We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a perfect getaway place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a perfect getaway place”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Husband and I spent 3 nights at Pelican Waters and Golf Resort Spa to celebrate our 8 years anniversary. Unfortunately, we didn't expect it would be a very dull place. The place itself needs renovation as it has changed into a new management. Service was poor. Receptionists need more training handling guests especially the newly arrived guests who just travelled the whole day to get there. There were no smiles and "hellos" "welcome" but a finger pointing at us to wait. We waited for 10 minutes, patiently. We stayed there for 3 days and no one has greeted us "hello", "good morning" nor "hi". We only had contact with them when we checked in and checked out of the hotel. As a couple who are used to going to hotels, we find this very odd.

"Free breakfast" was atrocious as we were told we can not have the hot meal (e.g. eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown). If we were to get from the hot buffet servings, we were told to pay a certain amount. Thus, our "free breakfast" were the cereals, bread and coffee.

The location is very remote. There are no shops nearby. The nearest is 30-40 minutes walk. If you love to walk 1.5 kilometres to buy a drink, this is your place. This resort is secluded and good only for people who travelled with their own car. Car park is also very scarce.

"Heated pool" was very cold!

On the contrary, we had a spa tub in our room which was the only positive mark after such a looong walk to and back the shops. Gym was accessible and free for guests.

Room Tip: We had the room facing the road and there were nothing extraordinary to see. I guess the rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    187
    109
    42
    32
See reviews for
105
240
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Enoggera, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Me and my partner wanted to spend a romantic night here. The staff were great, the room was great, (the spa bath smelt wierd) and the buffet was so yummy. It was clean and well stocked. I liked that i was aloud to smoke on the balcony. The room was beautifully clean and If i could compare this to twin waters and Twin waters would fail miserably. The shops weren't far Woolies etc, hotel was next to them. It is away from the beach/caloundra but thats why we booked. To be honest the reviews on here are nothing like what i experienced. All up it was a fantastic weekend. If your looking at stay further inland this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shez19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Got a Super deal through Wotif including breakfast, great value for money. Don't no what all the bad reviews are on here about this place because me & my partner thought it was perfect. Staff were very friendly, Spa suite was fantastic & the buffet breakfast was amazing. The pool, gym & tennis court's were world class.

The only bad thing was dinner at the Cienna Restaurant for dinner but I've rated that as poor in my restaurant review...

I Would highly recommend the Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa for a Perfect Over Night Stay

Room Tip: 320 had a nice view of river & golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pelican Waters was very, very disappointing for us. After a long day with 50 or so school aged rowers (most of whom were staying, with their families at this 'resort') all everyone really needed was a hot shower. Alas, when there is NO HOT WATER this was not possible. We waited and waited but for two hours not a sign of anything but freezing cold water coming from our showers. The response from management was ordinary, "we are at capacity this weekend and we have to wait until the system tops up again". My response is if you are at capacity and you run out of water then GET ANOTHER HOT WATER SYSTEM or at least tune your response so that guests don't feel the way I did... that I was being treated as an unreasonable idiot (maybe "very sorry Sir, this is not good enough")...just a suggestion!

I wasn't impressed that we had to wait for lengthy periods of time just to ask someone what was going on.. in fact the whole place has an air of anonoymity about it, in fact as much ambience as a dental surgery. Maybe dentists come here to get married and play golf?

Not happy that my seventeen year old daughter went down to the gym only to be told that because it was past 5.00pm (it was 5.30) the gym wasn't accessible to NON-MEMBERS (even though it was actually EMPTY!!!!). If you advertise a gym then make it accessible to paying guests, not just resort members or whatever title you have to hold to have a workout. I drove my daughter back into Caloundra to use a local gym!!!

Navigating our way around our room (with a fine view of the car park) involved walking sideways or cleverly bending to avoid each others limbs, real bed covers might have been nice, instead of cheap wafer thin blankets hidden under even cheaper doubled over sheets.

Finally and admittedly a very minor point, our bar fridge rattled like a Kenworth truck. I only figured out what was happening at about 2am in the morning and turned the damn thing off.

When we checked out no one asked us about our stay, no one offered to even speak to me, even though I waited for my family in the foyer for about twenty minutes... and no, last time I checked a mirror I do not look like a serial killer, just an average dad as far as I am aware.

I have never left a review like this...I'm not a mad ranter, just someone who wants to have a hot shower, good nights sleep and enough room to be able to get up and change a tv channel without stepping on the limbs of my equally disappointed family.

Leave this place to the pelicans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WinmartoLockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

AUSTRALIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

* Do not stay here.The rudeness from the staff was uncalled for. Ignoring my partner whom was waiting patiently to order drinks. Eye contact was made whilst my partner was standing at the bar waiting but yet the bar staff member looked at him and walked away into the restaurant. Afew moments later she returned where still my partner had to approach her to order the drinks.
> No acknowledgement was made by her as there was no one else at the bar waiting for a drink the staff member had no reason to ignore him.Very slack on customer service that night this staff is a huge let down to your team.
The Female Chef on this morning her face said it all. She obviously woke up with an attitude and therefore displayed her unhappiness and grumpiness to all the guest and the staff working with her I felt sorry for as they had to cope her attitude directly.
>
> For guest to come in and be met by staff whom are rude, unfriendly, to be ignored and to see such bad attitude it's a very poor reflection on your hotel. We have stayed before and found it to be satisfactory. I hope you work on your customer service and we will not be staying here again nor recommending.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WHANAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback WHANAU.

I believe our Operations Manager is addressing the matter after receiving a personal email from you and will be in touch shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It all started badly with check in delayed after 1400 as advertised due to late departure that day. We were to stay in a spa suite overlooking the golf course. I don't recall the last time golf course was made out of asphalt (i.e. carpark). After requesting a change in scenery there were no other rooms available 'due to a 'high profile' sports team at the venue'.

The next problem was the breakfast. We had included a full buffet breakfast, which was not available upon checkin due to the high profile sports team at the venue. Next morning we were told that the buffet was now available except there is nothing each bain marie however we could order from the al carte menu. It took 35 mins to present us with bacon and soggy hashbrowns and no eggs. Upon enquiry we were told just help yourself to the eggs in the bain marie (the ones that were supposedly empty). The eggs by this stage were rubbery, cold and very inedible.

The rooms themselves are presentable however the venue itself is a distance from anywhere. As a result we opted for a walk only to get so far as the golf course and it being a private premise no entry between the hours of 0630 and 1830. So if you like night walks then this may appeal to you.

Overall very very disappointing. Will not be recommending this place unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for your comments HappyBandit - the hotel is about to announce new ownership who are committed to making improvements over the coming months.

The golf course wraps around the whole hotel, so it is unfortunate that you did not receive one of our rooms with a better view due to high occupancy.

As we had a large group inhouse with strict dietary requirements, we had to provide a seperate buffet for them for breakfast. All other guests were notified upon check in to the hotel that our Full A La Carte Breakfast menu would be available. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience - your comments have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager for action.

The hotel is advertised as only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches and is ideal for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle. Caloundra itself is only a short ten minute drive from the hotel.

Again, our thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose this resort based on it being a 4.5 star property for our romantic getaway. However we struggle to understand how it can be 4.5 star given what we came across. Entering the room we were met with a considerable amount of flying moths and midgies leaving us no choice but to contact reception to request for some insect spray. A staff member attended shortly after and agreed they were bad and can be caused by leaving the doors open of which we hadn't had time to do anything meaning the room had flying insects in it prior to our arrival. After that comment we didn't bother mentioning the fact that it was clearly obvious given the entire room was pre lit that two separate lights were not working. No great cause for concern but not what we expect of 4.5 stars. Worse was to come after getting into the spa. We couldn't help but be disgusted by the sheer amount of dust that had appeared on the surface of the bubbles leaving us to wonder what on earth we were bathing in? We had to take a shower in order to feel clean after bathing in that filth. Neither of us were in the mood to have a staff member come back again at that hour but we took photos to assist you in an explanation. After waking the next morning with the bubbles receded we took more photos as the filth was much more evident in the spa. We also couldn't help but notice that we had spent the night in a very poorly cleaned room. As we checked in during the night the dust around the light fittings, above the bedhead and on the walls wasn't evident until the light of day. We mentioned our concerns during checkout and we were provided with contact details of the operations manager with the assurance that our concerns would be addressed. Being charged $175 for the night we certainly didn't expect to have any distractions.

Also as we checked out we raised the question why we had a spare wine bottle tag in the room on arrival that we didn't think much of at the time until reading it the next morning. The response we got from the staff member was that she thought that there should have been one bottle of white wine and one bottle of the red. So we asked if that was the case how the room was made available for us to check in if there were things missing . She then had to double check with another staff member to confirm that was the policy. No explanation was given as to why the tag was left without the bottle.

It's blatantly obvious that this resort doesn't value the opinion of their customers as we're still waiting for any explanation of the issues we raised over two weeks ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alpine7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review Alpine7882. The hotel is about to announce new ownership who are committed to making major changes over the coming months.

There is no excuse for the condition of your room and that there was wine missing - these issues have been raised with Housekeeping and have since been actioned.

Here at the resort we do value the opinion of all of our guests, so it is unfortunate that it took so long for Management to contact you to discuss the issues that you raised.

Again our thanks for your comments and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back so as you can see the improvements first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
3.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
504 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
242 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
645 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 38 Mahogany Dr | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa.The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing