We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Australia Zoo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a great complex. We stayed in room 48 on the second floor and had sea views through the gap between the two front buildings. It is above the games room, one night it was noisy from a big group that had about 12 kids running around but I would say that was an exception. Beach access is great. Having stayed at other parts of Australia I wouldn't revisit Coloundra but it was a great place to stay for Australia Zoo. We went to underwater world at Maloolaba while we were here and a trip up to Noosa.

The rooms are big and spacious. We had two bathrooms and a spa bath. We choose view over pool access although either room position is fine. The rooms are clean but show signs of being by the sea with rust on the fridge and other areas that have metal. But cleanliness is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review on the Rolling Surf Resort. It sounds like you enjoyed our resort and the facilities on offer. We are a great location for exploring other parts of the Sunshine Coast like Mooloolaba, Noosa, Australia Zoo and the beautiful hinterland towns of Maleny and Montville. We appreciate you mentioning the rust on the fridge and the owner has since replaced this with a new one. Due to our beach front location appliances and other metal items do rust quickly! Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 256 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights recently. Paid extra for rooftop to have BBQs but BBQ only worked once. We had to ring reception every day to see what is happening as the BBQ got taken away. Very disappointing as we had bought lots of food to cook and sit up on the rooftop. I have since contacted rolling surf a week ago to discuss as no discount was offered and they have not returned my call. A big disappointment and would never stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just back from a five night stay. Location is sensational, pool is really great and direct access to the beach all big plus'. However overall our two rooms were in poor condition, examples include...leaking toilet, oven did not work, wash basin in ensuite not connected [its falling out of the vanity], our double bed squeaked very badly, strange odour in foyers, room not clean hair everywhere.
The location warrants the premium rates charged but this is let down by the poor standards. And very strict rules about everything - example foldaway bed in the room has a chain lock.
Shame, but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Second time staying here for a week,excellent family holiday location,beautiful views,pool and parking perfect,friendly staff but needs a little bit of money spent on beds and bedding as they were tired,ironing board was awful and maybe umbrellas and extra poolside furniture especially with the money being spent on accomodation.

Will stay again though

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank adelaidegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Great family Accomodation. Would only choose ocean front or pool access. If staying in a flat at the back. You may as well stay back a few blocks (where it's cheaper). Wonderful access to beach (not even a road to cross) & great post-surf shower facilities etc. Can sit on the veranda & hear the surf breaking or watch the ships pass (esp beautiful at night). Good kitchen facilities - easy cooking & cleaning. Pool is FABULOUS. Huge (though it gets crowded with families) & varied in depth. There's a shortage of seating & space around the pool discouraging just sub baking - most families come, swim & leave. Good coffee available nearby.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Jacinta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time here and although we love the location, it will probably be our last.

There is no incentive for booking in advance as wot if offer great last minute deals which the resort won't match if you've booked early.

I booked a room for 1 adult and 2 children but the room consisted of two double beds. My children are a bit too old to be sleeping together so we decided one would sleep in the sofa bed only to discover the sofa bed had great big bike lock on it.

The air con did not work at all. Not even a little bit. And light and power switches in the kitchen and spare bedroom gave us electrical shocks.

Overall a disappointing experience considering the cost but can't fault the location.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Mimte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here as a family and found it the perfect choice for a mixed age group. The location right on the beach was fantastic as we could just come and go without having to stay at the beach all day. The older children could easily go back to the apartment when they tired of our company. The apartment had very thing we needed except a corkscrew. The rooftop balcony was the best feature as it provided space to relax. It has a BBQ, outdoor table and fridge was so perfect for relaxed dinners. The ever changing view of the passing boats was amazing. The only thing we didn't like was the temperature of the so called heated pool. It was quite cold at times.

Room Tip: If traveling with the family choose a room with rooftop balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
538 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Sebel Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $102 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra
Rolling Surf Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing