We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Service 8th June 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed June 13, 2013

* Do not stay here.The rudeness from the staff was uncalled for. Ignoring my partner whom was waiting patiently to order drinks. Eye contact was made whilst my partner was standing at the bar waiting but yet the bar staff member looked at him and walked away into the restaurant. Afew moments later she returned where still my partner had to approach her to order the drinks.
> No acknowledgement was made by her as there was no one else at the bar waiting for a drink the staff member had no reason to ignore him.Very slack on customer service that night this staff is a huge let down to your team.
The Female Chef on this morning her face said it all. She obviously woke up with an attitude and therefore displayed her unhappiness and grumpiness to all the guest and the staff working with her I felt sorry for as they had to cope her attitude directly.
>
> For guest to come in and be met by staff whom are rude, unfriendly, to be ignored and to see such bad attitude it's a very poor reflection on your hotel. We have stayed before and found it to be satisfactory. I hope you work on your customer service and we will not be staying here again nor recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WHANAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback WHANAU.

I believe our Operations Manager is addressing the matter after receiving a personal email from you and will be in touch shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 481 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

It all started badly with check in delayed after 1400 as advertised due to late departure that day. We were to stay in a spa suite overlooking the golf course. I don't recall the last time golf course was made out of asphalt (i.e. carpark). After requesting a change in scenery there were no other rooms available 'due to a 'high profile' sports team at the venue'.

The next problem was the breakfast. We had included a full buffet breakfast, which was not available upon checkin due to the high profile sports team at the venue. Next morning we were told that the buffet was now available except there is nothing each bain marie however we could order from the al carte menu. It took 35 mins to present us with bacon and soggy hashbrowns and no eggs. Upon enquiry we were told just help yourself to the eggs in the bain marie (the ones that were supposedly empty). The eggs by this stage were rubbery, cold and very inedible.

The rooms themselves are presentable however the venue itself is a distance from anywhere. As a result we opted for a walk only to get so far as the golf course and it being a private premise no entry between the hours of 0630 and 1830. So if you like night walks then this may appeal to you.

Overall very very disappointing. Will not be recommending this place unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thanks for your comments HappyBandit - the hotel is about to announce new ownership who are committed to making improvements over the coming months.

The golf course wraps around the whole hotel, so it is unfortunate that you did not receive one of our rooms with a better view due to high occupancy.

As we had a large group inhouse with strict dietary requirements, we had to provide a seperate buffet for them for breakfast. All other guests were notified upon check in to the hotel that our Full A La Carte Breakfast menu would be available. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience - your comments have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager for action.

The hotel is advertised as only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches and is ideal for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle. Caloundra itself is only a short ten minute drive from the hotel.

Again, our thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We chose this resort based on it being a 4.5 star property for our romantic getaway. However we struggle to understand how it can be 4.5 star given what we came across. Entering the room we were met with a considerable amount of flying moths and midgies leaving us no choice but to contact reception to request for some insect spray. A staff member attended shortly after and agreed they were bad and can be caused by leaving the doors open of which we hadn't had time to do anything meaning the room had flying insects in it prior to our arrival. After that comment we didn't bother mentioning the fact that it was clearly obvious given the entire room was pre lit that two separate lights were not working. No great cause for concern but not what we expect of 4.5 stars. Worse was to come after getting into the spa. We couldn't help but be disgusted by the sheer amount of dust that had appeared on the surface of the bubbles leaving us to wonder what on earth we were bathing in? We had to take a shower in order to feel clean after bathing in that filth. Neither of us were in the mood to have a staff member come back again at that hour but we took photos to assist you in an explanation. After waking the next morning with the bubbles receded we took more photos as the filth was much more evident in the spa. We also couldn't help but notice that we had spent the night in a very poorly cleaned room. As we checked in during the night the dust around the light fittings, above the bedhead and on the walls wasn't evident until the light of day. We mentioned our concerns during checkout and we were provided with contact details of the operations manager with the assurance that our concerns would be addressed. Being charged $175 for the night we certainly didn't expect to have any distractions.

Also as we checked out we raised the question why we had a spare wine bottle tag in the room on arrival that we didn't think much of at the time until reading it the next morning. The response we got from the staff member was that she thought that there should have been one bottle of white wine and one bottle of the red. So we asked if that was the case how the room was made available for us to check in if there were things missing . She then had to double check with another staff member to confirm that was the policy. No explanation was given as to why the tag was left without the bottle.

It's blatantly obvious that this resort doesn't value the opinion of their customers as we're still waiting for any explanation of the issues we raised over two weeks ago.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpine7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for your review Alpine7882. The hotel is about to announce new ownership who are committed to making major changes over the coming months.

There is no excuse for the condition of your room and that there was wine missing - these issues have been raised with Housekeeping and have since been actioned.

Here at the resort we do value the opinion of all of our guests, so it is unfortunate that it took so long for Management to contact you to discuss the issues that you raised.

Again our thanks for your comments and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back so as you can see the improvements first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The resort is on a golf course and I'm sure that its perfect for a golfing holiday. It probably works for conferences or similar events too.
Wouldn't recommend for a holiday. It's well away from everything including the beach.
Without a car you're stuck and there's nothing to do if you don't want to pay for spa treatments.
Rooms are nice and clean but not 4*. Shower pressure is low and door leaks. Towels are small, worn, thin and greying, toiletries of a very poor quality. Breakfast ok, staff are friendly and responsive.
It's ok, it's not special and I dont think it's 4*.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

4 of us booked a 2 bed apartment for 2 nights. You can tell this is no longer a crowne plaza! The room we got looks like it hasn't been touched since the 1970's, I would also say the beds came from then too. After one night on these beds 3 of us jarred our necks and had very sore backs. I think sleeping on the floor would have been much more comfortable. We ended up finding a massage place in caloundra to repair some of the damage done by the terrible beds. It looks like some of the other apartments were furnished differently so perhaps we got the worst one, though since I booked many months in advance I find this pretty unfair.

What else to say, there was only free to air channels on tv, First time I have been to a hotel EVER in the world that didn't at least have a couple of cable of foxtel channels. The washing machine pipe was broken so whilst it was all nice and well to have washing facilities in our room we couldn't use them. Our comment on the maintenance report on day 1 was ignored.

I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but I did have lunch one day. The lunch menu had all "winter" style dishes which I found a bit odd for early autumn in Queensland when the temperatures still hover around the high 20's. It was all pies and curries etc. I did however, choose the salt and pepper calamari. This was actually squid and I don't know if they perhaps sprinkled some salt and pepper on frozen store bought squid but I certainly couldn't taste any seasoning. It was pretty bad, though thankfully at $15 at least not too expensive.

The hotel is reasonably new and in such beautiful grounds with high potential to be a lovely resort. Why oh why they can't fix up the furnishings in some of their rooms, add some foxtel channels and serve fresh food in their restaurants I have no idea, but they are crazy. I feel this hotel has a captive audience as most of the people staying there when we did were attending weddings at the golf club or the hotel, being so far out of the way, guests would have no choice but to stay there.

The staff that work there were wonderful, always helpful and polite and happy to assist you with anything.

Room Tip: Perhaps don't book an apartment, I reckon the hotel rooms might be better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachele313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

The furnishings that are used in each of our apartments are all styled differently, so it is unfortunate to hear that you disliked the look of the apartment. All of our rooms in the hotel have Foxtel, so we do apologise that you experienced technical difficulties during your stay.

We are currently in the process of replacing all of the beds in the hotel to improve our guests comfort and are thrilled with the feedback we have received so far.

We hope that your next stay at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is more pleasurable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Took at wotif (internet travel deal website) deal to stay 2 nights in a deluxe spa room. Room was average, had kitchenette facilities, couch, tv (2 or 3 foxtel channels), bed, spa and shower etc.

Pool / outdoor areas were aging a bit but fine none-the-less. Very close to the golf course for those who enjoy it.

The overall location of the hotel is about 10-15 plus minutes to Caloundra so if you want to go out and grab snacks or dinner then it could be an expensive venture if you catch a cab.
There is only one restaurant on site and they were charging $50pp for a 2 course dinner.
Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - better views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

we stayed at the resort for a wedding. rooms were large and really well set up .very clean .lovely large balcony overlooking the golf course .staff good . breakfast was very good .we had a discounted price of 157aud for the night including breakfast .that was great value . drinks were about usual for a hotel of this class . would highly recommend the place especially for weddings and golfers.

Room Tip: ask for room 810 . great room .
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-PWGRS_Management01-, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
3.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
519 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
249 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
660 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 38 Mahogany Dr | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $162 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa.The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing