings have a staircase from the individual apartment balconies or you can use the lift to access your private rooftop area. The rooftop apartments in the poolside building however have access via the fire stairs at either end of the 4th level. You still have your own private rooftop area with table and chairs, sun loungers, BBQ and personal sauna, but the stairs are the only way up.

Access to the beach is just metres from the gate with no road to cross – we are Absolute Beachfront!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I couldn't believe it. I had planned a short break just before christmas for my young family. Upon arriving I had to vacuum throughout the unit because there was lots of sand and dust and with young children I like everything to be clean. Upon further inspection I found animal droppings in the laundry, I thought they were cockroach droppings. My daughter hasn't been in a bed for long so for safety purposed I pulled out the trundle under her bed and I was shocked there were MOUSE DROPPINGS all over the BEDDING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was absolutely disgusting !!! I was paying $250 per night for a unit that had MICE !!!

I complained to management who simply said that they would be hiding in a dark cool place...YEAH IN THE MATTRESS !!!!

Do not stay at this resort...YUCK !!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCCLT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
0.8 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Property: Rolling Surf Resort
Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra
Rolling Surf Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing