We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pumicestone Blue Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Forresters Beach,NSW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value and location.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Pumicestone Blue Resort for 3 nights. The apartment was large, clean and had all services required. The rooftop pool and spa provided a wonderful view of the glasshouse mountains. New managers worked at reception and we found them very friendly and helpful. Caloundra was a great base to visit Australia Zoo and Glasshouse Mountains. Caloundra itself has a beautiful boardwalk and is very clean.

Room Tip: Corner Suite had two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H, Manager at Pumicestone Blue Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Im pleased to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one. Its a great location and that the facilities suited you and your room was comfortable. Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming back again should you visit Caloundra again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom for 10 nights and we were on the third floor. We had no complaints at all and found everything to be satisfactory. We had friends staying up in a 2 bedroom Rm 705 and they had no issues either. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaglebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Staying at pumicestone blue over the weekend would have been a pleasure enjoying the neat rooms and avaliable facilities, which although were not spectacular still were avaliable. But the staff, more so reception staff ruined the complex. Both my partner and i found them to be short with not only us but other patrons and at times just plain rude.
Stay if you like but we wont be visiting again.
Kat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hungry4mor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H, Manager at Pumicestone Blue Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Even though your review was quite some time ago we would like to advise that Pumicestone Blue Resort has been under new Management for quite some time now. It is not nice when reception staff are rude and unfriendly and hope that if you choose to stay with us again we can make your stay friendly and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked accomodation for 10 days through hightide 5 months before arrival for a family get together and we had to fly interstate. We had recently moved, and a return to the SE was a good opportunity to catch up with the kids and grand children (an early Xmas). One of our daughters, son-in-law and 2 grandchildren were staying with us in the 3 bedroom unit. My parents and sisters had booked a couple of weeks after us but for only 4 nights (again through hightide). On arrival early evening we found we had been placed in the first floor unit with a view of a concrete wall around the balcony. My family were on the 5th floor with quite a nice view of the passage. We were not happy to be spending the next 10 days sitting down and looking at concrete. First thing the next morning we contacted hightide and they had no luck in getting us into a higher unit. So we went and saw the front office staff ourselves. I have travelled to many places in Australia and overseas, and I can truely say what we experienced was some of the most unprofessional, rude, arrogant and single mind set atittude I and my wife have ever encountered. We were bascially told that because we booked through a group such as hightide that we were allocated the lower unit, especially as hightide takes so much of the money. No rooms available to up grade and no way were they going to allow us to move. If we don't like it, we can move out but we would not get any refund. If you want the best rooms we should have booked directly with them. But that's not all, on the second morning there I am on the balcony and get a frantic call from my daughter in the kitchen. Water is gushing out of the sink and all over the kitchen bench (and grand daughter's fruit), over the breakfast bar and floor. Rang the management and they said they will sent someone up to clean the floor, but this happens when the pool on the 12th floor is back washed. Could not believe it, nor could the local council. After my family checked out, there was no one using the unit they were in until the day we were due to leave. So the basic story is that more money is made by putting people into the better units who stay over a week end than those who book for 10 days spanding week ends (still at a considerable expense), but through a holiday company. We suspect that someone associated with the resort may actually own the unit. Mould all through the bathrooms, carpet stained and dirty and took over an hour for water to drain from balcony after a small amount of rain. 4.5 stars is a joke and I hope no one else has the same problem (although reading some of the reviews, I think a number already have)

Room Tip: If you book througn any travel agent or holiday group make sure you specify what type of room you ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H, Manager at Pumicestone Blue Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
We have just recently read your reviews from your stay in January 2013 and would like to advise that Pumicestone Blue is now under New Management and has been for some time. It is unfortunate you had such a bad experience when staying here but would love to welcome you back again one day and can assure you that we do not have any of those problems you encountered before. We do have some units available that are advertised and sold as minimum or partial view apartment but also have many Ocean View apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

It's nice enough but don't expect resort style facilities. Our room needed renovating and could have used a good dust before we arrived. Views are great and so is the pool - however it's not useable when there is a breeze.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed on level 1 which didn't have the best views but you could still see a little bit of the sea int he distance. The balcony was huge. Diane and Kerry were great ad really helpful with any query. David, who looked after maintenance was really approachable and helpful as was Rhonda. It was a really great stay.

Room Tip: Stay higher up of possible so that you get a view of Pumicestone Passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here in a 3 bedroom apartment with the grandchildren for 1 night,shame it wasn't longer,could have stayed forever.The views from our apartment and the pool on the roof were fantastic especially watching the sun descend behind the Glasshouse Mountains.We were close to the shops,beach & restaurants,convenient location.
Would recommend it to everyone.Apartment has everything you would need.Diane was very accommodating &friendly.

Room Tip: Unit 504 was great if you need 3 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 51 in Caloundra
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumicestone Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumicestone Blue Resort

Property: Pumicestone Blue Resort
Address: 111 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumicestone Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumicestone Blue Caloundra Resort is the first landmark holiday building you see as you enter Caloundra's CBD. A first class locationoverlooking Pumicestone Passage and Bribie Island. Pumicestone Blue Resort is uniquely placed to take the advantage of Caloundra's superb location, within easy walking distance of beaches, cafes, restaurants, shops & clubs.Pumicestone Blue holiday-makers have privileged access to the 12th level rooftop sun terrace via two high-speed elevators. From there, you'll enjoy glorious 360 degree views that encompass the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, Pacific Ocean and the Glass House Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pumicestone Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumicestone Blue Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing