We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, prime view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pumicestone Blue Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average hotel, prime view.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at this 'resort'. For a resort I didn't think it met the average standard of a resort. Although the rooms were large, the hotel had no atmosphere and it felt unclean. The reception also closed at night which is a bit of unconvince. Although a positive is that the view is gorgeous from the pool top.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleineb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

had a great time,pool spa very good and di and kerrie are very helpfull,we stayed in sub/pent 1002and it was a let down we will not be booking 1002 again,needs to have a good upgrade,but the rest of the stay was great. john.c

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night but the hotel was awesome. On the 9th floor and the view was to die for. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Parking was a breeze. Slightly noisy on verandah but very small complaint. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the higher floor rooms although I was told the view was the same from each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettydog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have just come back from an overnight stay, it was okay. I always ask for the highest floor available so I get a good view, but all I could see from the sofa was rooftops & a small amount of water from the balcony. On the plus side my apartment was clean & comfortable. The bed was great & I slept really well, which is always a plus when you're overnighting somewhere new. I booked a 1brm & was given a 2brm with instructions not to use the rooms I didn't book, which is fair enough, I was on my own, so not a problem, but the apartment was quite small & I'm not sure how I would feel about sharing it with 3 other people. The ensuite was tiny (glad I was on my own, or i would have been tempted to use the other bathroom) The sofa is way to close to the tv to be comfortable. The small kitchen was well equipped, it had everything you would need if you were there for a longer stay. I booked this apartment for the rooftop pool as it looked amazing in the pics, unfortunately the weather was off, so I didn't get to hang out up there and read a book, but it would have been nice if the sun was shining! And lastly, it is located on the main road in town, so can get a little noisy, you can't really watch tv with the balcony door open because of the road noise. But easy to walk everywhere if you don't have a car, and there was no noise that kept me awake at night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Worst service I have ever received, we were charged extra cost for no reason, without our permission and spoken to horribly. Managers were very unorganized and unprofessional. Bedrooms were small, beds uncomfortable, air conditioning not even working. Do yourself a favour and do not book here.

Room Tip: Overpriced, bad service, uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank where_2_go_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Both my husband & I loved staying @ Pumicestone Blue Resort. It's location is @ the bottom end of Bulcock Street & in walking distance to most restaurants, cafe, etc. & approx. 10 minute walk to Stockland Shopping Centre. We found the staff very co-operative & friendly. We especially were impressed not only with the tariff, facilities & views, but the security that is provided. We definately will be staying there again & to think only a 1 hour's drive from our home @ Carseldine. The resort seems very organised & we would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayetemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I came up to Caloundra to visit extended family, and stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at the hotel with my family. Though most of our time wasn't spent at the hotel, for the time we were there we experienced poor service and faulty rooms.

The door to our apartment didn't lock, and during the night we had to push a chair against the door after someone came into our apartment. The door got fixed towards the end of our stay, however the handy man fixing the door locked himself into our apartment - which added to the stress. As well as the faulty door, the shower in the master bedroom was also damaged, and didn't get fixed during our stay and the airconditioner leaked water onto the bench.

During our stay, we finished the toilet paper and laundry detergent we were given. When we went down to reception to ask for more, we were told that what was provided in our room was a 'starter pack' and anything else we required could either be bought at reception or at a supermarket. A basic neccesity like toilet paper should've been provided by the hotel, especially at the price we were paying.

Our apartment had a kitchenette which we used during our stay. Although we ate out some nights, when we used the kitchen to cook dinner there wasn't adaquate cooking utensils. We weren't provided with enough saucepans/frypans and a chopping board. Due to the lack of chopping boards, we were forced to use dinner plates to cut vegetables on.

To sum up Pumiestone Blue Resort, the place is faulty, unclean and has bad service. For the price we payed, it certainly wasn't worth it, and I suggest you look at staying at another place. The staff have a bad attitude, the rooms are faulty and the service is poor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlynneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 51 in Caloundra
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumicestone Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumicestone Blue Resort

Property: Pumicestone Blue Resort
Address: 111 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumicestone Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumicestone Blue Caloundra Resort is the first landmark holiday building you see as you enter Caloundra's CBD. A first class locationoverlooking Pumicestone Passage and Bribie Island. Pumicestone Blue Resort is uniquely placed to take the advantage of Caloundra's superb location, within easy walking distance of beaches, cafes, restaurants, shops & clubs.Pumicestone Blue holiday-makers have privileged access to the 12th level rooftop sun terrace via two high-speed elevators. From there, you'll enjoy glorious 360 degree views that encompass the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, Pacific Ocean and the Glass House Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pumicestone Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumicestone Blue Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing